We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position, lovely house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Donamaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Jean Pied de Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Donamaria
Save
You added Maison Donamaria to your Saves list
1 chemin d'Olhonce, 64220 Saint Jean Pied de Port, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely position, lovely house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in May 2012. Host very hospitable, and informative about Basque culture and region, and recommendations for local restaurants. House is10 mins stroll from town centre along footpath by stream-perfect if you have good weather (which unfortunately we didnt, but the house has a good supply of excellent umbrellas too!) Room and bahroom spacious and spotless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
43
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The house and setting are as beautifully idyllic as all the other reviews have described, and Jean Francois is the perfect host. It really does feel as if you are staying with a family friend. The sound of the river at night is really special and relaxing. Once you have figured out where the house is, it really is only minutes on foot (along the beautiful river) into the town and perhaps 10 minutes from the train station. If coming without a car, be sure to get directions from the station- I did not and it took me quite awhile to find it. I would like to add that the pilgrims' trail to Spain begins literally at the doorstep of the house. I walked just an hour and then came back, but it would be an easy day trip to get to the restaurant that is a stopping point. I also want to thank the reviewers on Trip Advisor because otherwise I might have skipped St. Jean Pied de Port and it was one of my favorites- yes, it was crowded, but no more so than any other popular tourist destination in the summer months. Also- very safe for a solo traveler!

Room Tip: Choose the river side (unless you are a very light sleeper)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAYO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I cannot recommend this beautiful house highly enough. It was a real find. We were a group of 11 traveling by motor bike and the welcome received was warm and exceeded any welcome we imagined. Jean Francois welcomed us into his lovely house,which is in a beautiful location close to the centre of town. He kindly drove us to a local restaurant having booked it for us as we had arrived late in the evening in the middle of a thunderstorm. The house is full of charm, comfortable, quiet and clean. A beautiful garden by the river, a lovely pool and safe parking for our bikes.
An ideal stopping point or base for anyone exploring the fabulous countryside of the Pyrenees, walkers, bikers or by car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a very old and charming renovated guest house in a beautiful setting right over the river and close to town. The host Jean Francois is incredibly helpful and welcoming, he recommended an excellent restaurant, and even drove us to the railway station. Our room was comfortable,very clean and quiet. We met the other guests at breakfast around a large dining table which was fun and friendly. We would definitely recomend this very good value experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a fantastic couple of days here and wished we had had longer. We were touring in an old Land Rover and Jean Francois couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and help in planning our routes exploring the tracks in the mountains.

We would love to return and spend longer exploring the countryside nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was traveling with family that had come to visit me in France from the US and found this place in my French guidebook. We just showed up without reservations to inquire if there were two rooms available. We encountered the charming and gentle Jean-François working in the garden and luck was with us, he had two rooms left! We already were captivated with the location of the old typical Basque house (beautifully renovated) and the location along the river. He showed us the rooms and we were very impressed as they were quite spacious, very clean and well decorated. We took them immediately. The house is just a very short walk from the old town and it is a lovely stroll. Jean-François made himself available for restaurant suggestions, calling to make reservations for us, and for any other questions we had. He is an engaging conversationalist with a great appreciation of art and he has lots of good information and stories to share about the town and the Basque region. I really enjoyed the communal breakfast at the big table. The table was very nicely set and everything was delicious. I noticed that Jean-François was very good with the children of a couple that were also staying there. He speaks quite good English. He really is the host with the most! A plus, his friendly dog and cat. Two regrets, we only could stay one night and I didn't have time to take advantage of the lovely pool and garden! A stay here is highly recommended, so much nicer than any hotel. I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of water then ask for a room on the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We booked Maison Donamaria largely because of the very good reviews. It fully lived up to, and exceeded, the very high praise given by other reviewers. Unfortunately, and we gather, very unusually,Jean Francois had to be away for a couple of days and so we were left in the hands of his close friend Pierre. He was wonderful. We were travelling by bicycle from Le Puy en Velay to Santiago and had planned a short rest to sort out the bikes before going over the Pyrenees. We needed the bikes checked, cleaned and oiled and sought advice from Pierre. It turned out he is a mountain bike guide and offered, with no fuss whatsoever, to do it for us.
He was a fount of knowledge about the area and, on our last full day, offered to give us a short tour of the Irouleguy vineyards, the hills and some of the ancient churches of this fantastic part of France. He was simply wonderful. To cap it all, we met Jean Francois over breakfast on our last morning and everything others say about him is true. As are the comments about the accommodation.
To sum up we suggest you do your utmost to get a room in Maison Donamaria. It is very special

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Donamaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Donamaria

Address: 1 chemin d'Olhonce, 64220 Saint Jean Pied de Port, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint Jean Pied de Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Jean Pied de Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Basque house is situated in a quiet spot along the banks of the river "La Nive." Five minutes will take you to the historic center of the village... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Donamaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.