We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hope Town Harbour Lodge to your Saves list
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen's Highway, Hope Town, Elbow Cay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Allentown Pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

I am a woman who was traveling alone and the staff made me feel right at home. They knew who I was when I got there. They went out of there way to try to find me people to take me on eco-tours and when I received messages they let me know as soon as they found out . I am looking forward to going back. Also, great view(nothing to do with staff, obviously)

  • Liked — location, you can walk anywhere and the staff
  • Disliked — a little too quiet too early in the evening
  • Tips/Secrets — since it is in the marina most if the tourists are travelers from charter boats so you will nevr see the same people from 1 day to another, which I really liked
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

If you are in to the desolate beach lifestyle one will love this area!
It is safe home town not a lot happening but just enough to have a blast!
The caretaker is awesome and has been there for many years. I fell in love with Hopetown and maybe you will also!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

We have been to numerous islands: St. Thomas, St. Johns, Hawaii, Aruba, Curacao, Puerto Rico, Jamaca, Dominican
Republic, Bermuda, Nassau both none compared to the peace, unspoiled natural beauty and serenity of Elbow Cay. The resort is fabulous with your own bungalow on the beach, great food, and wonderful service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamorad,fl
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

we stayed in the butterfly house and it is perfect if you are traveling with well beahved older kids. i say well behaved because the up and downstairs are separate entrances so you have to feel that the kids wont be sneaking out! the service is personal and great and the pool and cabana area perfect. you can spend you entire trip at the resort, well maybe a trip to tahiti beach!!

  • Stayed June 2002
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2004

We stayed at the Harbor View/Ocean View rooms on the third floor of the Lodge. The room was a bit small. Room enough for the bed and a dresser with a chair in one corner. The views were nice. The ocean could be seen past the pool area. The harbor view was nice especially at night. The A/C worked well. Cannot say the same about the shower. The water pressure was terrible especially in the evenings. The shower area was really small and the closet was kinda in the bathroom. The pool area was ok..nothing great. The beach was wonderful though. Beautiful clear turquoise water and white sand. The staff was attentive and helpful. They picked you up at the hotel dock upon arrival. The morning breakfast was continental and not great (except on sundays with a bit more selection). Our one dinner at the hotel was very good and the service excellent. Overall great location and service. Accomodations are more like a motel. However if staying on elbow cay it is probably the best choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2003

I stayed here in September 2003 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rates really good this time of year. I stayed in the lodge, the room was spotless and attractive, with a balcony overlooking the pool area and the ocean in the distance. Beach was lovely and nice for walking. The pool looks nice but was closed for repairs. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant/bar staff attentive. Food was great for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was a continental buffet - not very exciting. The ferry will drop you at the hotel's dock if you ask and the hotel will arrange for pick-up at their dock when you return. This time of year was really quiet and not much else was open in the way of shops or restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison,WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2003

My wife and I visited Elbow Cay in Feb. 2003 with our 10-month old. We rented a private residence and ended up moving to HTHL after we walked past it one evening. It was beautiful. A lovely lawn led down from the path to a pool/bar area which is right on the beach. Great snorkeling is straight off the hotel grounds. Didn't see inside the rooms in the main building, but they have nice balconies with ocean views. We were in a poolside bungalow with its own deck, but the best bet is the ocean front bungalows (right above the beach, with hammocks!). The staff really catered to us and didn't mind that we had a child. They got us a crib, and even brought a microwave to heat bottles. They opened up the lobby late one night to get us bottled water! The hotel food was average and overpriced. Harbour's Edge had great food and was reasonable, plus you can sit out on the deck above the harbor. Overall, its an adventure getting to Hopetown, but well worth it. Its absolutely beautiful and secluded.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Town Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Address: Queen's Highway, Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay > Hope Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Town Harbour Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it's locally called - "The Lodge" is quintessentially Hope Town's heart and soul. Aligning the renowned Hope Town Harbour iconically watched over by its historic candy stripe light house and then backing up to one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in The Bahamas - a more idyllic vacation spot could not be found. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hope Town Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Town Harbour Hotel Great Abaco Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Town Harbour Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.