We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hope Town Harbour Lodge to your Saves list
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen's Highway, Hope Town, Elbow Cay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The entire facility is charming, providing both conviviality and privacy as desired. The staff are extraordinarily friendly and motivated to make your visit memorable and spectacularly positive. The lodging facilities (poolisde cabanas and private oceanview or oceanfront cottages, as well as rooms in the inn) are cheerful, very clelan and extremely comfortably appointed. The location is ideal, offering the secluded feeling of a resort within a block or two of a lively town on a quaint little island opposite Marsh Harbour. The lodge sits on a high bluff right between the ocean and the bay, and the reef less than 100 yards off shore on the ocean side is bustling with interesting sealife. Turtles, dolphin, barracuda, and an occasional shark are common sights. The food and drink stand second to none. We are going again less than a month after our last visit! Simply the best.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in the entire place, but the poolside cabana rooms have probably the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    30
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A Huge Shout out to the entire staff at Harbour Lodge! :D Third visit and highly recommend the lodge to anyone! We stayed in a cottage poolside and were just steps away from the pool, restaurant, snorkeling & beach! The rooms were spectacular and very clean. Hope Town is the ultimate quaint lil bahamian village and everything is within walking distance that you need. Can't wait to return! :D

Room Tip: All options are fantastic. We stayed pool and beachside in a cottage but you can also stay on top o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Rooms on the third floor have magnificent views of the Ocean and the Harbour Lighthouse. Staff was super and the Oceanfront bar crowd could not have been better - be sure to ask for Gary's special rum drinks.

It was nice not to have a phone or TV for a few days.

Room Tip: If you don't mind steps, the third floor is the best view on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just visited the Lodge for our second stay. It was absolutely fabulous! The staff is so friendly and accomodating! The view is amazing!! You can snorkel right off the beach, enjoy the pool, relax and order lunch and cocktails. Everything you need is in walking distance. We can't wait to get back to Hope Town and will definitely stay at the Lodge again!

Room Tip: The beach front cottages are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

After touring the Abaco islands on a private yacht, we stayed for 4 days at the Hopetown Harbour Lodge and was very comfortable and close to everything! The island is quaint and has all the ammenities needed to have a great beach vacation. The staff called for a golf cart rental for over an hour and finally found one for our use during our stay. Questions were always answered cheerfully and they even let us borrow umbrellas during a rainstorm. When we needed dinner reservations and pick up from the hotel to the restaurant, the front desk organized all of that. We even asked for help radioing a water taxi for our friends every night to get to the other marina. Overall, the rooms were clean and very comfy and the hotel had everything that you needed including the Atlantic Ocean on one side and the Abaco Sea on the other. I do recommend bring bug lotion or spray because the rains really brought out the mosquitos.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are great but the cottages are more secluded with a better view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is my second time staying at the Hope Town Harbour Lodge and we look forward to seeing Tom and the staff each year. The lodge is clean, the rooms are nice and the staff are friendly and helpful. This is a charming and beautiful island that has a lot to offer if you go out and explore it. It's nice to not have Tv's in your room and to just appreciate the surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We just spent a terrific 6 days at the Hope Town Harbor Lodge. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with plenty of storage space for clothes. The setting is beautiful, whether you are overlooking the picturesque harbor or light blue seaside. If you like to snorkel there is a very active reef off the Lodge beach. We spent hours enjoying the fish life. The little settlement town is in walking distance of the Lodge, and offers a variety of gift shops and restaurants. The Lodge restaurant and beach veranda offered excellent food. And the staff, guided by Tom the manager, were the Best! Going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope Town Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Address: Queen's Highway, Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay > Hope Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Town Harbour Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it's locally called - "The Lodge" is quintessentially Hope Town's heart and soul. Aligning the renowned Hope Town Harbour iconically watched over by its historic candy stripe light house and then backing up to one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in The Bahamas - a more idyllic vacation spot could not be found. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hope Town Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Town Harbour Hotel Great Abaco Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Town Harbour Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.