We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hidden Gem with Lots of Privacy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abaco Club on Winding Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abaco Club on Winding Bay to your Saves list
Abaco Club on Winding Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box AB20571, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet Hidden Gem with Lots of Privacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived during what we thought was prime spring break time, the week before Easter, and found the resort nearly empty. The first day we walked down to Busters which is their beach bar and grill. It was probably a 10 minute walk down the beach from our house and we did not see a person the entire walk. When we got to the beach bar there was only 1 other person there. It was a family trip but we thought we were going during prime season so we asked the bartender why the resort wasn't doing well and he told us it was sold out! If you are looking for a quiet peaceful place for a retreat with near private beaches go here. It was simply splendid. You have to want to eat at the resort and not just relax as there is not much to do unless you drive the 30 minutes to Marsh Harbor which has the closest stores, grocery and restaurants. We loved it!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just had the pleasure of spending an amazing long weekend at the club. The whole atmosphere, views, and staff were nothing short of fantastic. The property was recently purchased by Southworth and already going thru some very upscale changes. This resort is very quiet and far off the beaten path. The only way around this expansive property is by golf cart. We stayed in a private cabana just steps away from the turquoise waters in the bay. We had the opportunity to work out while watching the waves hit the shore and relaxed in the infinity edge pool after. The entire staff from check in to the beach bar and security we're welcoming and truly thankful to have us there. I highly recommend this on everyone's bucket list. We have already booked our return trip with our children. I'm not a golfer but this resort has everything from a beautiful coarse to plenty of water sports and relaxation for anyone. If you are looking for busy nightlife and parties this is not the club for you. If you enjoy a candlelit on the beach as we did then you have found your spot. We ventured over to Petes Pub which is a must. The concierge arranged our rides to and from. The atmosphere was full of down to earth locals and sailors from around the globe. Simply said, Abaco has everything we could possibly need and can't wait to return soon. Happy travels....

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This is our third time to the resort and it just keeps getting BETTER! Every one is so friendly
and if you want a true vacation this is the place. The GM Mark Aitken there made us feel like we were celebrities. The food spectacular!
And the golf course very dramatic!
We are planning our next vacation at The Abaco Club

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the whole place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We visited The Abaco Club on Winding Bay for the second time this year in November. The people are simply the best. We had a massage by a wonderful woman...5 people in our party had one and many said it was the best they ever had. We had catered a dinner by Sugar Mama's and it was scumptious. Amazing wouldn't due it justice. And then we went to Bahamian night at the club. Fantastic time...the staff got us up dancing and we had an absolute ball. Archie the bartender makes a couple classic drinks, The archie-tini... and one other. It is so fun...and what wonderful people. Same great beach and less mosquitos. The weather was a bit iffy when we were there but a great time was still had by all. I just wish a long weekend could last longer....

The hotel is out of Marsh Harbor by :30 minutes so if you are looking for clubs and many bars this isn't your place. But if you were looking for quiet, great beach, and great people this is it. Also the property was sold recently; so we'll have to see what the new developers decide to finish the project.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Stayed here as part of Exclusive Resorts package and the concierges, Vandea and Marilyn, were awesome, ordered our pre-arrival groceries and wine and liquor, and made it so easy to transition from the airport to our home with 2 private golf courts to ferry us around. We took advantage of local Chef, Sugar Mama, owned by Chaka ( no relation to Chaka Khan) for 2 days for lunch and dinner for a fixed fee of $300/day plus the food costs. They cook onsite in your home, clean and take away what you do not want. Had best fish tacos for lunch one day, and also BLT with grilled Grouper another day. Dinners included more fresh fish, spiny lobster, and fish finger apps with conch fritters too. Chaka knows where best local fish is!
The beach at Buster's is a must hang out area a few days, as complimentary snorkeling, sailing (Hobie Cat), floats, paddle boarding, etc... made it so relaxing along with fresh towels and plentiful chairs in which to relax. The bar is open until 6pm, or later, making the island's finest drinks and it is also open at 8am for breakfast to 4pm for lunch.
The Bahamas has no income tax so there is an import duty on all goods ranging from 0-200% and the average is 35%. As a result, food costs more than in the USA and booz especially so, including wine. New VAT effective 01/01/2015 of 7.50% hurts locals more than tourists.
This hidden gem has an unbelievable golf course with ocean views of more than 10 holes. Played it 6 times and ran into 1 other 4 some once. Thought we had our own private course. All associates working at this resort were gracious and smiling a lot and always saying hello.
Clear emerald water and white sand beach so white you need no sandals or flip flops due to heat. Having nice plunge pool at home a huge plus as well.
Bring plenty of Skin So Soft for the "no c ums" and also bug repellant, especially if the breeze is low as it was a few days. Weather was mostly sunny at 75-85 degrees, very conducive to tanning.
Do not be fooled by the weather forecasts; they change by the hour but go to www.BarometerBob.org for best current and updated forecats. Must do sailing on private Cat? Take 8 or more and use www.Cruise Abaco.com with Mark and Patti as gracious owners, and we had Raymond as Captain with Shorty, a hard working Haitian refugee with an amazing story of survival and overcoming obstacles, as first mate. Mark also has 57 foot boat owned by former Aerosmith band member, not Steven Tyler though, who hangs out mostly in Wailea, Maui.
BTW, poor cell service, except with AT&T locally but set up international plan before you go to avoid large cellular charges; our home had free wifi which worked great so we only plugged in a bit while inside in the early morning or during happy hour.
Great place to unplug and as Buffet says, get a "License to Chill"....

Room Tip: Rent a home for big groups; they have small love shacks for lovers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaco Club on Winding Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco Club on Winding Bay

Address: PO Box AB20571, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Abaco Club on Winding Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although The Abaco Club is a private international sporting club, guests are welcome to stay on the property and enjoy its luxurious amenities when they are the guests of, or rent homes from, Club members. Each home is within steps of the Club's pristine, white-sand beach, and each is meticulously appointed with all of life's necessities. Wake to the sound of crashing waves, stroll to the golf course or spa, or just relax on your private deck and look out over the calm, blue-green sea while the Abaco parrots chirp their warm welcome. Here, in an atmosphere of quiet sophistication, you, your family and friends can enjoy the greatest luxury of all: total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Abaco Club on Winding Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Club On Winding Bay Hotel Marsh Harbour
Ritz Carlton Marsh Harbour
Abaco Hotel Marsh Harbour
Abaco Club Winding Bay
Abaco Club On Winding Bay Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaco Club on Winding Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.