We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secluded luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abaco Club on Winding Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsh Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abaco Club on Winding Bay
Save Saved
You added Abaco Club on Winding Bay to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box AB20571, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
old forge
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“secluded luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

we were here for family destination wedding.cabana was comfortable and very roomy.dining was limited but surprisingly good quality.beach is clean and beautiful.golf carts needed to everywhere.The cliffside houses are gourgeous.resort is very secluded if you like privacy on vacation otherwise due to its remote location it can be boring.cab to town is $100 one way. stopped at liquer to stock frig in room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I hesitate to give this property a good review for fear that more people will find out about it! My husband and I spent four lovely days here and enjoyed every moment. We staying in one of the cabanas that overlooked the golf course and was walking distance to the beach. The grounds were beautiful and the service was very good. This isn't your typical Ritz Carlton, so don't expect the same level of service that you might get at other properties...you are in the islands after all and everyone is on island time. But everyone was very attentive and friendly and we loved our time here. The best advice I would give others is rent a car (the property is a good half hour from town and an $80 cab ride one way) and bring some breakfast and lunch items. Food on property is very expensive. I would highly recommend this to anyone and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The abaco club is my favorite place to travel. It is nice, secluded and definitely "barefoot luxury". The staff is friendly and accommodating and the food at busters and the club house is delicious. The Golf is first class and the course is spectacular. The houses for rent are gorgeous and the one I was in was fantastic (cottage 13) - right over the bay with 3 large bedrooms. Very clean and homey. It is the perfect place to get away from it all...I am definitely coming back!

Room Tip: rent the houses. I discovered them at abacoclubhomes.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We travel a lot. We appreciate good service and nice places. Abaco Club goes above and beyond. We stayed in a cabana room, which was clean and beautiful. They give you a golf cart with your room so that you can get around on the property. You can't ask for a more pristine beach with turquoise water...and a tiki type bar right there waiting to serve food and drinks. We are avid golfers, and the onsite course was challenging, fun, and spectacular (it is the first links course in a tropical setting). But best of all were the people. Everyone working at the Abaco Club is friendly, happy, polite and ready to do whatever it takes to provide a quality vacation for guests. In general, the Bahamian people are just high quality. We hope it never changes because after this trip, we plan to return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Abaco Club from April11-13. We swam, played tennis, golf, kayaked, ran on the beach, had massages, worked out, and just relaxed at this Ritz Carlton location.

We were celebrating my husband's 40th birthday and when I made the reservations, I told them that I wanted to make our stay special. That was the only thing they dropped the ball on. They gave me the phone number for the concierge and I organized a special meal, a couple's massage and transportation from the airport to the hotel. However, when I hadn't received any emails prior to our arrival, I called the hotel to find out that apart from our reservation, noting had been planned for us. Apparently the concierge whom I spoke to was out on sick leave and didn't pass our information on to anyone else. So the couple massage that I thought I had booked on my husband's birthday wasn't possible any longer because all the appointments had booked up. We did end up doing it the day before.

Breakfast and dinner was very good, up in the main dining room and lunch was served on the beach at Buster's. Also very good. The only issue I had with our dinner was that for my husband's birthday, I was told that it was noted and that the chef may prepare something special. No one acknowledged this when we arrived at the restaurant and so when my husband went to the bathroom and I told our waitress, she was completely unaware. They did end up putting a candle I his dessert, but if I hadn't said anything, nothing would have been done

We had a cabana beside the golf course which was very nice and well appointed. Everyone gets golf carts to drive around the property.

The beach is simply spectacular!

Gym is decent for a hotel. Three treadmills, free weights, and strength machines.

A taxi from the airport was $80 each way.

We would definitely recommend the hotel for a relaxing getaway or family vacation. There was no night life at all.

Room Tip: Beed Cooper was the concierge who helped me organize the spa and dinner for my husband. He was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a very rough start with American Express travel messing up our flights to and from Abaco, but once we got there all was better. We were greeted by very cheerful front desk staff and all of our bags and car were taken care of while we viewed the property. I don't have enough good things to say about the lovely location, the views are breathtaking! We made reservations for a late dinner and were shown to our lovely cabanna. It was larger than a hotel room with a screened in wrap around porch. It was my husband and myself and our two kids age 11 and 6. We had a wonderful dinner, yes, it is expensive but you are in a resort so I was expecting that. The kids can play pool or chess while they wait for dinner and the view from the clubhouse is awesome! Everyday we would take our golfcart to either the infinity pool or beach where we were taken care of by the staff. On Wednesdays they have a "rake and scrape" band that is the local music and it is fun for all. We were already making our plans to come back to this island before we left, so that should tell you how much we liked it. We did a half day boat trip with Captain Dee, we are not big snorklers so it was just ok, we took the ferry to Hopetown, that was an enjoyable day and had lunch at The Hopetown Lodge, very good. We loved Snappa's in Marsh Harbour for an affordable dinner. Only thing we wished is that we had more time to enjoy as it is a long day to get there. Any questions just send me a message!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Its a great place to chill with family. The rooms are great and the people are fantastic. The only thing that i did not like was the salmon at dinner. It was around $36.00 and it tasted like a $10.00 plate in other restaurant. Overall ill give a 99% aproval. Beautiful beach

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaco Club on Winding Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco Club on Winding Bay

Address: PO Box AB20571, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abaco Club on Winding Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Abaco Club On Winding Bay Hotel Marsh Harbour
Ritz Carlton Marsh Harbour
Abaco Hotel Marsh Harbour
Abaco Club Winding Bay
Abaco Club On Winding Bay Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaco Club on Winding Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.