We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wally's Restaurant

Wally's Restaurant
E. Bay St, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, European, French, Bahamian
Restaurant details
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We ate lunch at Wallys after visiting Marsh Harbour in the morning. We were seated on a patio that had ample shade and ceiling fans, so the heat was not felt at all. The wait staff was prompt, and very friendly.

I had the fried fish sandwich and it was delicious. Lightly battered and fried, the taste of the fish came through nicely. The Greek salad side was perfect.

The highlight of the meal was Wally's conch chowder. I think it was the best I've had in the Bahamas, period. Highly recommend getting it.

Overall, Wally's was a wonderful place to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Delicious Bahamian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Directly across the street from the Harbour View Marina is a colonial house with air conditioned seating inside and an open air porch that serves delicious
Bahamian food. We starter with a grouper salad spread on toast and broiled. We had a delicious salad with goat cheese, beets and pears. Conch chowder is the flavor of the Bahamas. The Bahamian fried chicken was delicious. Although it does not have a view of the water, I think the food is better than the other restaurants in the area that have a view.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,TX
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a great dinner, complete with live music by Jammin' Jan. Our food was delicious, the drinks were perfect. And our Key Lime Pie was the perfect ending! Pretty old home....with a great front porch for dining!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wally's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wally's is a great place for fine dining. Excellent food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Reservations only, and they're outright rude if you show up without them. Not a friendly place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wally's Restaurant also viewed

Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 

Been to Wally's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wally's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.