We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curly Tails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curly Tails

Curly Tails
Conch Inn | P.O. Box AB 20469, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
242 3674444
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bahamian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Curly Tails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Curly Tails is a fun place to go and have a rum runner, and, watch the sunset.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    44
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Murray,SC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Views, Poor Service, Average Bar Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great views and location by the Ferry Marina. We had lunch and drinks while waiting for the Ferry over to Great Guana Cay. Service was very, very slow and food was just average. Not bad, but nothing special. We had Fried Conch fritters, Chicken Fingers and a Hamburger. Hamburger was the best....Large, juicy and tasty. As with everything on the Abacos, you can expect to pay a lot higher prices than in the USA. All in all, is an OK place to relax and sit for a while if using the Ferry system.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great view but marginal food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The upstairs room is perfect for lunch with a great view of the harbour. Unfortunately the service and food do not measure up. The pizza was a frozen crust with fresh toppings and the fish tacos were bland and did not have much fish. Are there any decent restaurants in Marsh Harbour? Not so far.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTCL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Firt Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My first experience dining out in Marsh Harbor. Curly Tails; the best way to describe it is “Bahamas Chic”. White table cloths, soft lighting and earth tones predominate. Menu was interesting and service acceptable. While you may be admitted in t-shirt and flip-flops, the atmosphere is decidedly khakis and polo shirts. I dined alone and one cocktail and an admittedly more expensive entrée set me back $55.00. All in all not a bad experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disinterested Staff meets Slow Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Curly Tails came highly recommended from a trusted source for its food and especially the second story view of Marsh Harbour. Well, the view is first rate. Everything else totally failed. There were maybe 6 other guests upstairs when we arrived mid-afternoon about 3p.m., plus the bar manager and a waitress. No one greeted us as we crossed directly in front of the bar to take our seats on the perimeter. The barstool chairs need maintenance because they arm rests have frayed wrappings at the joints with exposed nails that scrapped my fingers when adjusting both my wife's chair and mine. The waitress arrived promptly to take our order, and I requested a desert menu. Here is where service really fell apart. Staff should keep their personal situations and attitides to themselves. My menu request was met with disdain and accordingly relayed to the bar manager, who appeared largely disinterested. We ordered a soda pop and a simple cocktail, plus some chocolate cake. I timed the service. It took 5 minutes to get the drinks even though the place was practically empty and the bar was 7 feet away. After waiting another 20 minutes for cake, which never arrived, but watching our waitress get her personal chicken lunch with a tall soda, then sit with her back to us and eat not 7 feet away, we got up to leave and I told the bar manager to cancel the cake order. She looked surprised, but complied and phoned downstairs. Did the staff that day have a problem with a mixed-race couple? Or problems between the themselves that was unprofessionally spilling over into the restaurant? Or personal problems best left at home? I won't return. My advice to readers is to choose Wally's. Consistently great service and food on a breezy elevated patio is what we all want.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curly Tails also viewed

Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 

Been to Curly Tails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curly Tails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.