We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Family island" style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lofty Fig Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsh Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lofty Fig Villas
Save
You added Lofty Fig Villas to your Saves list
P.O. Box AB20437, Marsh Harbour ab20437, Great Abaco Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Family island" style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Love the convenient location of the villas and the comfortable and island feel of the property. Sig, the owner is a very nice and helpful person, the villas offer the comfort of personal room, small kitchen and living room area without losing the taste of "family island" stay.
Walking distance are all the small restaurants and flavors of Marsh Harbor.
It is a diver friendly environment with tile floors, useful hanging lines on the grass outside to let your gear drip dry and a mosquito protected patio area where to enjoy the evening.
Loved it so much the first time, stayed there again the second time.

Room Tip: Any of the villas are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
72
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've been back in the Abacos for a week and a room at The Lofty Fig Villas is once again my choice for the stay.
The owner, Sid, is still pleasant and accommodating and makes sure that everything is just perfect for his guests. His longtime employees, Melissa and Lindor are very dependable and hardworking, along with being great folks to visit with. I have another 10 days here and no longer even consider staying in a different location. After years of visiting this area and staying in many different locales, I am confident that I have made the right choice the minute the taxi turns in to The Fig.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Great to have the option of making food in what amounts to a studio appartment.

Sid was brilliant in that he offered useful advice and located the telephone number of a good friend who was not in the phone book

Convenient for at least three restaurants although one was clearly not in favour with Sid.

I know these things happen in the Out Islands but we suffered two extended power cuts that left us unable to have a much needed shower (water goes off too) or make breakfast. There were candles in the room but no matches and we were really quite concerned about coming back from one restaurant after dark. Perhaps torches or fixed LED lights would be a simple solution?

Clearly the cuts were no fault of the lovely Sid, but anyone who visits Abaco, or any other Out Island should be aware of possible problems.

One other anoyance was the barking dogs that went on most of the day and night

Having said that the gardens were beautifully kept and the rooms were immaculate and if we ever find ourselves on Abaco we would stay at Lofty Fig

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Walking distance from restaurants, across the street from the marina and in between liquor store and convenient store. Friendly owner and honest cleaning staff, as a special ring was left on the sink and returned, before a new boat was bought ;-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The Lofty Fig Villas in Marsh Harbour, the rooms were perfect for our stay, very clean and comfortable, great little kitchen and lovely pool and grounds, I would recommend this great place, we also hired a Boat Captain, Captain James who is a perfect guide, give him a call at 1-242 458 2380, he's also a great chef and cooked us some amazing meals .So if you are looking for the perfect combination you cannot go wrong with Lofty Fig Villas and Captain James.

Room Tip: We had rooms 5 & 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Abaco on a 5day trip that included two days of diving with Dive Abaco. The Lofty Fig is located right across the street from the dive store and is surrounded by a number of good restaurants. The rooms have ample room with a couch, kitchen, table and big porch, more than expected. The rooms very clean and modern. I also spent time in the pool and tanning on the hammock. Great place to spend some time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
265 hotel reviews
Reviews in 251 cities Reviews in 251 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Actually, all has been said about this place: it is in a very good location, has simple but nice duplex units, a pool and maybe the biggest plus, a knowledgeable and very friendly owner. All of that comes at island prices, so don't expect a bargain.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lofty Fig Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofty Fig Villas

Address: P.O. Box AB20437, Marsh Harbour ab20437, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, the Lofty Fig has six spacious rooms situated around their private swimming pool. Each air-conditioned studio style room is comfortably furnished with a queen bed. There is a large eating and living area inside with a table and chairs, sofa and easy chair and a fully equipped kitchen with a pass through window to your private porch. Roll-away beds are available on request. All rooms have free WiFi internet access and a 32inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lofty Fig Villas Hotel Marsh Harbour
Lofty Fig Villas Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lofty Fig Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.