We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina to your Saves list
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bay Street, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed Abaco Beach Resort for three nights on business the hotel is beautifully updated and possesses all modern amenities that one would expect from a resort with this price point.

The bathrooms had marble countertops and stainless steel fixtures along with shower/tub combination. In the kitchenette area there was a coffee maker and also a small fridge.

The hotel has plush bedding, which makes for a very restful night. My room was on the fourth floor I had the beautiful views of the ocean from my balcony. There is also a 42 inch LED television in the room with full connectivity for HDMI. The hotel also gives you free Wi-Fi. There is also a fitness center and a nice swimming pool.

I was very comfortable while at this hotel it was an amazing stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Yes, we agree that Abaco Beach Resort is a great place to say when visiting the Out Islands for business. I’m delighted that you enjoyed all of our room amenities. They certainly make things easy when traveling for business. I hope you come back and see us again the next time you are in town. Be sure to consider our event space and meeting rooms for your next business gathering when in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    14
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
41
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Village, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I originally wanted to stay at a resort my wife and daughter would enjoy and to be able to take my son fly fishing in the Marls. ABR has delivered consistently through the years -- great service ,very clean rooms, great bedding. A quality experience for staying in Abaco. The staff is very accommodating to guarantee that your stay is pleasant. The lunch menu has been expanded and excellent. There are many dinning experiences within a quarter mile from the resort. There's Wally's,Mangoes,Curly Tails and a local hangout called Jamie's Place. Incredible fried chicken and cracked lobster,great potato salad and cole slaw.The most important thing you will notice in staying at ABR is it's attention to detail to keep the resort tip top.I go there three times a year. I recommend it. It's one of the best places to stay in Abaco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, General Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your loyal business! We are family owned and treat our guests just like part of the family. It’s nice to hear that our service and attention to detail are reasons for your family’s frequent visits. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed one night on our way out of the Bahamas so our visit was luckily brief. The front desk agent was confused about who we were when we walked in the door thinking we had already been there but she was nice. The $25 deposit for pool towels was a but over the top in our opinion. The bellman, Sheldon, and Jordan (who provided the towels) were both very nice and welcoming. The rooms were indeed clean and overlook the ocean however they are all exterior entrance and seem old and dated. The comforter was so thick one would think you were sleeping in the Arctic, not a tropical setting. It all got worse after that. The shoreline is filled with small rocks so having a young child navigate through that was no fun. He couldn't be close to that shore without shoes. It was the worst beach we went to all week so we made our way to the pool. The pool was cloudy with dirty water and it took 20 minutes to get drinks from the bar. No, it wasn't busy at the bar. There didn't seem to be very many people at this 'resort' at all which is very telling and understandable. At end of June one would expect a lot more people at a resort in the Bahamas but that was not the case. Also, we had two young children with us and there was no water for them to drink at the pool. We asked at the bar only to be told they didn't have any water and the gift shop didn't have drinks and the restaurant wasn't open. So we made the hike back to our room to get the kids something to drink and decided the service was so bad at the pool we would go off property for dinner. Definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We value your feedback, and we are very sorry to hear about your recent stay. Our staff takes pride in its hospitable service, and we assure you what you experienced does not measure up to our standards. We will address your concerns with the staff and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I just returned from staying at the Abaco Beach Resort & Boat Harbour Marina. We were there from June 19 - 23, 2014. I was there to see what the hotel offered and enjoy the sites of The Abacos. What an incredible experience. The staff was very welcoming and knew our names after the first time we met them. The resort has many different room types to fit all needs, yet is a boutique hotel in that this is a smaller property with 89 rooms. I was impressed with the variety of plants and trees, which was in typical tropical island paradise style. The marina was an added bonus to see the beautiful boats and speak with the crew coming in from a long day of fishing. The rooms are spacious and homey with renovations going on to make them even nicer. In addition to the hotel rooms, they have what is called The Residences. This is a group of condo like homes, which can be purchased and then rented out to others coming for business or vacation. These homes are beautifully decorated and offer you a perfect respite after a nice relaxing, fun filled day. The food was amazing and I let the diet go, which was well worth it. I had heard previously their costs were high, but I do not find that to be a truth. I thought the presentation and quality on their plates was moderately priced considering the love and taste I experienced. The view from our room was stunning and all rooms look out onto the ocean, so you don't have to worry about looking onto a parking lot or a garden. Most resorts I have been to throughout the Caribbean or anywhere for that matter have premium views at a premium cost, but this isn't the case at this spectacular property. Shopping was a short walk outside of the property for those who are looking for that special island souvenier to bring home for themselves and others, but they do have a gift shop on property if you don't have a wandering spirit. We were able to take two days on a boat to visit other nearby islands and see what they offered as well. The ocean conditions were mild since they are surrounded by an extensive reef system. I was able to do some snorkeling on a private beach and while boating we even had two of our guides dive for some fresh conch for us. They prepared homemade conch salad for us right on the boat. One thing I was thrilled about was being able to take my conch shell home and once thoroughly cleaned will be a centerpiece in my collection. One of the nights we were treated to a bon fire right on the beach which was definitely a highlight. I also found a few coconuts and asked about cracking them for drink mixtures. The staff was kind enough to let me know just how to find the best ones. I had ones that wouldn't have been very tasty, so they went on a hunt for a few and came back and prepared them for us right at our table! The local establishments had a great mixture of locals and tourists like me all enjoying great drinks and food. The property doesn't have a spa, per say, but they can arrange to have amenities brought in for a massage at the beach or in your room. They also offer many of the other spa treatments to be brought in. The sites, sounds and tastes made for memories of a lifetime. I highly recommend this property and look forward to going back when I have the time. Whether you need a place for a meeting, a couples retreat or family reunion, they can offer it all!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed overnight before renting a boat for use at a house rental on a nearby cay. The rooms were nice with ocean front with a large grass area buffering the beach. The beach is a place to cool off with a quick swim, but as in most places in this area, it is has a lot of sea grass and is very hot on the sand. The food in the adjacent resturant is fabulous for sea food lovers. Unusual dishes, such as hogfish, is prepared perfectly and wharf side dining fit us well. The resort has very friendly and helpful staff that improved our stay. They even carted our copious luggage and helped load it on the boat. The beach bar fellow is very funny and went out of his way to accomodate us and the three young children in our group.

Room Tip: shorter walks to the resturant, pool, and office on the left side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having heard mixed reviews of the hotel rooms at the resort I was pleasantly surprised on our visit to Abaco Beach Resort! We stayed in a two bedroom villa which was very nicely decorated and furnished. Housekeeping was more than attentive with making the beds, tidying up, and turn down service. The restaurant has good food and the prices are reasonable considering the prices in the Bahamas. I was also pleasantly surprised with the great service we received from the beach attendant Alex who promptly brought drinks always with a smile on his face.
The pool bar is always a fun place to mingle and had a few extra nice bartenders this time ( Lisa and a guy whose name was Tomiko ?). Unfortunately there were a few that had a surly attitude.
Overall we had an excellent stay. In general my advice for anyone visiting marsh harbor is do not miss out on a day trip to Hope Town!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent I, Director of Sales at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Alexin, thanks for sharing your recent experiences during stay at the Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina. Further, we are happy to learn that as a result of your stay, you not only enjoyed your stay but overall we exceeded your expectations. Thank you! ABR commitment remains the delivery of a quality vacation experience and in those areas where we would have fallen short, we will assess those shortcomings and implement corrective action. I trust we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort on your next vacation and that you would continue to share your positive experience with your close friends, family and business associates.
Brent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Having done just that......we tagged four extra nights onto a bare-boat charter with the Moorings and just wanted a clean bed, some sun and somewhere to chill! But Abacos Beach Resort was sooooo much more than that, our room was large, airy and perfectly clean and though not especially 'swish' it certainly wasn't tired. We spent a lot of time at the pool bar and had fabulous cocktails every night but the best thing about the resort had to be be the food at Anglers which took us totally by surprise as it was so good! Would also like to make a special mention about Levy who served us on the two nights that we were there and made sure that we had a great time. We have stayed in plenty of places in the Caribbean and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent I, Director of Sales at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Sandra, thank for sharing so many positive aspects of your stay with us. We are also happy that you enjoyed your dinner at Anglers and had the pleasure of being served by Levy, a positive addition to our F&B team. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip to Abaco:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Address: Bay Street, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it's inception in 1955 Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has had the pleasure of welcoming back generations of loyal guests and families who continue to make the pilgrimage to Great Abaco Bahamas part of a storied family tradition. Simply and affectionately known as "Boat Harbour" to boating enthusiasts, Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has become a legend as one of the best marina and resort destinations in the Bahamas. Thousands of boaters and beach loving vacationers return year round to rekindle old traditions and create their own uniquely Bahamian experiences. Located less than 165 miles off the coast of Florida and situated on 40 beautifully tropical acres along the tranquil Sea of Abaco, the Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina is the gateway to the World's finest fishing and cruising grounds. Experienced boaters and novices alike can chart their own course making stops at the surrounding offshore cays and pristine barrier islands that are just waiting to be explored. With a variety of activities ranging from island-hopping, kayaking, paddle boats, snorkeling, yoga, water aerobic and diving to shopping and dining, The Abacos offer the perfect sanctuary for every type of aquatic and tropical island adventure. Our resort boost more than 89 guest rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, fitness center, 2 pool and is home to the largest marina in the Bahamas with 200 slips and can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet in length. The resort concierge provides all the necessary amenities to assist boaters with preparations for a magnificent day on the water. Marina services include 24-hour security, Internet, TV, full detailing and cleaning, electricity and fueling services seven days a week, 365 days a year as well as on-site customs and immigration clearance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Beach Resort At Boat Harbour Hotel Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Resort And Boat Harbour Marina Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.