We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the Abaco Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina to your Saves list
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bay Street, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Ft Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVED the Abaco Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was my first trip to the Bahamas and The Abaco Beach Resort is certainly a place I will return to. The room is very clean and well kept and every room has a fantastic view of their private beach and that beautiful aqua/green/blue water. The restaurant at the resort serves some of the best lobster I have ever eaten and the service was far more attentive then any of the other spots I visited while on the island.

Room Tip: Every room has a beach view, you can't go wrong. First floor rooms have direct access to the yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    14
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
41
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I spent this March 8-11, 2012 at this resort. If your company is looking for a great resort for an incentive, retreat or board meeting this is the place to go. This is the best kept secret in The Bahamas. It was very easy to get too and the rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. The people are very friendly and helpful. There are so many locations for teambuilding activities. You can spend a week at the resort and not run out of activities. The food is awesome, the meeting and event space is beautiful and an open canvas. I loved this location and if you are travelling with friends or for a wedding, family reunion or any other social group, this resort is a must see. I cannot wait to visit again.

Aarogen Corporate Meetings & Incentives

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We appreciate your review and are pleased to see that you highlighted our group offerings. From hosting corporate groups in our new air conditioned marquee space to family reunions kicking off a weekend of fun with a beach barbeque, our dedicated staff can meet the needs of any group. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next meeting or family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We spent the week between Christmas and New Year's at the Abaco Beach resort. We were just wanting a place to unwind and do nothing after the hectic holidays and this was perfect. First, keep in mind that the Abacos are not Nassau. There is simply not going to be as much in the way of restaurants, nightlife, or shopping. If any of that is really important to you, then don't go. The resort shows a bit of wear, but the rooms were recently redone and very nice. All have a water view that is spectacular when the sun comes up. Our room had a small fridge which made it nice to stock drinks and snacks. WiFi is free and works throughoug the resort, including on the beach if you absolutely can't disconnect. The resort is very laid back with its own private beach, with beach chairs and some shade if you aren't a sun worshiper. There is both a full service restaurant and an outside bar that has typical burgers, etc. The restaurant was very nice for breakfast. We had a package that included breakfast and it really was as advertised - anything on the menu. Dinner is a little pricey and nothing outstanding, but certainly acceptable. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help.

The resort is about a $20 cab ride from the airport. If you just plan on staying around the resort, don't bother on renting a car. You are within walking distance of the restaurants and also to the ferrys that go to the other islands for a day trip. You can make arrangements at the hotel for diving, snorkling, etc trips. And the resort provides free kayaks for those so inclined. Scooters and cars can be rented nearby (walking distance) if you want to venture beyond Marsh Harbor. And taxis are abundant.

Note that the resort has special rates for private pilots flying to the island and let us use there phone (at no charge) to call back to the states to make arrangements to clear customs on the trip home.

Room Tip: Take the ferry for the day to Hopetown. There are quaint restaurants and the beaches are fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and recent stay with us. We’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations. As you experienced, one of the best benefits of our location is our close proximity to nearby restaurants and the ferries for island hopping, which is certainly a “must-do” when visiting the Out Islands. You certainly understand that visiting the “real Bahamas” is not about nightlife or shopping but more about unwinding and experiencing the destination’s natural beauty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I just returned from the Abaco Beach resort...if you are looking for a very relaxing vaction in Abaco try Abaco Beach resort . Very clean and friendly on a nice harbor, beach just Ok. The food at the hotel ( Anglers) is great for breakfast ,lunch or dinner. Byron, the reservation manager ( good guy) can arrange any activity from bone fishing to dinner reservations to boat charters. Try dinner at Curly Tails, walking distance from the hotel. We looked at most of the other hotels on the Island and this was the nicest.

Room Tip: request the building closest to the Anglers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent 2 months at the Abaco Beach resort in the marina and it was like a dream! The marina itself is large and well run but the grounds of the resort make it extra special. Anglers restaurant is excellent-both the food and the service. We had friends join us for a week and their rooms at the resort were clean and nicely decorated. The staff is warm and friendly, the pool is beautiful, the beach is lovely. There are several excellent restaurants in town or within walking distance that are wonderful. Visit at the right time and you might be lucky enough to witness a Junkanoo! You'll soon love the sound of the Rake n' Scrape (the saw) and they will glady let you try your hand. Rent a boat and visit Man o War or one of the other nearby islands. Snorkel on the reefs. We are planning another visit without our boat this winter and looking forward to another glorious vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

first off the "town" of boat harbour is a one traffic light collection of small warehouses and cheesy little shops The locals tend to be friendly for the most part (not always the case in the Bahamas). place is clean, food is decent, service good. overall very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We just returned from our visit to Abaco Beach Resort...what a special little surprise! The resort has all of the amenities of a super large resort but it still maintains a very quaint layout and feel.

Our room was very clean, comfortable and had plenty of room to stretch (our room had a King bed, night tables, a small day bed, a table for 2, coffee/sink area, dresser w tv [w a lot of channels] and a large bathroom w double sinks). The room overlooked the beach, which was an absolutely perfect way to start your day or unwind after dinner.

The grounds are immaculate and I saw plenty of busybodies keeping things clean and tidy - which appeals to me a lot. Nothing was ever out of place. The pool area is again quaint but we still had plenty of room to roam and we even enjoyed a drink at the swim up bar (order a WHATCHAMACALLIT! You're going to LOVE it!). The music around the pool was tropical but never overdone. The atmosphere was continually perfect!

The restaurant (Anglers) deserves a review onto itself!!! Everything was once again - perfect! The food was delicious, done right, appealing to the eye but again, not overdone. I noticed that everything about this resort is in the sublime - the little details, the attention to the meals, the comfy rooms, the properly maintained property, the attentive staff, the music, etc. It's all right there and in exactly the right combination!

One night after dinner we sat outside at the bar and listened to these two musicians play a saw (yes, like from a hardware store!). It was so interesting and downright good! In no time I was tapping my toe and dancing to the very cool tunes that these saws were producing. Who would have thought?? A saw? Yes :-)

Aside from the resort being IMHO very close to perfection (for what I like - quaint yet with plenty of amenities, fun yet relaxing, etc), the real gem is the actual island. I had not realized that it's like a little playground! We jumped on a boat (which you get right there from their marina...no need to go someplace else), and hopped around to the surrounding islands. It's like driving to different places, except you do it by water. These little islands (or Keys) each have their own charm. Some are like Nantucket, others are more secluded and rugged, etc. We couldn't visit all the little Keys that we wanted to see, but we will be back to finish what we started!

I don't think I've ever said this, but if I could, I'd give them 10 stars! Cherry on top...the staff is very sweet and thoughtful (they knew our names in no time and had our coffee on its way as soon as they saw us enter the restaurant in the morning!).

Abaco Beach Resort was REFRESHING! We are well traveled and sometimes we as guests feel lost among the shuffle. Not here. It was the perfect end to our summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevie T, Guest Relations Manager at Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed the resort as well as the island. As you experienced, we take great pride in creating a personalized experience for our guests. From the servers at Angler’s and front office staff to the marina team and maintenance staff, our associates are proud of the quality offerings we provide and everyone is happy to show it off and share their knowledge of our great destination. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina

Address: Bay Street, Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Marsh Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marsh Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it's inception in 1955 Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has had the pleasure of welcoming back generations of loyal guests and families who continue to make the pilgrimage to Great Abaco Bahamas part of a storied family tradition. Simply and affectionately known as "Boat Harbour" to boating enthusiasts, Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina has become a legend as one of the best marina and resort destinations in the Bahamas. Thousands of boaters and beach loving vacationers return year round to rekindle old traditions and create their own uniquely Bahamian experiences. Located less than 165 miles off the coast of Florida and situated on 40 beautifully tropical acres along the tranquil Sea of Abaco, the Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina is the gateway to the World's finest fishing and cruising grounds. Experienced boaters and novices alike can chart their own course making stops at the surrounding offshore cays and pristine barrier islands that are just waiting to be explored. With a variety of activities ranging from island-hopping, kayaking, paddle boats, snorkeling, yoga, water aerobic and diving to shopping and dining, The Abacos offer the perfect sanctuary for every type of aquatic and tropical island adventure. Our resort boost more than 89 guest rooms and suites, 2 restaurants, fitness center, 2 pool and is home to the largest marina in the Bahamas with 200 slips and can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet in length. The resort concierge provides all the necessary amenities to assist boaters with preparations for a magnificent day on the water. Marina services include 24-hour security, Internet, TV, full detailing and cleaning, electricity and fueling services seven days a week, 365 days a year as well as on-site customs and immigration clearance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Beach Resort At Boat Harbour Hotel Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Marsh Harbour
Abaco Beach Resort And Boat Harbour Marina Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.