We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golf Club at Lora Bay

The Golf Club at Lora Bay
109 East Ridge Drive, Thornbury, Blue Mountains, Ontario N0H 2P0, Canada
519-599-7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Thornbury
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Nestled in the Blue Mountains on the shores of Georgian Bay, there could be no better place o play the game you love, especially when the game is being played on a 7,100 yard championship layout, co-designed by PGA Tour professional Tom Lehman and Canada's premier golf course architect Thomas McBroom.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great golf club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love the Club at Lora Bay. I've had the privilege of playing it once each year for the past 3 years and it is a joy. Great design, beautiful conditioning...lots of fun

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in the area and golfed a couple of the courses. Our favourite was Lora Bay. The great clubhouse was the first treat and the greeting by the clubhouse staff was perfect. Tee times are 10 Minutes apart so there is no backups. Our favourite hole by far was the par 3 14th hole It was a 175 yard hole but there was a drop of 200 feet from tee to green. The greens were fast and true. Would play it again in a heartbeat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creemore, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service and nice menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very pleasant surroundings and interesting menu. Well presented and wide variety of choice for every palate. Tough golf course tho!!! Bring plenty of balls.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent course and facility!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This past Thursday, 8 of us played golf at Lora Bay. We were all very impressed by the golf course and especially the whole layout of the clubhouse and facilities.
The couse is tough but very fair. It punishes a bad shot but not to the point where it is unfair, like a lot of resort style courses.
The greens were impeccable and putted very true and held very well with all distances of approaches.
We ate lunch at the clubhouse, yes the prices are a little higher than normal but the quality was very good and the service excellent, which we don't mind paying for.
We will return next year, that is a definite.
To all the staff keep up the good service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Play and eat there often during the gold season. The course is nice but pricey for the region. The restaurants are great, good food and great service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golf Club at Lora Bay also viewed

 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Golf Club at Lora Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golf Club at Lora Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Golf Club at Lora Bay to your Saves list