We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Cafe

The Mill Cafe
12 Bridge Street, Thornbury, Blue Mountains, Ontario N0H2P0, Canada
+1 519-599-7866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Thornbury
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A Thornbury landmark restaurant located on the edge of the Beaver river/Mill pond dam. Enjoy amazing views and delicious food on the patio or apres ski by the cozy fireplace. Open for lunch and dinner
Flesherton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went as a group of 6 people, with one of our members being in a wheelchair. The staff were wonderful! We were served quickly with appropriate accommodations, and I found the staff to be very attentive. Our group ordered a variety of meals, ranging from the shrimp tacos to schnitzel to fish and chips, as well as dessert, and there wasn't a single negative comment. Most definitely, we will be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thornbury ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“outstanding...in many ways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As a fairly regular supporter of The Mill, I have to say we've been enjoying EVERY experience there lately, albeit lunch or dinner. The food is excellent, menu has a lot of variety and the price point for food and wine is so acceptable and easy on the pocketbook. Management always makes a point of personally checking in, and staff are friendly and professional. Presentation is simple but elegant. I do recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dining at the Mill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have had lunch at the Mill Café on many occasions. It has a very pretty location. The food is very tastefully arrangement and the portions are such that you are not overwhelmed. I have always enjoyed the food ordered. Great place for a summer's day lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dining here is a "MUST DO"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I happened to be in Thornbury and drove around looking at the restaurants. We noticed the menu out front of the Mill and decided to give it a try. Best dining decision we have ever made. I'm not going to go into what we had but the presentation, taste and price were exceptional. My wife and I talked about the meal more than once over the next few days. We will go out of our way for the opportunity to eat at the Mill again. To the Chef, you have, at the very least equalled our past fine dining experiences and most likely topped them. Congratulations to the staff and owner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was at the Mill Cafe last weekend and just wanted to mention how AMAZING the food and service and atmosphere and everything dining related is at this establishment. Everyone is super friendly and attentive. That said, they are not overly attentive, which is one of my biggest peeves about some restaurants. If they notice you are in a deep conversation and everything looks good then they let you be and just wait for an appropriate time. The food is totally over the top with incredible attention to detail. In fact, for most of our stay over the weekend we just kept coming back ... every dish we had was top notch. Also, I never write reviews ... this is actually my first. The reason ... IT WAS THAT GOOD !!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Cafe also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Mill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.