We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Ontario This is One of the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount St. Louis Moonstone

Mount St. Louis Moonstone
#24 Mt. St. Louis Rd. RR #4, Coldwater, Ontario L0K 1E0, Canada
705-835-2112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Coldwater
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“For Ontario This is One of the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ontario was not graced with mountains the caliber of Alberta, B.C. Quebec, Vermont or New Hampshire. Sigh. But for Ontario skiing, Mount St. Louis is one of the best. The owners of this resort are dedicated to skiing and to constantly improving the hills, lifts and snow making equipment. My experience of weekends is that lines move quickly and efficiently. The hills are well patrolled. There is an excellent variety of runs. The runs are well groomed. It's a bit pricey- but skiing is expensive and compared to other Ontario ski resorts I have experienced, Mount St. Louis offers excellent value for the money. Great park for snow boarders. Staff are friendly and helpful. No night skiing- insurance costs are apparently too high. That's about the only drawback. But I love this place- that's why I've been coming back for 40 years. And I always recommend it for those looking for good skiing in Ontario.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Best Ski slopes close to Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had great experiences at Mount st. Luis, nice prepared long slopes, fast lifts, fun for the kids, and family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THIS is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

By accident I must have placed this review in Ski Snow Valley in Barrie. It was meant for Mount St. Louis Moonstone. I have skied all over on many different sized ski hills and mountains. Happened to be visiting inlaws in Ontario and thought we could check out a few of the local hills. This one comes close to being my favorite of all time for a family with varied skiing interests and skill levels. My kids Loved it and my son was blown away by the terrain park. It's not the most challenging skiing in the world but the runs are well groomed and steep and long enough to bring a big smile to your face. The people at the hill were helpful and kind. Probably has something to do with the place being privately owned. Other resorts in the area pale in comparison. If you can only go to one place to ski in 100 miles of Barrie, go here. Most of you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have skied all over on many different sized ski hills and mountains. Happened to be visiting inlaws in Ontario and thought we could check out a few of the local hills. This one comes close to being my favorite of all time for a family with varied skiing interests and skill levels. My kids Loved it and my son was blown away by the terrain park. It's not the most challenging skiing in the world but the runs are well groomed and steep and long enough to bring a big smile to your face. The people at the hill were helpful and kind. Probably has something to do with the place being privately owned. Other resorts in the area pale in comparison. If you can only go to one place to ski in 100 miles of Barrie, go here. Most of you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best day on the slopes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The day started badly with a pair of old skis not behaving - the rental staff (Charlie) told us to talk to Ken, the manager to see what he would advise... to our amazement, Ken gave us a rental pair for free!! What a treat :) All employees are friendly and welcoming. At the end of the day, as we were stuck on the Moonstone side (not realizing the rides there start closing at 4:10pm when the Moonstone chalet is closed), we were given snowmobile rides back to Mt St Louis!! What a treat!!
The slopes vary from green to black, and between both hills, you can spend a good chunk of the day not going over your traces... LOTS OF FUN, thanks Ken, Charlie, and Security patrol :D

We skied on a Friday afternoon, the place was quite EMPTY, we rode all chairlifts by ourselves, no line-up... The best part of the mountain is the ease of access, right off the 400 Highway (but I would recommend better signage for when the Moonstone chalet is closed - we first drove the wrong way to the other hill!!)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount St. Louis Moonstone also viewed

 

Been to Mount St. Louis Moonstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount St. Louis Moonstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.