We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just a very cool night out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Redoubt

The Redoubt
423 Alexandra St, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
+64 7-871 4768
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Te Awamutu
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Locally themed bar and eatery, which is guaranteed to make your day better. Great New Zealand fare, tap beer, live music and good times.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“It was just a very cool night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It was our final dinner as a 'Regional Team' and this place was cool. Relaxing atmosphere, food was good quality and service was welcoming, engaging. Try the Pork Belly as a main, it was perfect and they have a fine selection of Cuban Government Rum, only the best Comrade!
I liked the style of the establishment, great 'jokes' in the toilets (I kid you not) which just added to the refreshing and relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere, the young Maori barmaid was stunning.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridie880, Owner at The Redoubt, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi there, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Redoubt Bar & Eatery. I apologise you were not happy with your experience.
As I take all reviews very seriously, I have looked into all our dockets and till stored information, and the night in question I have found no evidence of the wait time.
I am also disappointed you weren't impressed with the plates we choose to serve our food in, we feel they are in theme with our rustic style of dinning.
I am a little confused as we don't have a lamb burger on the menu?
As you have visited us before and also given us a excellent review ' It was just a very cool night out!”.
before, I sincerely hope you return and can experience the full fantastic 'Redoubt Experience' you have enjoyed before.
Kind Regards Redoubt Managaement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good alround eating experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I frequent the Redoubt mainly for a few quite afternoon drinks on the weekend and occasionally eat there. Food has always been good as has their service, there pizza's are huge and taste great my wife and I struggle to eat a $20 half pizza between us. We look forward to their wild food challenge every year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent experience staff are great, friendly and give good service. I had the wild food special which was fantastic. Will go back next time in town

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pub Grub At Its Finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

On a busy night this pub did a great job in fitting the four of us in. Food was better that you might expect in a country pub and service from the publican was excellant.

Good selection of beers also.

Recommended in you're nearby

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Redoubt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The best seafood chowder for miles! Great atmosphere and very friendly service. Also parking was no problem.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Redoubt also viewed

Te Awamutu, Waikato Region
Te Awamutu, Waikato Region
 
Te Awamutu, Waikato Region
Te Awamutu, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Redoubt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redoubt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.