We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The warmest welcome you'll ever get” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Workmans Cafe Bar

Workmans Cafe Bar
52 Broadway, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
64 7-888 5498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $26
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome you'll ever get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We've eaten in a lot of restaurants, in a lot of places, in many countries, but I've never had service quite like this. I've had attentive waiters and friendly staff, but never before a head chef who remembered me by name from my booking and, noticing I had turned to look for our waitress, immediately called out that I needed attention. The food was excellent too - fresh, delicious and very generous portions. The atmosphere was casual but cool and funky. But you'll have to book because the word is out and this place is full every night. Hidden away in a small New Zealand town - an absolute gem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Love the atmosphere"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We like to come here for Lunch when passing through and meet people here for Dinner on the odd occasion, we always get a warm welcome from Cid when he is here. Love the atmosphere and he does a great steak very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service and Fod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our favorite cafe during our 2 1/2 week trip to New Zealand. The eggs and coffee were excellent. The staff took the time to visit with us, even explaining that tipping isn't the custom in NZ, and when our teenage boys ordered dessert after breakfast the owner joked and said, "Be Reckless, You're on Holiday." It became our mantra for our trip. The freshly baked desserts were delicious, the eggs bene was exceptionally good, and if you aren't in the mood for breakfast, then the vegetable soup was delicious, too. It makes a perfect place to stop before touring Hobbiton as it was in walking distance from where we boarded our bus from the Matamata I-site. The cafe is full of locals, not tourists.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing culture and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

You can not fault the service or coffee. Every visitor should have coffee here and experience this niche cafe/restaurant. This place is Unique!

The food in the cabinet is fresh. The walls have interesting memorabilia on them. Real towels in the bathrooms. Go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hachioji, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic Lamb !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Don't expect a three stars restaurant around matamata.

But I think this cafe exceeds your expectations because it's a casual cafe style but the taste and volume are quite amazing, especially Lamb !

Tender, Juicy, Beautiful, Large enough, and no Lamb-unique smell !

It's near the i-SITE, which is the NZ official information center for visitors.

Just stop your car at the parking space of i-SITE and cross the road and just go down the town street. You will find out this casual restaurant very soon !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Workmans Cafe Bar also viewed

Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 

Been to Workmans Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Workmans Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.