We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight for Hobbiton” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas to your Saves list
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
128 Broadway, Matamata 3400, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Overnight for Hobbiton”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014


Having just come from Roturua where $105 NZ a night bought us luxury, I was expecting something reAsonable for 100 in Matamata. Got that one wrong.
Our motel room was the smallest I have ever had in the Antipodes or North America. It made business hotel rooms in Japan look spacious. The bed took up half the room. There was no sink by the kettle and fridge so it was very difficult to keep things clean. The shower was appalling: barely any water pressure and almost impossible to get a water temperature between scalding and cold. The kettle stopped boiling way before 100 degrees. Anything good: the bed was comfy.
It wasn't helped by the brusqueness of the guy at the desk who barely wanted to open his mouth to us when we checked in. Visit Hobbiton from Rotorua or stay elsewhere. Ps Hobbiton tour is excellent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello there
In our motel complex we have 20 units with a wide range of rooms, facilities and prices. The room you chose as explained on our website is our smallest and cheapest,but modern with double glazing, a superking bed, aircon, microwave, fridge, T.V. and bathroom. You are right saying the room is small, we agree, that is why it is only $99, "in the centre of town".

As for our "brusqueness",we apologise, we are in the service industry and it's not good enough.
Regards
Diann and Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Didn't expect such a beautiful room. Newly decorated large room with a touch of luxury (even had bath robes). Added bonus was the private spa pool. Was such a wonderful surprise to get such good value for money. Spotlessly clean, comfortable huge bed. Quiet. Have travelled for years around New Zealand staying in Motels and this one is the first one I have given a review. Many thanks to the owner who takes real pride in the place and loves what she does....it shows in every way. The hobbits can keep to their cave I am going to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 7 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thankyou for the time and the effort you've made in writing this review. We were absolutely delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable time.
We do hope you'll be back one day, its lovely having happy people about.
Regards
Diann and Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent little set up. We're from out of town but found it easily. Rooms in well repair, and service and breakfast in the morning was grouse.
Trucks do drive past frequently that can shake the upper level rooms. But this didn't stop me from getting a full nights sleep. Mate said he heard nothing from the lower level room.
Would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thankyou for staying with us while visiting Matamata and we do hope you'll be back one day.
Diann and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The room was a little worn especially the shower where the Seratone was breaking down at the bottom. But a lot of things were great. It has bathrobes & air-conditioning!! There is a spa & pool for those want it. Also a well equipped playground for children. The bed was really comfortable & we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi there
Thankyou for staying with us. Yes, you are right, our standard studios are an older style, waiting to be renovated, but the price reflects this. The good news is, we only have 4 standard units left, and we have already started our next "makeover" with doubleglazing.
Regards
Diann and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here with 2 friends when travelling round New Zealand recently. Very welcoming when we checked in. The rooms were super and the very clean. Location was excellent for walking into Mata Mata. We also used the spa pool. Would definitely recommend people stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thankyou, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many people find the spa very relaxing.
Regards
Diann and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just spent ten days here early Feb, and what a fantastic place to stay, Dianne and Tony made us feel welcome from the first minute to the last, the room we stayed in was spotless roomy, light and nicely decorated. My 2yr old loved the pool and garden in fact if she could have stayed there playing all day she would have done. Great location for every thing, even a washing machine and dryer (blessing when you are traveling back to the UK the last thing you want to do when your back) . Only one criticism we didn't stay long enough!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Paul, thankyou so much for writing this review. We loved having you here and just hope
that one day we may see you living here. Also nice to know that you're back home safely.
Take care.
Regards
Diann and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moranbah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I think it is a couple who run this business, very kind and warm person. Great value for the motel, rooms are clean and tidy. Comfortable stay and there is a apa, a playground for the kids. Family will love it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thankyou for staying with us. We have really tried to make our place family friendly, but at the same time keeping in mind we need to provide a place where couples etc can relax and have "quiet moments".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas

Address: 128 Broadway, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.