We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place not that modern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas to your Saves list
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
128 Broadway, Matamata 3400, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place not that modern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here with the girlfriend the place was nice but a little more basic that we expected with the other reviews. The staff are very nice and the spa was a great way to unwind. The room we were given was disability friendly (though not required by us) with ramps and hand rails and shower and kitchen were all wheelchair accessible, perhaps not all rooms include these facilities and this may be the reason our experience was different. A good location and only a short walk to local shops and i-site which is a pickup location for the Hobbiton Tour. Also a very family friendly vibe with some play equipment and a pool.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOYCE, Owner at Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hi there. Thankyou for staying with us, we thought you were very friendly too. Our 4 standard units are an older style, as explained on our website and on all online engines......this is why they are so much cheaper than the other 16 units. So happy you enjoyed our spa.
Regards Diann and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have stayed in Broadway Motel for a night. The room is very modern and clean. The location is excellent just near to the town centre. We have parked our car at the motel and walked to the information centre to catch the bus to Hobbiton Tour.

There is a common swimming pool and spa for everyone to use.

We love our stay at Broadway Motel and would recommend our friends to stay at this motel if they visit to Matamata.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Nice little place to stop by. We stayed here for one night so we could visit the Hobbiton Movie set early the next morning. Matamata is a great location for this as it is reasonably close to the set and has plenty of restaurants, shops and services located here. The town is located on a main highway and I would imagine this was once a sleepy passing roadside town but had transformed due to the proximity to the Hobbiton movie set area.
Rooms were really modern and clean and had comfy beds. We had our own parking spot right outside our room which handy. This is a small family run place and the staff were really welcoming and nice to talk to.
If I had to say anything negative it would only be the occasional road noise caused from passing trucks in the night and the early morning, however this would apply to most of the hotels along this road. But don't let this put you off as the road noise was not particularly loud and never woke me up at all. The rooms are set back off the road anyway.

Room Tip: Get one as far back from the road as possible to avoid any possible road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our 3 kids loved the playground, trampoline, pool and spa. The room was neat and tidy. We had a room downstairs and only minimal noise reached us from the rooms above - not a problem at all. Our lovely host lent us a dvd player and "The Hobbit" to watch as we had just returned from the movie set tour, which was a lovely touch. A very short walk took us to great restaurants and coffee shops. The playground was the highlight - the kids played out there for hours. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Matamata, NZ is on the global map because it is near the LOTR movie set of "The Shire". Typically this would mean hotels that don't have to work hard to be occupied. That is not the case with the Broadway Motel. We stayed in an upgraded room (#16) which is one of the nicest rooms we stayed at in NZ. Chic and urban was not what we expected but that was the clean look of our suite of rooms (complete with mini kitchen). The price is amazingly affordable for such a refined set of rooms. It is a wonderful find!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suites that are accessed from Milo Street (best for couples).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights to use as our base as we explored the northern part of the north island. The owners were absolutely lovely, the rooms very spacious and had everything one could need. Great location right in town. Would definitely recommend this hotel to those passing through matamata.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The motel is located just outside the town of Matamata where the Hobbit Centre is located and enroute to The Hobbiton, the North island NZ movie set/park - the LOTR trilogy and the Hobbit (soon to be trilogy) were largely shot here and at the Wellington movie set. So, my partner and I were indeed very happy to stay a night at the Broadway...we spent the next day refreshed to explore the movie set attractions above! The motel owner was friendly and even gave us two Wifi Internet access coupons for two devices instead of the assigned one for the studio unit:-)

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the reception if on a budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas

Address: 128 Broadway, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.