We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“matamata break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Cafe

Eat Cafe
Broadway Street, Matamata, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Matamata
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“matamata break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

over 2 days, we had 4 meals @ this lovely cafe' in the main street.
the food was delicious, good coffee and friendly service. nice clean tables & floors also.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent - I eat my words!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The last review I did of this place must have been because I caught them on a bad day. On this second visit, I can't fault the place. Friendly staff, prompt service, the best full breakfast and excellent lunch food too (We took away sandwiches for our journey down to Gisborne).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On our way from Rotovagus to Auckland feeling a little worse for wear after big conference night came across the cafe Eat food is succulent and owner first class
Check out this lamb shank and kumera pie ❤️❤

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Was taken there by a friend, he eats there ALL the time. Wow most beautiful food. Great selection fantastic coffee and service with a smile. Loved it. Ended up going three times in four days. Well done guys you rock.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Options for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I really enjoyed this cafe with so many options from traditional good cafe food to gluten free and raw foods that taste and look really good. The staff were happy and friendly and the cafe was very busy. A lovely afternoon and would be perfect for anyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Cafe also viewed

Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 

Been to Eat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.