We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horse and Jockey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Horse and Jockey Inn to your Saves list
Horse and Jockey Inn
85 Arawa St, Matamata, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Matamata B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Went into restaurant n bar n told there were no tables. She was curt n rude. We went to Indian restaurant ova road. When we looked in restaurant 45 mins later was only half full. We were well dressed n orderly. Lost four adult customers.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseandjockeyinn_12, Owner at Horse and Jockey Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Sometimes we have a large booking and need to keep tables and chairs available.
We are not a 'take away' and don't want to rush people, going out for dinner should be an enjoyable and relaxed experience.
Apologies if you were disappointed, we are not in the habit of turning down business without a genuine good reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Absolutely the cleanest place I've ever stayed - it practically sparkles.

Conveniently located, cheap, with few amenities. Free but limited wifi, no TV or phones and no one on duty at night or on Mondays. There's an emergency number to call, but without a phone, that's difficult to do.

The 'kitchen' is just a refrigerator, sink and electric kettle. Cooking absolutely prohibited, so be aware of that before you book.

Most comfortable bed I ever slept in, though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseandjockeyinn_12, Owner at Horse and Jockey Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We aim to keep our accommodation affordable by only providing the basics, good quality beds, a clean and secure environment, complimentary tea and coffee, 50mb free wifi, additional can be purchased, but most people find this sufficient. We have a small kitchen with a fridge, microwave, tea and coffee making faciliies for our guests to use. Accommodation on Mondays is by appointment only, as the restaurant downstairs is closed on Mondays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed in Matamata so I could visit the Hobiton tour which takes you out to the movie set for the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I wanted somewhere central and the Horse and Jockey certainly is.

The rooms are basic and small but very reasonably priced - I paid NZ$65 for a double with en suite. The rooms are very clean and are upstairs behind a door with an entry system so very secure. The only slight drawback was that the room was very hot with no AC so I had to have the window open all night. This didn't create a problem with noise as I slept very well until about 7am when I started to hear the buses etc - next time I'll stay at the back of the property.

The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming and I had a nice snack and a couple of drinks in the bar that night.

A highly recommended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for a quieter night - neither side have a view so it doesn't matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseandjockeyinn_12, Owner at Horse and Jockey Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, we aim to keep our rooms very compatible and target a market of travellers who 'only need a place to sleep'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The good and the bad! It couldn't be more central, right in the middle of a delightful small NZ town, a block to the visitors centre where the Hobbiton tour leaves from (but check if the tour's on because they were due to start filming the day after we went) and a friendly old fashioned (well, it is NZ) pub. The room (we had the family room with 2 bedrooms) is newly refurbished but some problems: very few power points although they gave us two heaters, we couldn't plug one in the main bedroom and no power point in the bathroom. They forgot to put any hangers in the walk-in closet so such a luxury was wasted. There is a shared kitchen/dining room next door to our room (nobody else used it) but no fridge (!), no knives but there is a toaster and electric jug and lots of tea bags, coffee, table and two chairs and very clean. I asked downstairs for a couple of bowls and spoons for our own cereal, no problems, very obliging but maybe they are just not used to one night stayers. The town and room were very quiet until early the next morning when the road became very busy but after all we were in the middle of a lovely town. Excellent value - it cost $NZ100! so I'm not complaining, it just wasn't 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseandjockeyinn_12, Owner at Horse and Jockey Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
As most of our costumers are 'one night stayers' we aim for tidy, clean and affordable rooms. We have added a fridge to the kitchenette and coathangers in the wardrobe, apologies for this inconvenience. Unfortunately building regulations don't allow us to have cooking facilities upstairs, but we serve lovely food in our downstairs restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Horse and Jockey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey Inn

Address: 85 Arawa St, Matamata, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Horse and Jockey Inn we are proud to be an Award Winning business. We are a family restaurant, tavern, serving good food, lunch and dinner time. Our aim is to create a homely atmosphere, with background music so you can still enjoy a pleasant conversation during your lunch/dinner. We have plenty of space to cater for larger functions, birthdays, anniversaries and so on. We have a great sun facing courtyard for you to enjoy and relax. We have live music playing most Friday nights. On the second floor we offer 15 rooms for accommodation, single, twin, queen and family size, with private or shared bathroom. A small kitchenette with fridge, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities is available for our guests, fire regulations prevent us from offering full cooking facilities, enjoy our food below. Our focus is keeping the rooms simple and affordable, no TV supplied, feel free to watch downstairs. Limited Free Zenbu (50MB) WiFi available, in the general areas. We are in the centre of town an easy walk to catch the free bus from the I site to the Hobbiton Movie set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Jockey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse and Jockey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.