We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Lane Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Save
You added Chestnut Lane Cottage to your Saves list
4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Matamata B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed overnight at Chestnut Lane (not the cottage, but the two rooms in the house) before visiting Hobbiton the next day. Kathleen and John were very welcoming, took care of everything - including setting out homemade biscuits for us the night we arrived! Everything was provided - including heated blankets, toileteries, towels and a sumptuous breakfast the next day. Plus we love to tell our friends that we stayed at the property where some of the cast of "The Hobbit" did :D

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi there and thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family. Best wishes to you all and good luck to the boys for their schooling this year.
Warmest regards Kathleen and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
118
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed only one night here to be on the early morning tour of Hobbit-town.
Relative new housing development area with still a number plots for building. Spacious, tasteful house and decoration in very quiet location and very clean. We had the room in the house (14m2) and the sole use of the spacious bath and shower room (7m2) with separate toilet right next door. We did not stay in the separate cottage. From all 25 B&Bs in NZ this was about the largest living-kitchen area, but we spend a nice evening on the very spacious terrace (30m2) with outlook over fields. Plentiful and cooked breakfast and lots of chatting with owners.
I personally thought the polyester bed sheets were sweaty, but my wife liked their smooth texture.

Room Tip: There is either an in-house room or separate cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello to you both in Amsterdam. Thanks you so much for writing the review for us. We are so pleased you had a happy time at Chestnut Lane Cottage, we enjoyed meeting you - lovely getting to chat with you over breakfast. I am sorry the bed sheets were not so comfortable for you - John feels the same about them. Some of our guests have mentioned they enjoyed sleeping in the micro fibre sheets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Chestnut Lane Cottage last night. It was perfection! Everything was spotlessly clean and modern. Kathleen and John were the perfect hosts. The bed is very comfortable and as we slept the only sound we could hear was the cows mooing in the distance. We woke to a loverly view of the mountains. Kathleen prepared a wonderful breakfast and considered our dietary needs. If you are in the north island make sure you stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage, you will love it!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for writing the lovely review for us so soon after your stay. We enjoyed meeting you both. Thanks for joining us for breakfast taking time to share stories about our families. Hope you had a wonderful time in NZ. Kind regards K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Arrived in Matamata after a very early flight into Auckland. We could not have wished for a better introduction to New Zealand. Kathleen and John were marvellous hosts and the cottage is quite splendid. The decor and furnishings in the lounge, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom are of a high quality and the cottage has its own patio with a beautiful view over fields to the distant hills (where the hobbits are!) We were invited in for afternoon drinks with John and Kathleen and after a very comfortable night and a great breakfast we left, wishing we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend Chestnut Lane cottage

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and thank you for the lovely review.
Great you had a nice stay in our tranquil and relaxing little part of the world. We too enjoyed sharing time with you - It is one of the lovely things about having a B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Delightful stay for my husband and I in the guest cottage. I could live here. Wish we could have stayed longer, but we were lucky to get one night. Book in advance. I loved the decor, furnishings, appliances, and fixtures. I've stayed in a variety of accommodations around the world and this was by far the best stay I could have hoped for during a 3 week trip around New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi there in Chicago. Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us - best wishes to you both, regards K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kathleen and Jim's cottage in February and loved our stay. The surrounding scenery was peaceful and enjoyable, Kathleen's fresh baked scones were delicious, the warm breakfast was fantastic, and everything was just perfect. We had a great time and wished we could have stayed in the cottage for our entire trip. If you can only stay in one B&B while in New Zealand, pick the Chestnut Lane Cottage!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you Esther for writing a review and for choosing to stay with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in New Zealand. You are a delightful couple - best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Chestnut Lane Cottage was the first stop on our two month trip to New Zealand. We arrived after a 30 hour trip and drove the last two hours from Auckland. Kathleen's warm greeting and some homemade banana bread were just what we needed. The separate cottage is sparkling clean and comfortable and wonderfully quiet. We slept soundly and woke to the beautiful cottage and sunny yard.
We stayed for two nights and Kathleen made us a fantastic hot breakfast each morning. We enjoyed her company as she sat and chatted with us as we ate. She filled us in on the town of Matamata and things to see and do.
We toured Hobbiton during the day and it was a quick and easy drive. In the evening we enjoyed happy hour with John, Kathleen and two other guests from England. John and Kathleen made us feel like family and we really enjoyed their company. We wished we had more than two nights at the cottage. If we are lucky to return to New Zealand, we will definitely retun for a longer stay.There is a lot to see in the area, besides Hobbiton.
Our stay here will always be one of our best memories. We highly recommend a stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi there in Buffalo NY. We so enjoyed the social time we had with you both, it was like having old friends come to stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay here. We certainly hope we catch up again someday. Kind regards K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Lane Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.