We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect outdoor setting to enjoy a nice cold drink.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Council Cafe & Bar

Council Cafe & Bar
50 Canada Street, Morrinsville, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Morrinsville
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Restaurant details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect outdoor setting to enjoy a nice cold drink.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went here for lunch and it was great. All staff greeted us on arrival , nice and cheerful too.
We chose to sit out side, the lady who took our orders carried our drinks out to the table as I had my hands full with our 1yo. She also came back with a high chair which I wasn't expecting there to be.
Meals came within 10 minutes ( very quick considering there was atleast 6 other tables of people).
The meals were great value . We ordered the Cajun chicken salad and the steak sandwich, both were great size and very filling.
All topped off with a lovely area to enjoy the sun and our cold beverages in, I would definitely go here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Ive been to council cafe twice recently, both times were very enjoyable.
The menu is varied which is great

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The only place to be on a Monday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Seriously it's about the only place open in Morrinsville on a Monday. Lucky for me it's my first choice anyway. Only scored a 3 for value as I had takeaway and the plates are smaller. My dinning partners Fish and chips were good value with the o e piec option being plenty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place for steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Got told by our hosts that this was a good place to eat.

Overall, good.
- Great ambience
- indoor & outdoor seating
- food servings were decent
- was quite busy and got told by our waiters that the food would take a while. We didn't mind waiting while we had a couple of drinks

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have had quite a number of meals at the Council Cafe and Bar and everytime the meals have been excellent. The food is well presented, tastes great and service is very good. Hence why we continue to go on a regular basis for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Council Cafe & Bar also viewed

Morrinsville, Waikato Region
Morrinsville, Waikato Region
 
Morrinsville, Waikato Region
 

Been to Council Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Council Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.