We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morrinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central Motor Lodge
Save
You added Central Motor Lodge to your Saves list
362 Thames Street, Morrinsville, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I'm not one to really rave about motels to folk I know but I raved about this place. Big room, nicely decorated, modern but cosy & so tidy. Oh and the bath!!! I didn't want to get out :) I arrived later in the evening but this was no trouble. The owners are lovely and so darn friendly. They remembered the reason I was coming to town and asked about it which really impressed me. Thank you for a wonderful night - I will be back.

Room Tip: The room above conference room is seperate so quiet - unless you wish to sleep in as laundry to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Not only is this motel pleasing on the eye as you approach along a busy street, it is also easy to find, very important after a long days driving. The room was very clean and very comfortable, with extra touches, like a chocolate on the pillow ! The stay was made perfect, however, by the friendly welcome and helpful information about the area given by the hosts. They seem genuinely interested in making the traveller feel at home. i will use this motel again.
Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Both Andrea and myself enjoyed our short stay at Jan and David Wetton's motor lodge.
Very clean, modern units with flat screen TV great atmosphere ....and very little road noise

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels over the past year through out NZ. I can honestly say that Central Motor Lodge has been the best accommodation by far. The rooms are very well appointed, spotless and spacious. The owner\managers are very friendly and obliging and the breakfast is superb and delivered on time. I cannot rate this place highly enough. If you are coming to the area you must stay here..

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We arrived in Morrinsville by mistake because I let my travelling companion navigate - and yes, HE has trouble with maps!

While it is a small town, and not much to do, there are some lovely restaurants and cafes if you do go there.

There are a few motels along the main street but we decided to stay at the Central Motor Lodge, if only because the rooms were set back off the street (hence quiet) and it was less than a block from the town centre.

Our host, Jan was lovely, and was more than helpful with recommendations for restaurants and interesting places to see.
We ate dinner at Jans top choice, Chambers Restaurant, housed in the old council chambers building. Its a 2 minutes walk from the hotel and the food, wine and service are all good, so it is highly recommended.

The rooms at the Central Motor Lodge are large and quiet and very clean. We had a queen size bed which was very comfortable. There is a small kitchenette and a tv with cable. The bathroom is large and has a great shower. There is off street parking outside the rooms.

All up for $100 a night, including a light breakfast, it was great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Motor Lodge

Address: 362 Thames Street, Morrinsville, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Morrinsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Morrinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Motor Lodge and Conference Centre is Morrinsville's newest, upmarket motel, offering apartment-style accommodation in rural Waikato, ideal for family holidays and for the discerning business traveller. Our complex is renowned for providing quality accommodation at realistic rates. Central Motor Lodge & Conference Centre has 14 spacious, smoke free motel units, all with broadband connection and 22-channel TV including Freeview HD plus digital 5 Sky digital channels. You will find all our impeccable rooms and stylish suites appointed in the finest of decor. Choose from a standard, superior or executive rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.