We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth More than One Night's Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Owl Accommodation

Golden Owl Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paeroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Owl Accommodation
Save
You added Golden Owl Accommodation to your Saves list
3 Moresby Street | Karangahake, Paeroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth More than One Night's Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a terrific friendly place to stay, giving us the freedom to self-cater when we were tired of eating out. The room was spacious and comfortable with own en-suite, king bed and separate sitting area. It was probably the closest room to the road, but I didn't notice any noise and enjoyed deep sleeps during our 3-night stay. The communal kitchen and lounge area was roomy and well-equipped, giving us a great space to meet other guests and socialise - plenty of interest and laughs as a result. Our hostess Anne-Marie could not have been more helpful and was ready to meet any requests in full measure. The bike hire was very reasonably priced, with lock, helmet and hi-vis vest thrown in. I spent two days on the bike exploring the trail and picturesque surrounds and of course the awesome gorge. Plenty of history too, in this neck of the woods. I'd come straight back to Golden Owl next time I'm in the area. Yogi the Kitten is heartbreakingly cute!

Room Tip: King Bed Room on the Ground Floor offers plenty of space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muriwai, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our group of eight have just had a very comfortable stay at the Golden Owl Lodge. Our only regret was that we should have stayed two nights instead of one. This area is by far the most scenic part of the Rail Trail and we wished that we had allowed more time to explore it by foot as well as cycle.
John and Judy's hospitality was second to none. John kindly locked up our bikes overnight and Judy investigated medical help for a sick member of our group. We look forward to staying there again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

For the price we paid, I wasn't expecting a great deal but I was seriously (and pleasantly) surprised. It was incredibly clean, the room we booked (number 4) was cosy and warm (thanks to the heater provided) and we were provided with a towel and a face cloth each. It wasn't one of the ones with an en suite, but that wasn't an issue, as there are two (very clean!) showers, a separate toilet and a separate vanity so we didn't have to wait in line for those facilities. The kitchen was large with two stove/ovens and was well equipped, including free milk, tea, coffee and milo, as well as a few other things like salt and pepper. Having said that, for those who didn't bring their own food they had a small supply of food items for purchase. There was also a TV in the lounge but it seemed a shame to turn that on with the cosy, sit by the fire and read your book atmosphere (which was lit when we arrived from our biking along the Hauraki trail) The place probably accommodated about a dozen people when full, which meant it wasn't overcrowded or noisy and it felt like staying at someone's home! The owners were attentive and lovely and I happily recommend this place as a fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 4 which was farthest away from the road and we didn't have any issues with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Golden Owl as part of cycling the Hauraki Rail Trail. Value for money the Golden Owl couldn't be bettered. The rooms were spotless with electric blankets on each bed (even the bunks). The lounge/dining room was cosy with plenty of books and games if required. The kitchen was spotless and extremely well equipped. The hospitality we received from John and Judy couldn't be better. They provided milk at no extra charge, and each night the fire was lit making the whole place warm. The showers were hot and powerful and our bikes were looked after in their garage and brought out for us in the morning. Anyone staying here who found any fault would be very hard to please. I will be back.

Room Tip: They have rooms to suit most people's budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Owl Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Owl Accommodation

Address: 3 Moresby Street | Karangahake, Paeroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Paeroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Paeroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Owl Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.