We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, nice courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Cafe

Courtyard Cafe
72 Normanby Road | Paeroa, Paeroa, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 restaurants in Paeroa
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've eaten here several times. In summer the courtyard is great, although a little disconcerting to have to walk through the kitchen to get there. The last time we sat inside and I really enjoyed a beetroot, feta and walnut salad with a hot chocolate. This is definitely somewhere I will continue to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    6
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hauraki Rail Trail Stop Off.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stop in Paeroa and watch the world go by with great coffee and homemade food. From home made scones to great salads this little place has it all. My wife revelled in the lasagne whilt the beef roll I had was excellent. Stop off youwon't be disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Could be easy to miss...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

In Paeroa shopping we asked a local a good place to eat. They suggested the Courtyard Cafe and we weren't disappointed. There were 3 of us and two of us chose the vegetable fritters while the third went for a pottle of macaroni cheese. The fritters came with a small side salad and beet root chutney they were made fresh and were tasty and light the macaroni cheese also came with beet root chutney and was declared yummy. If you didn't want to wait there was a lovely selection in the cabinet to choose from. A slight quirk to the cafe is that you walk through the kitchen to get to the courtyard.......nothing is hidden in this cafe. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“World famous in New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Paeroa is the original source of L&P lemon fizzy drink, now made elsewhere, but Paeroa thrives on it. Just passing through both ways on our trip around the Cape and called in here because it looked busy and welcoming. Deliberately called in the 2nd time to have lunch having enjoyed our first visit. Only small but on the main drag of this busy and smart little town. The courtyard is undercover and out the back of the restaurant. You actually have to pass through the kitchen to get there, but that's the way it is. Seats at the front of the cafe also. Plenty of home made cakes and good choice of food for lunch. On both visits the courtyard was buzzing and we were lucky enough to find a table. The food was fresh and well presented. Would certainly go back again if passing through Paeroa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtyard Cafe also viewed

Paeroa, Waikato Region
Paeroa, Waikato Region
 
Paeroa, Waikato Region
Paeroa, Waikato Region
 

Been to Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.