We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de l'Hostreiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Domaine de l'Hostreiere to your Saves list
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route du Cimetiere Americain, 14710 Colleville-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Knebworth Herts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We didn't stay at this Hotel but stopped there for a light lunch after visiting Omaha Beach and the War Graves. It was quite late for lunch and the restaurant was empty and appeared to have finished serving but we were warmly welcomed by a charming French waitress who told us we could have lunch .. The food was excellent, with a very good and reasonably priced menu.. As it was early in the Season the Hotel Pool still had its winter cover on but in general the Hotel looked as though it would make a very pleasant stopping place for a visit to the Normandy Beaches.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed a single evening in April 2012, apparently early in the season. We were without a car, so for the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach this was really the only option. The room was large and clean but cold. As with most places we stayed in Europe, while the room radiators are under your control, they are often shut off at night by a main timer.

We had lunch at the restaurant before walking to the cemetery. Lunch was good but expensive. Without transportation you're kind of stuck, as there is nothing else within easy walking distance. Either through misunderstanding or a language barrier we missed the closing time for dinner and made due with packaged sandwiches and fruit purchased from the bar.

The place is lovely and very convenient to the cemetery but remember that without a car you've nowhere else to go for meals and you should plan accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We made reservations here a long time before our trip, based solely on its proximity to the American Cemetery at Omaha Beach. After reading some reviews, I thought I had made a mistake. I was wrong. This hotel is not only very close to many WWII historical places, the staff is excellent. After a long trip from Paris that, due to road construction, accidents and traffic "deviations" (we call them "detours), seemed to take forever, Veronique welcomed us with open arms and an infectious smile. The rooms were clean and quiet; the staff was extremely co-operative and helpful; the food was great. What's not to like? And it was less that a mile from the cemetery. After we got settled, Veronique recommended a restaurant in the area that served the best French onion soup I've ever had. That was L'Omaha Restaurant, for which we've also written a review. I would recommend this hotel with alacrity and without hesitation, and if I ever go back to Normandy, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Visited the American Cemetery, had lunch here (which incidently they don't understand what a vegetarian is) out of desperation. Very overpriced for what it was, chilli con carne (hubby) was most agreeable, mine, bruschetta with cheese and toppings, arrived with meat on it. Had asked for no meat or fish. Language barrier IS a problem, they don't seem to understand anything you ask them. Whilst there, we wanted to do more sightseeing so we asked to see the suite, ordered coffee whilst we looked - ten minutes later we said we would take it, so we knew we had somewhere to sleep that night. Twenty five minutes later, they had taken my card details and I went back to my husband and coffee (no coffee) asked again WHEN the waitress arrived, and eventually after about 45 minutes, got the coffee, and it's cold!

Came back from the museum (wonderful day out) and put bags in the room, it had a musty smell about it, and there were only small towels and medium sized towels for pool use, and indoor use. The bathrobe I wore had a lighter in the pocket which worked, so it hadn't been washed. The TV was all in French, only one BBC2 News channel to watch, which played over and over. When we arrived back at 6.30pm, the restaurant was shut, lucky we'd been to the supermarket and got some snacks, or we'd have been totally scuppered. Also, there was no milk or fridge, in this 'suite'.... For the price we paid, near £200 for the night, I would have thought it would have more on offer. Would I stay or eat here again? Absolutely not. The pool area was lovely, and refreshing after a day in the car, but even that didn't endear itself to us. The sauna in the room was a nice touch, and we used it, but considering the general upkeep of the 'suite', it needs totally rethinking, it's too much crammed in, and tacky in parts, with other common areas being lovely. I would advise anyone needing a 'head down place' it's fine, but I wouldn't go again, i'd find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend at this hotel, which we used as a base to explore Omaha Beach and surrounding areas. We were a party of five, three adult siblings, and two ten-year-old children. We booked two sigle rooms and a family room.
The hotel is based in one of those large Norman farmhouses with outbuildings around a courtyard. Accomodation is partly inside a converted outbuilding, and partly in three self-contained cottage-style units set in lushly and expertly maintained grounds. The hotel offers a swimming pool, sauna, billiards, ping-pong etc, but frankly, given the amount of things to see and do in the surrounding region, no guests seemed to hang around for long in the mornings.
We were based in the cottages. These have four rooms each, all seperate, each with its own front door. The top two in each cottage are accessed by exterior timber stairs, which end in a terrace outside the door. Each room has a cafe-style table and chairs outside,
The rooms were large and immaculate, the fittings and fixtures were all in good order. I've stayed in hotel rooms smaller than the bathroom. The beds are high quality. The design of the accommodation gave our stay the feel of a cottage-style vacation rental rather than a conventional hotel stay. It gave us independence and flexibility.
The breakfast is served in the main building, we found it plentiful and satisfying, a buffet-style continental offering of a range of breads, cakes, cold meats, cheese and eggs, plenty of tea and coffee, with the option of stocking up with snacks for lunch. Patrick, the owner, faxed an order for Croissants and baguettes for us to the local baker overnight, and these were waiting for us on our table the next morning.
The deep rural setting is one of the hotel's attractions, but also a potential drawback. The restaurant does not serve dinner, so if you want to eat out, and don't want to drink and drive, the nearest restaurants are a pricey (50 Euro return trip for a party of five) ten-minute taxi ride to Port-en-Bessin. Plusses are that the restaurants and the Port are worth the trip, and the taxi firm will commit to bringing you back to the hotel, just remember to get a business card from the driver. An option for late-arriving guests is to stock up on food and drink in a supermarket along the way to the hotel, and just self-cater when you are settled in the rooms. This we would especially recommend if you have children with you, as you may not be up to just turning around and heading straight back out for dinner, after a long drive to get there. Its also a way of stretching the budget.
We'd strongly recommend that you alert Patrick and Veronique, if you are arriving especially late. Given the location, many guests have long journeys to get there. The Reception might be closed if you arrive late, but Patrick says he'll wait up into the small hours, if he knows you are coming.

Room Tip: The cottages offer the best option, the rooms in the main building are fine, but we loved the flexib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel for the second part of our two week holiday in France. We extended our stay to three nights as it turned out to be an excellent location for exploring all of the Normandy sights from St. Mere Eglise, to the American cemetery, beaches, and Bayeux. We even took a day trip over to Mt. Saint Michel. We enjoyed free drinks at nearby Omaha Beach Cafe courtesy of the hotel owner. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Good value and a prime location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Second time we a group of frinds stayed here , last time a few years ago , wonderful stay and great dinner . This time no dinner , infact the bar shuts at 8pm !! Like most we were visiting the American War cementary and though the hotel is on the doorstep it is miles from anywhere . This means a trip to either Bayeux or Port en Bessin for dinner . The hotel owner did arrange a taxi for our group into Bayeax and a brassiere for dinner which was great but a 35 euro taxi fare ! Rooms big, bathroom nice but very thin towels . Breakfast was very good , but real shame no dinner , I'd sadly recommend staying in Bayeax if visiting the cemetary , which itself is stunning .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de l'Hostreiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de l'Hostreiere

Address: Route du Cimetiere Americain, 14710 Colleville-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Colleville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colleville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de l'Hostreiere 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de l'Hostreiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De l Hostreiere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de l'Hostreiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.