We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta GO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial

Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial
Saint Laurent Sur Mer, 14710 Colleville-sur-Mer, France
0033-0-231516200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial like an insider
Private Tour
$88*
and up
Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking Omaha Beach, the launching point of the U.S. invasion of Normandy, this cemetery contains the graves of 9,386 American soldiers who died at Normandy and a touching memorial to another 1,557 whose bodies were never recovered.
Oakdale, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You gotta GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

There are no words to describe it, you just flat out have to go see it for yourself. Make sure that you allocate 3-4 hours to this place to see it and experience it in full. If you plan on going to this place from a cruise ship..dont. See France by car. Thats the best way. Cruise ships bus you in and only give you about an hour to see the sights like this place and Eiffel Tower in Paris. By the way you have to pick one or the other. We rented a car in Paris, spent a week there the leisurely drove to the Normandy area and spent 4 days along the coast here. We were not rushed and we spent time at each monument. We saw the people from the cruises running up, taking a pic then running back to see the next because they had only an hour or so. Sad. If you go here make sure to take the trip a little more south and see Mont St.Michel! Just get a GPS with euro maps and GO! You only live once!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,286
    158
    16
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“At Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We made our visit to the Cemetery last on our excursion into Normandy. After experiencing the horrors of war...visiting most of the landing sites of the Allied troops, museums, walking the beaches, we visited the brave soldiers of WWII resting in peace in our National Cemetery.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Leansville
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A moving visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited the American Cemetery which had a visitor center at the entrance. The visitor center was appealing with real items displayed, video, touch screen computers, etc. We then walked out to the cemetery which was beautiful and seems to go on forever. Parts of it overlooks Omaha beach. Make sure to walk along that area and look for the displays which show the invasion landing information. We were at the cemetery around 4 or 4:30 and were lucky enough to watch them take the flag down from the flagpole while taps was playing - talk about teary eyes!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can one say about this place!!!!! Take your time to see the America cemetery. The museum is very moving as it describes the lives of individuals.... Ensure you walk down to the cliff top... It is such a beautiful place now... and you are here thanks to these heroes!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa beach, florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Day trip to Normandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

While in Paris, we hired a driver to take us to the American Cemetery in Normandy. It was drizzling that day (a usual occurance) , but with an umbrella, we were able to spend time walking through the cemetery. My husband is a Vietnam Vet, so the thing that most affected him was to stand on the cliff and look at the beach, then turn around and look at the cemetery and realize how many of those that landed on the beach are resting in the Cemetery. As with Arlington, it is a sobering experience to see how many young people have been lost to war. For me, it was also educational. I didn't realize that the Cemetery is actually American soil, a gift from France. At least that is what our driver told us. The maps in the open pavilion in the cemetery really helped me visualize the impact of the forward troops as well as those who landed on the beach. Once in the visitor's center, the hour by hour account of the invasion pulled the map details into focus. There are several small movies about the invasion and those who lost their lives in it. Prepare to be moved to tears. As with most war venues I have visited, I continue to be disturbed by man's inhumanity to man.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial also viewed

Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
 

Been to Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.