We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous property and wonderful lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Tamadot
Save
You added Kasbah Tamadot to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Asni
Montreal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Fabulous property and wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I and our 18 year old son took a day trip to Imlil from Marrakech and stopped by to have lunch after our morning hike. Our driver tried to talk us out of the idea (presumably because he would not get a commission ) but we insisted. Our only regret was that we did not schedule at least one overnight at this magnificent location. The exterior of the property is very close to the main road and gives no hint of the delights that await beyond the gate. The property is every bit as stunning as on its website and then some.We were given our choice of table on the patio with unobstructed views of the snowy Atlas Mountains and their lovely swimming pool. Service was attentive and welcoming. The food was excellent and the view-sublime. My only criticism was that my rack of lamb was cold! Normally I would have sent it back, but as I was starving and didn't want to wait, I enjoyed it anyway and contented myself with the view which reminded me in some ways of being in Interlaken. Afterwards we toured the grounds and were charmed. I was afraid that the guests might be rather "nouveau riche", but the guests we saw were quiet, low key and refined. We look forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    56
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
68
328
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed four nights at the Kasbah Tamadot and after the colourful chaos of Marrakech it is a wonderful place to chill. Everything is done to a very high standard and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a room in the Kasbah overlooking one of the courtyards and was very comfortable and everything you could wish for in products etc. Everyday there was a "gift" from the Hotel. The food was Moroccan but excellent. The position is perfect with wonderful views both up and down the valley and lovely gardens to wander through. I enjoyed a Hamman in the spa and the pools are excellent. It is expensive but if you wish to go somewhere really special and spoil yourself I would recommend you give it a go - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in Kashab itself were lovely and less expensive that the tented rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are in the Marrakech area you may feel obliged to drop in at the heavily-proclaimed "Richard Branson's retreat in the Atlas Mountains" - it says so on the door. But this perhaps is indicative of what you will find inside, a showy hotel/restaurant run as a business as part of the Virgin Limited exclusive chain. So fabulous old kasbah, stunning public rooms, pools, great outlook on the Atlas mountains, but is it worth it for the price?
That will be your main decision. With basic doubles at more than 500 euro/night, climbing to the 'berber tent' with private balcony and jacuzzi at more than 1200 euro/night, you might decide that your money is better spent elsewhere. When we were there, much of the clientele seemed to be palpably rich and noisy Americans saying 'look where we can afford to stay'. Not our sort of vibe.
Its location is about 50 minutes from Marrakech, beyond Asni but before Imlil, and you can't miss the fortress-like walls and security guard on the left. A bit in the middle of nowhere. If you like trekking there is masses to do around, and at least you will have luxury to return to, but don't expect a range of other eateries in the area, or quaint villages you can walk to. Taxis will bring you here from the airport, but then you are stuck - better to have a rental car of your own. The road is nothing to be frightened of, and is nothing like as manic as Marrakech itself.
The lunch menu is good enough, but no sandwiches or snacks, and the food and service were excellent, but you would get tired of it after a couple of days. Wine was 80 dirham (8 euro) a glass, indicative of the overall price levels, ie very high.
So we are glad that we stopped for a pleasant lunch, but my credit card would melt at the prospect of an overnight stay. Don't expect to bump into Sir Richard, although he does visit a couple of times each year.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the 'tents' if your finances will stretch to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed at Kasbah Tamadot and enjoyed it very much. The amenities and landscaped grounds are amazing with breathtaking views. Beautiful indoor and outdoor pool, peacocks walking around the grounds, fountains and pools filled with rose petals. We had a treatment at the spa and it was wonderful. Not too far a drive from Marrakesh and well worth a trip to explore the countryside.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for lunch on spec and were given short shrift at the reception desk when we notified them of our intentions. "Full up" we were told, but not taking 'no' for an answer we went for a look see and there were very few punters inside or outside, so why we were given the brush off at the door is anyone's guess, being respectably dressed and all. We had a drink in a bar upstairs by a half empty dining room. The only friendly soul was the girl in the souvenir shop who smiled and spoke good English. On the plus side the views were spectacular and there is a fine looking pool. The rooms were probably very comfortable. We had intended to ask for a look but decided not to dignify the place with further interest. On balance, first impressions being what they are, one to miss.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sir Richard Branson knew what he was doing when he bought this place and set it up as a exclusive and luxurious retreat with beautiful views in Morocco. The food was delicious, the place easier to get to than expected from Marakech, but if the weather turned nasty (which is unlikely most of the year) you could feel very distanced here. On the other hand, romance goes hand in hand with this place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful lunch at this hotel, the food,service with a smile in an idyllic place what more could anyone want! We will be back to stay. The La Mamounia recommended this hotel which is also a 6star establishment but not so peaceful.

Room Tip: N/A as we were only there for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Address: BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Tamadot 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tamadot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.