We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Tamadot
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Tamadot to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this for a birthday celebration and our table was set in a beautiful private area, bedecked with flowers and enjoying stunning views. The lunch rolled into the afternoon - very relaxed and excellent food and service. Afterwards we took a mule trek - great fun. We recommend highly.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    51
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
290
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Kasbah Tamadot is in the Atlas Mountains in Morocco in the district of Asni. It is one of the most beautiful places to look at and to stay at. We were there from 5th to 10th August. You are met by some of the nicest people, who are there to look after your every need.
We stayed in one of the new Berber tents. We were officially 'glamping' the tent had air conditioning, a large lounge, an enormous bed, a roll-top bath, a large shower, twin sinks and spring loaded loo seats that closed gradually. Outside we large private terrace with two sun loungers, a table and chairs and an umbrella for shade. I was almost completely private. From our tent we had superb views of the mountains and the village across the valley. Some of the Berber tents have a plunge pool. As do some of the rooms and these rooms also have a private terrace.
The Kasbah has two swimming pools, in and outside and a large outside Jacuzzi. They have developed a terraced area with cushioned mats and cushions and will turn this into an outside cinema. This does not disturb anyone not watching the film as those who are are given earphones.
Several of the staff recognised us even though our last visit was 4 years ago. The staff pride themselves on their hospitality and service. If you want something they will get it. an example of good service was that the TV did not work properly Within 5 minutes of my reporting this there was an electrician there checking it. He put a new aerial socket in but the problem was not sorted he apologise and said that the problem was outside and would be fixed as soon as possible. By this time we were going to dinner. When we returned from dinner the TV was in perfect working order.
The food was very good and incredibly hot. Luckily were had all of our evening meals on the roof terrace which was beautiful. Breakfast is served on the bar terrace, which is shaded. The breakfasts were always good and if you wanted something off menu they would make it especially there was a choice that suited meat eaters and vegetarians the waiters were very efficient but not intrusive. I will always chat to the staff and get to know their names. All of the staff were friendly and always had a smile on their faces.
Other facilities the Kasbah has is an excellent spa we had three treatments carried out by Norah who did her job very well. There is a DVD library with some of the latest films. All of the soft drinks in the mini bar are complimentary. There is a little used lounge at the front of the Kasbah this has an honesty bar, a snooker table, an enormous TV, sound system and lovely chairs to lounge in. There is also a large terrace with beautiful all round views of the valley and mountains.
I would recommend the Kasbah Tamadot to anyone who wants to be looked after and de-stress.
Excellent!!

Room Tip: There is an excellent shop just outside the Tamadot if you walk down a small road that is opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fantastic place to relax. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave it is hard to fault anything.

We opted for the full board package and were pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food. I am sure we put on a few extra pounds with sumptuous three course lunches and dinner.

The spa was also excellent with my wife enjoying both the hamman and a massage. According to her it was one of the best massages she has ever had. Make sure you ask to do the massage in the special room overlooking the valley.

Getting there and returning to the airport is simple and booking the transport in advance is a must.

Finally, as it was low season, we were able to negotiate a room upgrade.

We cant wait to try the other Branson retreats.

We will be back.

Room Tip: The Tafouk deluxe suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ROOMS: Stayed there for 2 nights, and ended up being upgraded the first night and then again the second. We stayed in the main complex (not the tents) in a basic level suite. Both of our 2 rooms were absolutely stunning, impeccably clean, with amazing toiletry amenities (5 “hers” and 2 “his” bottles), fantastic shower and tub combo, living room area, wonderful down pillows and comforter, and classic Arabic decorations (attention to detail is what separates this hotel from every other place I’ve ever stayed). If you have the opportunity (and money) to stay in one of the 9 Berber “tents” that are separated from the main building of the resort, DO IT. We got a tour of them our last morning and words cannot describe how lovely the spaces were.

RESORT: The grounds are stunning. It’s nestled in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains in beautifully landscaped area complete with an animal farm (go in and meet Mohamad who has been working there 24 years and will let you pet and feed all the animals – camel, mules, goats, etc.), 2 astroturf tennis courts, gardens, indoor and outdoor pool, reflecting pool, library, movie room, multiple bars, rooftop terrace, poolside terrace, etc. For a resort that touts as many amenities as this one does, they maintain a very quaint feel. The staff is insanely helpful and friendly and will bend over backwards to make your stay even better. There are 120-something employees, 90% of them are Berbers and live in the surrounding villages, and almost all of them have been working there since the resort opened (far before Branson took over and renovated).

FOOD: Because the resort is fairly isolated (apart from a few surrounding Berber villages), your only choice is to eat at the resort. There’s an option to have 3-course fixed menu for lunch and dinner (breakfast is included in a standard package), but we would recommend skipping as it’s a bit overpriced and you won’t want that much food (there’s a great a la carte menu for lunch, for instance). We were there two nights and had our first dinner a la carte by the reflecting pool (covered in roses). Highlight was the scallops. The second night, we had a fixed price 6-course meal on the rooftop terrace (you should go there for sunset even if you’re not going to eat there). Highlights were: deconstructed beef wellington, white fish (not too buttery), and cheese panacotta. Note that the menu changes from a la carte to fixed from international to traditional Moroccan, etc. every night so you will not repeat a meal. Note: Free and unlimited items - beer, white, red, and rose wine in your mini fridge (the rose was our favorite and could easily hold its own in restaurants in the US), espresso maker in-room, snacks in living room area (best almonds EVER, biscuits, and dried apricots), and most importantly given the heat, both flat and sparkling water (in-room as well as whenever you sat down anywhere in the complex).

SURROUNDING AREA: The hotel offers guided hiking excursions of various lengths around neighboring Berber villages. Some include a packed picnic lunch, and others include a traditional meal in a Berber home. Caution against going on too long of a hike and missing out on time you could spend at the infinity pool. My boyfriend and I (who are both very active) ended up opting out of the guided tours and took a 6.5km hike up and around the mountain closest to the resort. It took 1.5 hours (though the hotel said it would take 2.5) and the hotel provided us with water bottles and direction (although none was needed as it’s a national park and very clearly marked). We had the opportunity to see some wild Kashmir goats as well as stunning panoramic views of the valley.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Truly idyllic. This hotel is so tranquil, the staff so helpful and really does indulge you. We took our 12 year old and 15 year and stayed in the Master Suite. Fearful that it maybe too quiet we were pleasantly surprised at the amount to do and did not miss the fact that there were no tv's in the room. We've been asked to return. The food was superb and the fact that you eat in different locations around the hotel made dining in the evening a wonderful experience. Only criticism was the breakfast weren't great but that was the only grumble.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Taking a bumpy cab ride from the airport, to an oasis in the middle of a dessert was no mirage. It was spectacular. Pulling up, we were immediately escorted inside to an exquisite retreat within.
Beautifully appointed rooms in the Moroccan style, with service at your fingertips for whatever one needs at any time. Owned now by Sir Richard Branson, it is a retreat to hard to beat.

Room Tip: select one overlooking the pool or the wading pool filled with rose petals
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The most beautifully appointed and run hotel that we have ever stayed in. I cannot hand on heart find anything that was not perfect. So hard to put into words how this place makes you feel but it is on of the very few hotels that I have a yearning to return to. Our three children were made very welcome by the exceptional staff. We spent three glorious days in this oasis of calm.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual and all spectacularly furnished but if appropriate the Berber tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Address: BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Tamadot 5*
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tamadot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.