We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super duper hotel, but the concierge applied silly dress rules” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Tamadot
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“super duper hotel, but the concierge applied silly dress rules”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is truly stunning and unique.

Brilliant design with views over the beautiful if challenging landscape.
The furnishings are very comfortable, food and bevs are served of the highest quality, but service is just a little bit sniffy especially for a Virgin establishment.

We arrived with our young, intelligent guide who was refused entrance as he was wearing a shirt without a collar, otherwise he was as smart as a young man in his 20s should be....... I guess they are not aware of Richard Bransons's personal dress rules, our guide a local Berber who had just returned from a study trip to the UK was embarrassed, and so were we.

Quite frankly we will not return ever.

Sheer snobbery or maybe it was even worse than that?.

Room Tip: Dont forget your collar and tie..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Kasbah Tamadot, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I was very surprised and sorry to read your comments about your arrival at reception as we don’t have a dress code so wouldn’t expect this sort of misunderstanding to take place. As I can’t pin down when this happened to offer you a better explanation, I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and would be grateful if you could let me know a way of getting in touch directly so that we can find a time to talk.

Many thanks
Vincent Padioleau
Vincent.Padioleau@kasbahtamadot.virgin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    51
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
44
271
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sir Richard Branson has created the perfect sanctuary only 45 minutes away from the bedlam and noise that is Marrakech. Greater at the airport by Abdullah who whisked us away to the air conditioned luxury of a Toyota Land cruiser for the scenic journey up the winding mountain roads to The bustling market town of Asni. Five minutes outside of the town you get the your first glimpse of the Kasbah with its domed towers and terracotta facade.
The lobby, with its antiquities and vaulted ceilings serves as the reception, where a friendly Berber greeting awaits and a chilled glass of champagne sat on one of the many comfortable sofas around the reflection pool with its rose petals and gentle lapping sound.
Our luggage is taken to our room, whilst we taken on a tour of the property, sumptuous communal lounges, extensive roof terrace with its raging fire pits, spa, indoor pool, gym with panoramic views (never used) outdoor pool and bar and a Berber tent housing honesty bar, pool table and TV (not that it's ever needed).
Our room, no. 26 (Azmara) has a spectacularly ornate ceiling, and dual aspect view of the valley with its stony dry river bed and surrounding mountain ranges and a small balcony.The room has every amenity one could need, nothing is overlooked, a real haven to spend moments of calm listening to the Bose sound system and provided CDS.The well stocked, 'free' mini bar, amazingly comfortable bed, wardrobes complete with Berber robes and Baboushes for the chilly evenings and the deepest bath one could ever wish for would surely be enough for most, but believe it or not there are far more spectacular rooms and Berber tents for those with deep pockets.
The service at Tamadot is impeccable, they really can't do enough for you and considering the majority of people here have come from local villages and never been trained or experienced such luxury it's real testament to how they have been coached and adapted. Sir Richard is their King, they love him for what he has brought to the community and the surrounding areas, yet this place lacks pretention and stuffiness that may go hand in hand with some 5 star resorts.
There is an extensive list of tours and excursions for those wiling to leave behind the splendour and isolation. We embarked upon a day trip to Marrakech and quad biking in the red dust Atlas Mountains, 3 nights is just not enough to experience this place to the max.
What ever your desire, you can find it at Kasbah Tamadot, a place we hope to come back to. One of my most favourite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: I simply cannot believe there is a bad or better room, 26 featured in many of the brochures has subl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying in Marrakech and took a day trip to the Atlas Mountains and stopped for lunch here . What a great view overlooking the valley on the terrace . Great food and great service. Maybe stay here for a few days next time we are in Morocco . Not a lot round the hotel its an oasis in the mountains so maybe not the place for a long stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I am a bit late in submitting my review, we stayed 19-24 Sep. When you arrive you are shown around the Hotel and it is just jaw dropping. As the days go by, everyone who arrives have the same jaw dropping expressions.

The staff are the best I have ever met. They have been trained to perfection, but with the warmth and pride they have Working in the Tamadot.

I have put on half a stone in weight due to the food being superb.

Everything I have to say about the Tamadot is faultless.

We stayed for 5 nights and this gives you plenty of time to savour the Tamadot. We still had tons more to see.

I miss going to see the camels, mule and donkeys and Parsley. They are the luckiest animals in Morroco.The local Saturday market is a must to visit and quite an experience.

Easy Jet will be flying from Bristol soon, so we will be able to visit again.

We met some wonderful people, especially the Canadian couple who now live in California.

Richard and Eve can confidently be extremely proud of their Team at the Tamadot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had spotted the Kasbah on the internet a couple of years ago and promised myself if I ever won the lottery this was the place to go. Well, I haven't won the lottery but certainly did hit the jackpot when my partner and I decided to get married, we thought it was the perfect excuse to book the Romance Package at the kasbah and add on another night or two for good measure.
From the minute we were met by our driver who picked us up from Riad Le Clos Des Arts we were treated like Royalty. Our upgraded room (no 34) was amazing. Champagne on ice, huge two level terrace overlooking the reflecting pool and the main grounds of the kasbah, fabulous little touches like the leather slippers to take home, sunhats on the bed - it was amazing.
The manager met us and explained that while were there we were not to treat the Kasbah as a hotel but as our home. I cannot praise the staff enough, every member of the Kasbah family was fantastic. They took pride in everything they did and I can honestly say that our 6 days there were the most special of my life. The only holiday I have been on where I cried when I had to leave (slightly embarrassed).
From the quality of our room to the turn down service at night - gift on the bed and Louis Armstrong on the iPod to the wonderful food and facilities. i could not find fault with anything and can't wait to return. No, it isn't cheap but it represents superb value for money and if I had paid twice the amount it would still have been worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 34. Fantastic terrace and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Kasbah Tamadot was spotted by Eve Branson who identified the stunning potential that this location has. The views from the property of the surrounding countryside and Atlas Mountains are superb. Very tastefully decorated throughout, it has been lovingly restored and has an air of tranquility. The restaurant has a good a la carte menu with regular theme nights to supplement as well though nothing seemed to phase them even when asked by one client for a Caesar salad (not on menu)

There is plenty to do either from relaxing by the pool to trekking with or without mule. We did a mule trek and were treated to outstanding views of the mountains. Our guide Mohamed took us to his home to share a cup of mint tea - nothing touristy just a realisation of how lucky we are.

This is a delightful Kasbah offering a unique insight into local culture and one that I would highly recommend

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Kasbah Tamnadot is a beautiful luxury hotel set in the High Atlas Mountains with stunning views. The hotel itself is very beautiful with traditional architecture and sumptuous furnishings.

Our room (21) had the most amazing painted ceiling and was beautifully decorated, it also had the benefit of a small balcony and views across the grounds to the mountains.There was a welcome drink of our choice on arrival and a free mini bar in the room which was a nice touch.

The staff were very friendly and the general manager was there to greet us on our arrival and mingled regularly with the guests which is one of the elements that raises this hotel above its maximum 5 star classification.

I would recommend at least 2 nights here to get the benefit of the setting and the hotel facilities, it is a perfect end to a weekend break in Marrakech. We will be staying at Richard Branson's Ulusaba safari retreat at New Year and if it is anywhere near as good as this then we just cant wait !! Certainly make sure you take the VIP meet and greet service at the airport it saved us an hour s wait!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni
Address: BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Tamadot 5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tamadot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Tamadot to your Saves list