We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Tamadot
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Kasbah Tamadot for 4 nights and we wish it had been 40. As you drive an hour out of Marakech and have just about had enough, the Kasbah rises above you on top of the mountains. Told by our driver that it was an old fortress I was glad it was going to be looking after us.
We were welcomed by the excellent manager Damien and offered a refreshing glass of champagne, delicious as we watched the twinkling lights in the surrounding hills light up. We were in room 14 the newest room that felt 100 years old so well had it been built and decorated. It felt like being a traveller in Victorian times and nothing had been left to chance.
The mini bar is free - such a great touch, there is a fruit bowl and nuts laid out for your arrival. A gift for him and her on the bed from the spa, Berber leather slippers akin to Ali Baba, delightful and yours to take home! The wardrobe had winter cloaks umbrellas, and the music of Bach played out to us as we settled in. The bathroom was large and well equipped with a bath, shower and plenty of space, bath robes, and super toiletries.
The food was excellent, we ate in different venues each night and the hotel let you know where they would be in the morning, so you could book a table. I am a real foodie, and can not complain about anything we ate -brilliant. The taster menu is especially stunning, and even though not everything were things I like (personal choice) it just meant my husband enjoyed more of the food. They grow a lot of the food on site, and walking round the gardens I picked up a fallen peach and it was the MOST delicious I have ever eaten.
The spa is an experience like no other, you can relax round the pool, which is both indoors, so out of the searing sun, and we had it to ourselves, with beds, and sofas to lounge on, water, herb teas to drink just lovely. If you do nothing else here have a Hammam, I had never heard of it, but it was both refreshing and the closest thing to being bathed by your mother as a young child that I have ever experienced, and I wish one would open up where I live!
My husband said never has he stayed anywhere with so many seating areas, hidden away, and with stunning views. The hotel has 54 guests when full which it was when we stayed, but you feel you are alone on the property.
We were staying during Ramadan and I can not speak highly enough of the excellent staff who looked after us.
Thoroughly and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Kasbah Tamadot, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback, it is so lovely to read about all the different elements that made your stay with us so special. We’re always striving to continually improve the service and experience at Kasbah Tamadot and so it is always so rewarding to hear when we’re getting it right.

We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon, perhaps next time you’ll be able to extend it to that 40 night stay you wished it had been originally!

Best wishes
Vincent Padioleau
General Manager of Kasbah Tamadot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    51
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
52
285
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in a Berber Tent for a long weekend - great scenery over the valley and across to the nearby village. The village is worth visiting (hotel will arrange) to visit the Eve Branson Foundation.

Berber tents are luxurious without being pretentious - in fact that's the whole hotel. The General Manager and his assistant make a point of chatting to all the guests and offer a lot of help with trips / local advice. Good service without being over bearing.

The evening meals have a different theme each night and move location so there is variety, the food was good but being brutally honest I have had better. If you were staying longer than a long weekend then you may get bored of the evening cuisine.

Good Spa with lots of treatment options – would recommend booking some in advance to get the timing you want.

Overall, a great way to forget about the day job for a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for a week in June to take photographs of the Berbers in the Western Atlas Mountains for which this place is ideally located. I had an absolutely amazing experience here. It is set back in the mountains outside Asni about an hour away from Marrakech in what has to be one of the most spectacular locations ever. But as with all top Hotels they don't rely on their location. The service is truly amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and they welcome you like a family. Look out for Mohammed the elderly father figure at breakfast, he is a true star, Damien the French hotel Manager is probably the best people focussed manager I have ever encountered and Jamal who works on concierge. When he says he will do something he does it for the joy not for a tip. He is that rarest of people who genuinely loves his guests and wants to do everything possible to make your stay memorable. The rooms are as spectacular as you would expect and every night there is some kind of exquiisite gift on your bed from the hotel. (That's my christmas presents bought this year!) The food is superb with a mix of local and international cuisine for the less adventurous and the local wine is both cheap and of a high quality. Is it expensive? Depends on how you equate that with value. For me it was the bargain of the century and one day i will go back with my family. It is just the best and ranks as one of my favourite Hotels ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family stayed at Kasbah Tamadot for 3 nights. It was a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. We were told we had two berber tents and one room however, upon arrival were told we only had to berber tents. Despite this set back, the berber tents were lovely with there own jacuzzis and plenty big enough. At the hotel there are donkeys, goats, mules, horses and two camels which we had the opportunity to stroke. During the day we would get a note under the door saying the options for the evening which was a nice, and personal touch from the management. The food was lovely, including the room service, and reasonably priced. Recommend the banana pancakes! We went on two excursions- one into a nearby village and the other a walking one. The excursions were great and the guides exceptional. Service was great throughout our stay. Only negative comment would be the bar by the pool is rather slow, and the tour of the hotel when you arrive is slightly long. We had a hammam (traditionally moroccan) and full body massage at the spa which was very relaxing. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is heaven on earth. We had a 3 night stay in room 21 (Jacaranda) and could not fault it. As ever with good quality hotels, the staff are what makes this hotel special and although we were there during the UK school holidays there were not many families with children and none impacted on our stay. The spa is excellent, the swimming pools huge and the food could not be faulted. Also of note is the fact that this hotel never appears full. There are a wide range of private seating areas, rooms and terraces so it will always be possible to find a quiet place to relax. Vincent and his team deliver service at the highest level without it feeling intrusive or contrived in any way. We looked at the Berber Tents - and whilst lovely we were glad we had elected to remain in the main hotel; but each to their own, more geared towards honeymooners. One point worthy of mention - we visited the Asni market during our stay, (ten mins from hotel by car) it is definitely a cultural experience worth doing; but for those with delicate stomachs, and at 46 degrees centigrade, you are best advised to avoid the unrefrigerated meat section including abattoir! VIP airport transit and transfers excellent. Overall you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Reasonably priced - Room 21 its great within the main hotel and views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Kasbah Tamadot, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I wanted to say a quick thank you for your lovely comments. It was such a pleasure to read your feedback, particularly about our staff who were delighted to hear what you had to say; it means a great deal to us all.

We hope that you will come back to visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes
Vincent Padioleau
General Manager of Kasbah Tamadot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our party of 5 adults just spent the most perfect 28 hours in this magical hotel.
Despite the weather which was overcast and drizzling we soaked up the spectacular pool area both outdoor and indoor , so enjoyed the superbly appointed rooms and public areas - a true designers delight . Breakfast and lunch were delicious, with dinner a little diassapointing the staff were so friendly despite the beginning of Ramadan
This stay was definitely one of the highlights of our Moroccan visit and I would love to return for a few days !

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated and seem just so special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

About an hour away from Marrakech, up in the Atlas Mountains lies a jewel like no other, Kasbah Tamadot. This resort is OUTRAGEOUSLY BEAUTIFUL. Although we were just there in June, my family and I and cannot wait to return in December . This hotel is true perfection as it is dreamy, mysterious, romantic and in one word, SPECTACULAR! The grounds are stunning and the rooms are magnificent. The food and the service are wonderful. I can't say enough positive things about this place because I have never felt so alive or connected to a place in my life.

While at Kasbah Tamadot be sure to take advantage of the spa and the tennis courts. Their "petting zoo" is also a must see as are the views from their delicious restaurant.

Children are allowed during certain times of the year (make sure to book early)! There is a lot to do so plan ahead and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Kasbah Tamadot, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I was delighted to read your lovely comments and have passed them onto the whole team. Thank you so much for taking the time to share them with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kasbah Tamadot again in December.

Best wishes
Vincent Padioleau
General Manager of Kasbah Tamadot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Address: BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Tamadot 5*
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tamadot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Tamadot to your Saves list