We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Tamadot
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked to stay at the Kasbah Tamadot for a week in early March. On arrival the staff couldn't have been more attentive and immediately offered us drinks whilst our cases were taken to the room. The room (which we were given a free upgrade to) was stunning - it had its own 2 private terraces with amazing 360 degree views of the mountains, a luxurious bathroom with huge bath and a well stocked FREE minibar. The pool area was lovely and because March is quite a low season, we tended to have it basically to ourselves! Its also definitely worth walking up past the pool to where they keep the camels and goats - the man looking after them was very keen to 'introduce us' to all the animals. We took one of organised day trips biking with a guide - which I think was my best bit of the holiday. The guide was excellent and we went off on some brilliant paths with outstanding views and through some traditional Berber villages (lots of photo opportunities!). We also took a day trip down to Marrkech - a complete change to where the hotel is based - Marrakech is fast paced, busy and thriving with stalls, souks and people - well worth a visit - I recommend booking in for a spa treatment when you get back though! We had a traditional couples Hammam, which I can highly recommend. The only few down sides to this holiday were; lunch - it was the same menu every day and there was only about 4 or 5 options on it. Also if you opt for just a B&B basis, it becomes tricky not to end up eating at the hotel anyway as it is in a pretty remote setting with the nearest village being 4km away. Whilst this isn't a cheap holiday from the get go, be warned - food and day trips at the Kasbah mount up and it can quickly become very expensive! But all in all it was a wonderful trip and the staff were very friendly and keen to help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    50
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
52
284
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I will never forget my time at Kasbah, from the moment we arrived it was special. We were picked up from the airport and even though we were 3 hours late coming out due to delays we were still greeted by a representative from Kasbah. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne and the manager came and met us to welcome us and show us around. The views are simply stunning and in the first instance take your breadth away. The staff are attentive and very helpful, the customer service was probably the best I have ever received. In my opinion the food was better than it has been in many Michelin starred restaurants I have eaten in – breakfast was exceptionally fantastic. Kasbah staff arranged for us to go on a 6 hour trek into the Atlas mountains which was amazing, we got to meet some local people and experience some fantastic views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Like others, we thought we would check out the hotel for a later stay in the autumn with family for a special long weekend (up to 11 of us), by having lunch with two friends. We will not be going back, or making the booking.
Lunch was booked and "gluten intolerance" with one of us was confirmed in the reservation. We arrived and ordered, but it was clear that understanding the dietary need by the staff was near impossible - even when we spoke in French - the end of the day proved that the food we were told was suitable, was actually not. We had no problems anywhere else in Marrakech for the 4 days we were there when we explained.
We ordered a sauvignon blanc wine and were brought a blanc wine which was opened and presented to us before we could check the label. This went back and the right one came, but it was close to room temperature. This bottle was corked but the waiter did not understand what this meant - even the "head" waiter did not understand. A warm replacement did come and this was fine, but by the time it was put into a cooler, and ready to drink we were almost finished with the meal. The wine waiter could not give us advice or tell us anything about the wines since he did not drink. The various staff tried to fill up our glasses over and over again with the warm wine. Similarly, there was almost always someone at the table trying to give us more water, move plates, etc, etc.
The food was good, if pricey ($200 for 4 for 2 course lunch with a bottle of so-so wine - there are better places in Marrakech that are not this expensive), but they have a captive cliental. The more senior waiter raised his voice at a younger waiter when he tried to give the wrong dish to one of our group, which took us aback. So many waiters, and all trying too hard to please.
When we paid by credit card, and before we had left the table, the "head" waiter came over and told us we had not tipped and we should pay a tip before leaving. Our habit is to leave cash on the table, but he clearly wanted to make sure we did not forget. Unforgivable. We fully applaud local people being included in this hotel's employment, but we never had this happen in any of the top Marrakech restaurants.
Since we were considering a stay in the future, we had thought that (like many places we have been to similarly for lunch, even in Marrakech) we could use the pool, which looked nice and inviting on a hot day after a hike. When we had got changed and sat down, we were approached by a member of staff who told us to leave and we could not use the pool. When we had changed back again, we were again approached by another member of staff and escorted off the premises. If the pool had been packed, we could have understood, but there were 4 couples around a huge and empty pool. On the way out a non-local member of staff was chatting to a couple by the pool and he seemed like a manager, but he ignored us whilst his staff asked us to leave - he judiciously ignored us we think and sent others to "look after" us.
Now we are four well-heeled professionals, stay in the best hotels, travel extensively and I support the Virgin group (travel - gold card for years, financial products, investments, etc), but this experience left us alienated. If they had just thought this out, and we had had a better experience, we could have been making a booking for a sizeable group from the UK and US, for a long week end, and passing on further recommendations to friends - maybe business is good at the moment, but this may not be always so. Instead, we will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, Managing Director at Kasbah Tamadot, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Anthony,

I appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback following your recent visit. I’m really disappointed to hear your comments and I’d like to offer my sincere apologies as it sounds like we fell short here during your lunch visit; your experience is certainly not the norm at Kasbah Tamadot and I will be investigating this in more detail with the team.

I’d really like the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further and to make amends. I would be grateful if you could kindly advise a way in which I can get in touch with you directly by emailing me at the address below & advising when would be a convenient time to contact you.

Many thanks
Jon

Managing Director
Virgin Limited Edition
Jon.brown@virginlimitededition.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We knew this would be pretty special being Sir Michael Branson's hotel. The staff were all local apart from the entertainment manager. Everyone without fail was pleasant and helpful and the food was brilliant. The gardens were beautiful and if you felt energenic the hotel organised hiking on foot or by mule. Altogether an unforgetable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived after a long day of sightseeing and driving from Oaurzazate. We were only booked for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. We were welcomed with some champagne, given a tour and shown to our room. They even have the right sized slippers made locally waiting for you in the room which was a really nice touch. The food was wonderful and we loved the peacock and peahen strutting about the property. The following morning we treated ourselves to the spa which was just the thing. It's pricey but it's a great place to just kick back and relax. We will definitely be back! I really do love the fact that Sir Richard is using all local staff and supporting the local crafts people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful property about an hour from Marrakech. Sir Richard Branson's Arabian Nights fantasy that is actually an Indian/Moroccan fusion decor-wise. Love that over 90% of employees are local Berbers trained and taught English to work at the hotel. Great setting at foot of second highest mountain in Africa - Mt. Toubkal. One night is probably enough as there is not much to do except hike in the mountains and wander around the hotel property in wonderment at the "props". Food very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights for a 50th birthday party (the whole hotel was full of our guests)! Kasbah Tamadot is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed - it has all the amenities, amazing views, great customer service, wonderful food, and lots of things to do (from relaxing by the pool, to pampering oneself in the spa, to going for walks in the mountains!) I saw every room prior to our guests checking in, and each one has their own atmosphere, and each one is lovely. Get a pedicure at the spa - it is very relaxing... Then lounge around by the pool (the outdoor one is heated which is a lovely contrast to the cool mountain air)... Visit the charity shop at the end of the complex and buy something local knowing you are supporting a local charity. Quite a pricey hotel, but you pay for what you get - an unforgettable experience. There are very few hotels in the world that leave such a strong imprint and memory! I will definitely be coming back here...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Address: BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Tamadot 5*
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tamadot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kasbah Tamadot to your Saves list