We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met and then exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Tamadot
Save
You added Kasbah Tamadot to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Asni
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Met and then exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you are the type of traveler who wants to feel engaged in the color of the locality while sinking into luxury linens at night - this is your place. Everything about this experience was special. After a conference in the intense atmosphere of Marrakech we were picked up by car and made the hour long winding drive through the Atlas mountains. Upon arrival the stress of the week began to slip away. You enter through a heavy wooden gate to the courtyard of a fortified house, perched on the mountain side and feel as if the private guest of an imagined wealthy owner. The ancient property is divided into a series of beautiful rooms and courtyards that make wandering and exploring a delight. Each courtyard has a surprise - a pool filled with rose petals, a sundial, a hidden stairway to the roof, another to a library, an arch that opens to a garden or hidden path, and then a terrace which opens to a glorious pool. Each room is unique and filled with luxury linens and bath goods. We switched to windowed room perched over a cliff and awoke to sweeping views of the river valley below. Gorgeous!
By day we would hike the trail across the street that lead through the mountains, then stroll through the rug market next door before meandering back to the terrace for a fantastic poolside lunch surrounded by the majestic mountain views. A spa service in the afternoon was relaxing and perfect just before getting dressed up for dinner and watching the sunset over the valley. It gets chilly at night in April, when we were there, so we dressed warmly and enjoyed the fires lit everywhere - which made us feel we could be here in any of the last three centuries. Dinner was lovely, and we finished our evenings with a cigar and drink in the library before heading down the garden paths to our room. When we arrived in our room, the lighting had been adjusted and our bed was adorned with local wildflowers.
This hotel gets it. We felt like we were being pampered and safe while being completely immersed in the local romance and traditions. I wish it was closer to home!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    53
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
61
313
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked this restaurant as a special treat during a week-long holiday in Marrakech. We arrived to an empty lobby, and after a few minutes someone arrived to take us to a sitting area beside a pool. Bearing in mind it was February, we were very soon freezing. After a while we were offered some drinks, and after another wait I asked if we could go to our table. Canapes were brought round, but we weren't offered menus. We were moved inside, to another sitting area, where lots of other people were. Nobody explained what was going on, and we were being served so many canapes we began to think this was it! It was all very strange. Eventually, we were informed we could go in, and were shown into a dining room, and put at a table in the corner, behind a curtain and eventually were given menus. The choice was limited to an a la carte menu of two starters, two entrees and two desserts, OR a barbecue buffet menu. We don't like buffets, so chose from the a la carte. The food was ok, but considering that we had been led to believe it would be an exceptionally high standard of cuisine, we were all extremely underwhelmed. I had sea bass, with cherry tomatoes, gnocchi and basil - a very simple dish. It was almost all tomatoes, the gnocchi was watery, and the whole thing was lacking in flavour. Being behind a curtain meant that we had to alert the waiters each time we wanted to have the table cleared, or order more drinks, and we felt like second class citizens because we weren't staying there. Once we had settled the (not inconsiderable) bill, we made our own way downstairs, and left. Again, the lobby was deserted, and we had to find our own way outside to our driver. Being so far up in the mountains I think Kasbah Tamadot thinks it has a captive audience, and therefore doesn't need to make too much of an effort, but of all the meals we had during our week's holiday, this one did not make our top 10, by a long chalk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Kasbah Tamadot, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent dinner at Kasbah Tamadot. Firstly I’d like to sincerely apologise that we failed to meet your expectations and fell short in several areas, on this occasion. Every guest, irrespective of whether staying or simply visiting for lunch or dinner, is equally important to us and I’m sorry that you were not made to feel special for what was supposed to be a treat.

With regards to the menu I think your comments are very constructive and clearly we should have made it very clear as to what was available before you travelled to Kasbah Tamadot, this is something we will certainly correct going forwards.

I’d very much appreciate it if you’d be kind enough to advise how I may get in touch with you directly to discuss further or alternatively please feel free to contact me at the email address below at a time that suits.

Vincent Padioleau
General Manager
vincent.padioleau@kasbahtamadot.virgin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This mountain retreat in the Virgin portfolio is reached in about 45 minutues by car from Marrakech. It is a sophisticated and beautifully landscaped castellated property set in the Asni area overlooking a valley to a neighbouring Berber village. Although the superior rooms we requested to see at the end of our visit were delightful, we were actually upgraded on arrival to a Berber tent with its own patio and jaccuzi; this tent was spacious and sumptously equipped if slightly draughty. In addition to the heating system, there were already 2 free-standing heaters available which were used throughout our stay as the weather was indeed chilly even during sunny periods! There was an electrical failure (during heavy rain) to the tent which was duly rectified; the wi-fi conection in the tent area was flakey and actually packed in irredeemably on the last of our 4 nights.The staff were phenominal in that they were mostly local Berbers who acquitted themselves in every task with the greatest perfection and courtesy; this is a tribute to the training provided by the Kasbah and the high standard of staff and material management. Because of the isolated position, the only practical dining option is to enjoy the Kasbah's beautiful dining room, its excellent food and meticulous service. The dining, lounge and library areas were warmed by well tended open olive wood fires. Outdoor activities are speedily arranged via the desk; our trek took us to a Berber village and some stunning views on the way. Adjacent to the landscaped gardens, there is an animal enclosure with camels, goats etc which are all beautifully tended. There is a small Berber shop attached to the perimeter wall of the property; it is clear that the Kasbah has also served the local community very well. We cannot wait to return albeit slightly later than a February.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited Kasbah Tamadot for lunch towards the end of our Moroccan holiday to celebrate my birthday. We were staying in Ouirgane and got our hotel to arrange taxi transfers there and back in one of Morocco's vintage Mercedes' - we were slightly outdone by some other guests who arrived by helicopter! The building and grounds are really beautiful and tranquil, and the views are wonderful across the valley. We had a 3 course lunch plus amuse bouche (which we were served twice, my husband tried to explain in English that we'd already eaten it once, but the waitress didn't understand until I explained in French)! The food was lovely but for the price we expected a lot better. The staff were friendly and attentive, always making sure our drinks were topped up and suggesting cocktails, and then calling our taxi for us when we had finished. We felt that the surroundings, views and service were just as good at Domaine Malika where we were staying, and I'm sure it cost a lot less than rooms at Tamadot, however, it was nice to visit, we can say we've been now, and tick it off our list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been there for one night during our trip to Marrakesh. I have decided to spend here my birthday and it was a very good choice.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, very classy, the spa is nice, the restaurant serves good food, not the best we have eaten, but it was very good for Morocco. We had a double room on the ground floor, with very nice decorations and a beautiful bathroom, but the view was over the gate entry, so not that great.

The service overall lacked the customer oriented spirit, this was my impression. It was very hard to get a late breakfast on our last day, I had to insist a lot to receive it. For the price you pay for the room, this is not acceptable.

We had also a trip organized by the hotel with a private SUV car to Armed village in the Atlas mountains. You should book this if you go there because it is very interesting. Especially getting there on a road as narrow as the car. It was very funny :-). You can see how people live in the mountains, what they eat, the way of organizing their everyday life, you will see some very nice villages on the road. We really enjoyed that trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I had spent what turned out to be a luxurious four nights here for our honeymoon. Beautiful views, delicious food that would not have been out of place in a double rosette / michelin restaurant (standard London prices), and an attentive and welcoming staff made our stay incredibly relaxing.

The cooking class was brilliant - as was the resulting feast!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we have just returned from a three day stay at the Kasbah over the New Years eve period and truly enjoyed our stay. The setting of the hotel as others have said is glorious and the staff and management can not do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The highlight for us was new years eve, starting with the mule trek to imlil, a glorious lunch in the mountains and then a trek back down, to rest before we hit the new years eve dinner and celebrations. News years day was a relaxed day with what I have to say was the best brunch I have ever had. Other points we liked was that mobile phoines in restaurants etc are politely discouraged, which means you do have a truly peacefuil and relaxing time. The food whether dinner lunch or breakfast was all high quality and the Deluxe room we had had stunning rooms and was comfortable. Some reviewers have likened the hotel to old decor and not like a modern fours/five star hotel. Frankly I think the decor is what sets the hotel apart from the so many facelessmodern hotesl around the world. we came here to rtelax and get away from televisions etc and the hotel fulfilled all our expectations.
Finally I can only repeat what many have said the staff and management were all perfect, and my only regret is that we were only there for three days. A thankyou to all the staff from both of us

Room Tip: Generally I believe the smaller the room the better the view, we had a good corner deluxe room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Address: BP 67, Asni 042150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kasbah Tamadot 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Tamadot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.