We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot with stunning gardens and delightful accommodation, lovingly run by locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Momo II

Save Saved
You added Chez Momo II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Momo II
km 61 m, centre ouirgane, Asni 42150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Asni
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot with stunning gardens and delightful accommodation, lovingly run by locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed one night and much of a day at Chez Momo 2 and wish we could have stayed longer, instead of having booked in at a much more expensive, but poor value for money, hotel close by. The gardens and the setting of Chez Momo are outstanding and there is lots of private space to relax in if you don't want to sit by the pool. The photo above does not do justice to the rooms, most of which are in single storey 'cottages' below the pool, or to the character of the main building where the public areas are. Breakfast by the pool is delightful, as was dinner in the main house. We did not stay long enough to explore the local area but plan to do so on our next visit. Even though Chez Momo 2 is only about five- years old, since its predecessor was covered by the reservoir, it feels like a long-established home and we particularly like the fact that it is lovingly run by local Berbers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only 1 hour drive from Marrakech. A beautiful hotel with beatiful garden and views, you will be totally relaxed after a visit to this hotel.. The rooms are big, and the food is good. Go and visit the tin mal mosque when you are there!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This charming boutique hotel is located beyond Ouirgane, right in the foothills of the High Atlas mountains of Morocco. I loved its beautifully apportioned grounds, terraced into the hillside, rising from nicely furnished cottage-like suites amid a garden setting, to the swimming pool where breakfast is served around the pool's edge, beneath the trees, and with a glimpse of the Ouirgane Dam far below, and finally rising to the main building that houses the dining room and the suites above (these suites have the best view of the mountains around and the dam below).

the service here is top notch, with owner Momo's brother Fouad helming the well stocked bar and dining room, where dinner is served beside an open hearth, beautifully set tables covered with fresh white linen strewn with pink and red bougainvillea from the bushes espaliered against the entrance that greet the weary traveller after your car winds around the mountain road that leads to the entrance to this gem.

my favourite moments were spent in the little private gardens tucked in between the cottages, where I curled up on a rustic bench with a novel I picked up from the eclectic selection in the library behind the dining room...

what distinguishes Chez momo II from its original sister of the same name is the effort the enterprising owner, Momo, has put into making a new lodging that is not only better located higher up the hillside, but also better landscaped and excellently served by staff who are quick to respond and multi-lingual in the process.

a surprising asset is the well maintained swimming pool, which was the central feature around which guests lounged for breakfast, lunch, or tea, and everything else in between!

Room Tip: the suites above the dining room are small, but have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at Chez Momo and it was one of the highlights of our holiday. Great location for the high Atlas and the mountain passes. The hotel is beautiful, set in lush rose gardens with plenty of shady sitting out spaces. The pool is excellent. Swimming whilst looking out at the mountains and their ever changing colours was a touch of paradise. There are also great local walks in the fields and lower slopes, recommended by the staff. Our suite was very nice, peaceful with a small private terrace at the back. The room was simple and spacious. The food was excellent. The omelettes with breakfact were delicious as were the evening meals. However, morning coffee is weak unless you specifically ask for strong coffee.
The staff were first class - helpful, friendly and interesting. They really helped us understand the culture of the Berbers and make the most of our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the seperate buildings. It was private without being remote. I would recommend one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

arriving tired, by bike, i didn't realise that Chez Momo isn't in Ouirgane, but above it. so you cycle through the town, then double back on a dirt track to end up above the town at Chez Momo. the ride isn't actually that far but when you don't expect it was a suprise.
the hotel is attractively laid out: a main building on one side, pool and landscaped grounds, and then a series of bungalows. i stayed in one of these, and it was comfortable enough.
the evening meal was good if not great. breakfast was adequate. never good when empty beer cans and teapots from the night before are still on tables when you get up for breakfast! staff were welcoming and courteous but i found them a bit offhand. good place to stay but not earned a place in my heart. booked via Booking.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here on our day out in the High Atlas. It's located up a winding track from the main road, affording great views over the lake, especially from the roof terrace. The traditional flat bread was fantastic, the tagines were the best we had during our stay in Morocco, and the service was excellent. We were outside on the terrace most of the time and just ventured inside to use the bathrooms. The interiors looked pleasant, although they could benefit from a bit of sprucing up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had an excellent two nights' stay at Chez Momo. Beauiful hotel with wonderful mountain views all around. Great breakfasts in the sun next to the pool. Nice walks in the area--don't miss the walk up to the high Berber village and several along the way. We also walked up the river valley, past the synagogue and it was beautiful. We couldn't make it to the market in Amizmiz (supposed to be nice) since we had to go to the airport Tuesday morning. Chez Momo is also convenient to the airport and it's easy to take off early in the morning for a morning flight. Dinners were good with a variety of choices. Our room was a suite in the main house, which was quiet. It was just fantastic to be up on the roof. The bungalows below on the other side of the pool look fine, too, but are closer to the road. We could relax and it was peaceful. Great help from the staff on suggested walks and more. They were very very attentive in the dining room too. They even suggested we try a stay next time in a Berber house that some ladies in the village do. I think it costs 13 a night,but they said it's worth the experience. So, it wasn't all about them and their hotel, which shows a real genuine interest in their guests.
When we checked into our room it was smokey mostly, we discovered later, due to the fact that a chimney from the dining room below is directly next to the bathroom window and our room. The window was open and obviously the smoke had entered the room directly. So, the first night the room was very smokey even though we closed the window immediately. The next night was much better after we aired out the room the next morning. But, on the topic of the smoke, the first night we entered the dining room and it was full of smoke--so much that you could see it heavy in the air and it was stinging to the eyes. It later cleared a bit by the time the rest of the guests arrived, but was still uncomfortable. We noticed they start a fire to warm up the rooms and it is cozy and inviting, but the fireplace in the corner of the dining room to the back is very smokey. The one to the front isn't so bad and the the smoke quickly dissipated. Our last evening, the dining room was full and they lit the corner fire. Well, the room quickly filled with smoke. I think they need to look into the chimney or the wood they're using or perhaps to get the fires going earlier in the evening so it's less smokey. Definitely, please don't start a new fire with all the diners eating their dinners. If you book a room in the main house, above the dining room, make sure you book the room that isn't a direct target from the chimneys if you're sensitive to smoke. This is a very minor complaint overrall, but I think it's good for the owners to know that not all people are comfortable sitting in a smokey environment with stinging eyes. The food is good and the ambiance great. Thanks to Chez Momo we had a lovely last two nights in Morocco. It was a wonderful two week break driving around independently and we'll go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Momo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo II

Address: km 61 m, centre ouirgane, Asni 42150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel unveils charming Berber buildings, rooms and comfortable after opening on the gardens of roses, exotic flowers and plants. You can also benefit, walks accompanied by a guide recommended by the hostel as well as rides on the backs of mules in the surrounding villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Momo II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Momo II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;