We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, interesting surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Momo II

Save Saved
You added Chez Momo II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Momo II
km 61 m, centre ouirgane, Asni 42150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Asni
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay, interesting surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had an excellent two nights' stay at Chez Momo. Beauiful hotel with wonderful mountain views all around. Great breakfasts in the sun next to the pool. Nice walks in the area--don't miss the walk up to the high Berber village and several along the way. We also walked up the river valley, past the synagogue and it was beautiful. We couldn't make it to the market in Amizmiz (supposed to be nice) since we had to go to the airport Tuesday morning. Chez Momo is also convenient to the airport and it's easy to take off early in the morning for a morning flight. Dinners were good with a variety of choices. Our room was a suite in the main house, which was quiet. It was just fantastic to be up on the roof. The bungalows below on the other side of the pool look fine, too, but are closer to the road. We could relax and it was peaceful. Great help from the staff on suggested walks and more. They were very very attentive in the dining room too. They even suggested we try a stay next time in a Berber house that some ladies in the village do. I think it costs 13 a night,but they said it's worth the experience. So, it wasn't all about them and their hotel, which shows a real genuine interest in their guests.
When we checked into our room it was smokey mostly, we discovered later, due to the fact that a chimney from the dining room below is directly next to the bathroom window and our room. The window was open and obviously the smoke had entered the room directly. So, the first night the room was very smokey even though we closed the window immediately. The next night was much better after we aired out the room the next morning. But, on the topic of the smoke, the first night we entered the dining room and it was full of smoke--so much that you could see it heavy in the air and it was stinging to the eyes. It later cleared a bit by the time the rest of the guests arrived, but was still uncomfortable. We noticed they start a fire to warm up the rooms and it is cozy and inviting, but the fireplace in the corner of the dining room to the back is very smokey. The one to the front isn't so bad and the the smoke quickly dissipated. Our last evening, the dining room was full and they lit the corner fire. Well, the room quickly filled with smoke. I think they need to look into the chimney or the wood they're using or perhaps to get the fires going earlier in the evening so it's less smokey. Definitely, please don't start a new fire with all the diners eating their dinners. If you book a room in the main house, above the dining room, make sure you book the room that isn't a direct target from the chimneys if you're sensitive to smoke. This is a very minor complaint overrall, but I think it's good for the owners to know that not all people are comfortable sitting in a smokey environment with stinging eyes. The food is good and the ambiance great. Thanks to Chez Momo we had a lovely last two nights in Morocco. It was a wonderful two week break driving around independently and we'll go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

very friendly staff, beautiful landscape. we had 2 days of rain and cold which was a shame, but still enjoyed our time here. was very nice how they built fires in our bedrooms. food was very good. only negative was that the hot water was very unreliable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Sadly, we are not able to glow about our stay here. It is true that the setting is wonderful and the place itself is attractive; there were some drawbacks. The suite that we had could have been lovely, however, the furnishings,rugs and curtains were not clean, and were stained. The surfaces felt generally gritty.The toilet leaked and drenched the bathroom mat. Availability of hot water was problematic. If the tap was run for 15 minutes, you could get it, but it soon ran cold. Compared with the majority of the other places we stayed in in Morocco ( 8 in total, and some of them much more basic), this did not have the attention to detail that we would have liked.

The staff were friendly enough and the service in the restaurant was delivered with a certain amount of panche. The food was authentic Maroccan cuisine and good. The flatbread was some of the best I have eaten.

This hotel could be outstanding, but there is a long way to go yet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Whilst staying at Riad Al Massarah we enquired if we could get out of the City for a day and perhaps go for a swim somewhere, a day trip to Chez Momo was susggested and we booked a driver for the day and guide for a walk in the foothills.

Our driver was great and picked us up at 1000 from near the Riad and we set off inot the foothills of the High Atlas mountains. We stopped at a Womes Co-operative and bought some Argan Oil products before heading up into the foothills proper.

Whilst my wife continued onto Chez Momo I met the guide, Sharif, for a walk through the Berber Villages and on towards Chez Momo. We walked and talked and ate figs straight off the tree and took perhaps an hour and a half to reach Chez Momo (250dm), my wife was already in the outdoor pooll and I quickly joined her in order to cool off.

We swam for about half an hour or so and then had lunch, we were the only people using the pool and only after we had ordered our lunch did any other diners appear (at about 2 o'clock).

The hotel charged us a small supplement to use the pool (70dm?) and it was well worth it.

Food was good but probably not worth the trip on its own but it was worthwhils meeting Sharif and walking through the hills for a while. I would definately do this again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Ouirgane is a quiet little village in the Atlas Mountains, and Chez Momo is one of the most romantic hotels in Morocco! I stayed in the first Chez Momo a few meters down the road, and fell immediately in love with this wonderful style. Now, as the first Chez Momo is in the waters of the lake, flooded, gone forever, we stayed 3 nights in the new Chez Momo 2, and loved it even more. It is bigger, but still the same romantic lovely rural style with lots of love and passion for antiquities and land life. Great swimming pool, great food, lovely setting!

Room Tip: We had the double room above the bar. The suites are in the bungalows below the pool, certainly bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We are a family of 5 (2 adults, 1 teenager and 2 under 4's), and Chez Momo was our first destination on our first trip to Morocco. The rooms are basic but lovely, authentic furnishings, clean, fantatsic bathrooms. We had 2 rooms to accomodate our family and both were large and lovely. The gardens, pool and restaurant are beautuful. There is a handy tv room. The views are breath taking. The breakfast in very generous, lunch is definitely the best meal served here with plenty of choice. Dinner can be a bit hit and miss, but hey, you are in the atlas mountains in the middle of nowhere; so just chill. Would definitely go back; we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Chez Momo is just over an hour's drive south of Marrakesh in the Atlas Mountains, above the village of Ouirgane. It rightly descibes itself as an inn; the simple buildings are set in very beautiful grounds, with an excellent outdoor swimming pool. The manager and his young team were very attentive to all our needs from the moment we arrived, until we departed 3 days later. The bedrooms were comfortable and tastefully furnished with good facilities.
The restaurant served traditional local food which we found very enjoyable, good wine and beer were offered. Breakfasts were also of a good standard.
Soon after our arrival we were introduced to a local guide, Abdul, who took us on a four hour walk in the mountains above. We would not have missed this for the world! It was not over strenuous, and we visited some fascinating mountain villages. Abdul spoke perfect English as well as French and German and his local knowledge was most interesting. On the way back he took us to his home where we enjoyed his wife's superb Moroccan chocolate cake and mint tea, with great views across the valley from his flat roof.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Momo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo II

Address: km 61 m, centre ouirgane, Asni 42150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel unveils charming Berber buildings, rooms and comfortable after opening on the gardens of roses, exotic flowers and plants. You can also benefit, walks accompanied by a guide recommended by the hostel as well as rides on the backs of mules in the surrounding villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Momo II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Momo II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.