We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sel d'Ailleurs

Save Saved
You added Sel d'Ailleurs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sel d'Ailleurs
BP 183, KM 59 Marigha, Route de Taroudant | Marigha, Asni 42150, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Asni B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A unique experience indeed, to stay amongst olive groves, be surrounded by snow capped mountains and sun bake around a lovely pool. The staff were delightful and bourcine's creative vision from his heart is a marvel. We visited the almost biblical Berber villages nearby, but would advise you to arrange through the hotel as guides tend to set you up, then rip off. It was delightfully peaceful here and fabulous food by Abdul the chef.

Room Tip: You have a choice of the smaller traditional Berber built cottages or larger newer models. All lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The ideal location for rest and relaxation. We found this place by accident two weeks ago and the had most delicious dinner. We then re visited last weekend with our visitors and again had a lovely evening with a great nights sleep. Set in a beautiful location, great staff, comfy rooms...what more are you looking for?!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Hamid was so charming and looked after us so well. Quite the most pleasant hotel staff member we'd come across during our Moroccan travels. Our rooms were individual houses and very tastefully furnished. Interesting gardens all around. Lovely pool and patio areas. Very good food too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Bouhcine(Proprietor), Hamid(Waiter) and Aziz(Chef) were friendly and welcoming.
The property, set in olive trees with the High Atlas Mountains as an impressive dackdrop, was attractive and peaceful.
The bungalow accommodation was simple but clean, although the design was somewhat disconcerting. The toilets in all the rooms we looked at were an integral part of the room with no floor to ceiling partition wall, no outside window and, in our cases, with a louvre door or, in other cases we witnessed, no door at all. Consequently there was no independent supply of fresh air, no soundproofing and little or no privacy.
We had no complaint with the quality of the meals but for the first 3 of our 4 night stay the quantity served for two persons was only sufficient for one. Together with other clients we eventually complained to the Proprietor and on the last night there was a considerable improvement in the size of the portions served. I suppose it could be argued that we should have complained earlier but we were under the impression it was only us who felt the portions were inadequate, it was only when we realised that we were not alone in this opinion that we collectively took action. In any case, in my opinion one should not need to point out something that was patently obvious.
I requested a discount on the price but it was explained to me that by us booking direct we had already saved on the price compared to what we would have been charged had we made the reservation via an Internet Agency.
I paid the bill by Visa and was advised that this attracted a 5% surcharge. I said there was no mention of this on the Hotel Website and declined to pay the extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice property lost in the olive trees with an amazing landscape.
Had lunch there, very friendly staff with good service. Good food!
Lovely bedrooms in a traditional style (like small bungalows)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

We headed straight to the mountains at the beginning of our trip to morocco and are glad we did.
Lovely rooms placed around an old olive farm.
Enjoyable food, very well presented, though no choice (no menu).
Not much to do around, but very pleasant to sit by the pool and relax.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at Sel d'Ailleurs for three nights in late June 2011. It was a pleasant escape from the heat and hustle and bustle of Marrakech and was the perfect end to our holiday. The room was very nice and traditionally decorated. With dinner included in the price, it was also excellent value.

The food was very good and we were thoroughly spoilt whilst we were there. On the Friday we were even invited to share in a free lunch with the rest of the staff.

During our stay we were the only guests in the hotel, which was perfect for the relaxing get away we were after. Literally the only activities to do are reading around the pool, and going for walks in the countryside (though it was too hot - over 40 degrees - to do any serious hiking at that time).

The service was exceptional and we can't recommend Sel d'Ailleurs enough. We were made to feel right at home and as though nothing was too much trouble. Even the pet dog was more than welcoming and treated us as old friends. As well as the accommodation, we'd also recommend booking transfers to and from Marrakech with Sel d'Ailleurs. They were much cheaper than trying to find a taxi ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sel d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sel d'Ailleurs

Address: BP 183, KM 59 Marigha, Route de Taroudant | Marigha, Asni 42150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sel d'Ailleurs is a guesthouse retreat set in an ancient two-hectare olive grove in the village of Imarigha, 9km south of Asni on the picturesque road to Taroudant. Offering four exquisite rustic guest cottages, a large swimming pool, first class international and Moroccan cuisine and magnificent views of the surrounding mountains, Sel d'Ailleurs is an idyllic haven of peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sel d'Ailleurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sel d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.