We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Grattequina

Save Saved
You added Chateau Grattequina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Grattequina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de Labarde, 33290 Blanquefort, Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Blanquefort
McAllen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were very comfortable, the chateau is a beautifull place to stay. The rooms have an ample space, bathrobes and sleepers in the bathrooms, clean and with great views of La Garone ( the river) and the gardens, wifi all over the hotel, great breakfast! We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Came to Bordeaux for their Medoc Marathon. Hotel was chosen by one of the runners, I was just there to be their cheerleader. The hotel is beautiful and quite. I did not see many people going in and out but everywhere was clean and nicely organized. The swimming pool is perfect sized. Please remember to bring "bugs off spray" with you when you visit Bordeaux. I was bitten like 20 times. The rooms have been renovated, you won't feel that the room is "old" when you are inside although this chateaux was built hundreds years ago. I especially loved their shower room. It was huge and modern. The room charge isn't cheap but this is what you expect when you choose a nicer hotel. Because we came back to the hotel after 11:00 pm, the gate from the road was already closed. We had to press the button panel to wake the staff up for opening the gate for us... .he must have hated us :P. Conclusion: Well above satisfactory!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at Chateau Grattequina for 3 nights, choosing it for its location just outside the busy city of Bordeaux and the location on the banks of the river Garonne.

My stay was quite wonderful! I had originally booked 2 nights with a plan to rent a car and drive through the Dordogne valley, staying one night outside of Rocamador on the river Dordogne. That all changed when my purse was stolen in Paris leaving me without a driver's license and no possibility to rent a car. My boyfriend also cancelled the second half of our trip, returning to the U.S. before I departed Paris. The staff at Chateau Grattequina were very helpful, and booked me for an additional night.

I stayed in a River View Suite for two nights, and a Garrone room for one night (due to a wedding). The River View Suite (Room #3) was the most romantic room I've ever stayed in. Huge by European standards, with wooden floors, a decorative fire place in the sitting room, a very large bath with separate rain shower and large soaking tub, and a separate WC. The most incredible feature was the terrace with floor to ceiling new glass - insulated for sound and 3 doors that opened out on to the terrace. The terrace is nothing short of magnificent. Stone pillars rise, views straight on to the river, and room for a cocktail party of 20. A dining table and two chairs make it the perfect place for evening cocktails and breakfast.

The staff, especially Stephan, Virginia, and Michael, went out of their way to help me -- as a solo traveler who does not speak much French and no rental car, I was essentially stuck. They arranged for Mr. Rush, a wonderful gentleman who operates a taxi, to be my taxi for a trip to St. Emilion (just wonderful), two vineyard tours in Margaux and Paullac, and to dinner in Bordeaux city Centre. It was certainly expensive to hire a taxi for all of my activities, but it meant I was never lost, and he pointed out wonderful sights, pulled over for photos and escorted me in to get money changed at the Bordeaux airport.

The only drawback of the chateau is that it has no restaurant. They do provide a very nice breakfast for an additional 18Euros in the downstairs salon, and they also provide room service with a limited menu (but wonderful wines!).

The property is set far back from the road, right on the banks of the river. There are gardens - filled with hydrangeas and roses during my stay, and a swimming pool. The main terrace wraps around the entire hotel and allows guests who aren't staying in Room #3 the same option to have their breakfast or cocktails out on the terrace, watching the river and listening to the weeping willows.

I would highly recommend Chateau Grattequina! I intend to return (with a rental car)! The Bordeaux City Centre is only about 15 minutes away and offers all of the great food and people watching of Paris, plus beautiful architecture, fountains and parks. Just less noise and the people are much more relaxed. The vineyards are all right there for you to enjoy. It is a marvelous excursion out of Paris, just 3 hours on the TGV.

Thank you again to the wonderful staff! A highight of my trip to France!

Room Tip: Splurge and try to reserve Room #3 with the goregous terrace! Or #7 with a view of the river and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a great find, away from the busy city, rooms are big, all the mod cons like wifi etc.
Service very good, bed very comfortable.

Nice restaurant near buy and the wineries are close.

Love the large bathroom and robes.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed for one night mid-week after a long drive from Carcassonne. Impressive exterior in spacious, well kept grounds - great views over the river from the garden out the back. Room was much BIGGER than anything else we have had in a 10 day tour in France for the same money and well appointed with good views across the grounds and river. Didn't stay for breakfast but staff really helpful with information, directions and making us feel welcome despite arriving late at night. Would recommend and stay here again. Gus is great!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hilarious expensive breakfast that you would expect in an all-in simple hotel with a very basic room price; no reception staff after 23.00 hours, no room service and an owner who seems not to understand the meaning of the word customer service ... but great location and beautiful rooms ...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights at Chaeau Grattequina and we were truly charmed by this wonderful place. It's not in the Bordeaux City Center, but it's close enough for sure. The room was clean, huge, and just lovely. The bathroom was quite luxurious, and the view of the grounds was gorgeous. We felt as if we were staying in a castle - and overall the place felt very special.

Breakfast each day was in a different room on the main floor and was delicious. They had a vast selection, and were eager to please. Anything you want - no problem.

We also ordered room service one night and it was fabulous. It was as if someone had just prepared it in their own kitchen and the quality was top notch.

If we are ever in the area again - we will definitely return to Chateau Grattequina.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Grattequina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Grattequina

Address: Avenue de Labarde, 33290 Blanquefort, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Blanquefort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Blanquefort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Grattequina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chateau Grattequina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Grattequina Blanquefort, France - Bordeaux
Chateau Grattequina Hotel Blanquefort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Grattequina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.