We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A LET-DOWN” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Grattequina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Grattequina to your Saves list
Chateau Grattequina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de Labarde, 33290 Blanquefort, Bordeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blanquefort
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“WHAT A LET-DOWN”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed New Year's Eve for one night. We had no trouble finding the chateau by foillowing the instructions given. Plenty of signs for the hotel as we drove closer.

Room was excellent, a basic room on the front corner of the chateau, but this is where everything went wrong. The curtains are on poles that ensure that the curtains do not hang against the window recesses. Hence, with full floodlights shining straight up at the room, yes, you have it, the room was lit up better than in daylight. We were assured that the floodlights would go off at 2300, but did they hell, they stayed on all night. This meant that we did not sleep at all for the whole night. We brought the problem to the notice of the receptionist in hte morning, but she simply shrugged her shoulders and said that we should have called the night line, which, incidentally, is stressed for emergencies only. What a waste of money, Euros 178 for a totally sleepless night. Never again, and they did not even offer a discount for the trouble they caused. We were flying straight through from Bordeaux to New Zeal;and on check-out day and really needed a good night's sleep; alas, no such luck.

Breakfast was a real rip-off. We had stayed at a hotel in Perpignan the previous few days, and breakfast was Euros 7 per person. This one was Euros 18 per person for not much more.

Beware, if you want to obtain value for money, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    6
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Normally, leaving one's lovely chateau--and this one IS lovely--to drive a short distance for dinner is not too trying, but Chateau Grattequina is set back quite a distance from the road, and their modest entry-gate is one too-easily missed on the long and unlit road, even for those who have been in residence for a few nights and are relying upon GPS. Add some excellent Bordeaux for dinner, and the task of returning to the Chateau after a lovely repast, maneuvering the mulitple turnabouts (no traffic lights in these parts), takes some of the "rest" out of the vacation.

The Chateau itself is something of a fraud, but don't let that bother you, as the details have been reproduced so truthfully and lovingly that you would never discover it if they, themselves, did not come clean. The rooms are large, comfortable, charming and very artfully decorated; we had a corner room and the views out the large windows were extensive.
The bath is very well-appointed, large, and comfortable. The rooms are exceptionally clean, fresh and uncluttered, and lovely by any standard. Compliments to their decorator.

Grattequina is on a river-- the Girande-- if memory serves, and surrounded by working farmland. Breakfast is a joy, when they have not run out of croissants, which did happen once, and I was quite surprised that this did not seem to them the emergency that it did, of course, seem to me, as really, why else get up in the morning in France? But never mind; the staff was lovely and helpful, and breakfast could be taken either inside a charming breakfast room or outdoors on the terrace overlooking the Girande, even mid-October, which we did.

We selected this establishment because we were seeking a chateau in proximity to Bordeaux.
This was a bit farther out than we would have liked, but not impossibly so, and city itself was a splendid surprise, even on the rainy day we happened to be there. Do not miss Bordeaux, and if you cannot find a closer-in Chateau and if you can handle roundabouts after a dinner with good wine, and the lack of availablity of food after breakfast, Grattequina will not otherwise disappoint.

The restaurant to which we were directed (name escapes me now but don't worry, they have it) is less than a ten-minute, uncomplicated drive, and also sits along the river. Food is authentic and reasonably-priced, and there is a large outdoor area along the river. We were there in early-to mid-October, and the place was fairly dead, but I can just see it on a summer's night; I have no doubt the crowds are extensive and joyous, and the evenings there just lovely. There was a credit card issue--either they took none, or didn't take American Express. Check with management before going.

We were also directed to a more expensive (fancy) restaurant (name also escapes me) which was both expensive and fancy, but we actually preferred the food and ambiance at the simpler place, where we dined every night they were open.

We felt rather removed from civilization in this location; to our knowledge there were no shops nearby where we might have collected some cheeses, breads, meats and wine for a "picnic" of our own, and thus no way to avoid driving to dinner. It struck us that since they have a banquet facility next door, they would better serve their clientelle by making available this sort of thing during the course of the day. We felt the lack of access to food made the stay somewhat less luxurious than it otherwise could have been, as if management didn't quite "get it" in terms of what ought to be, with his charming property, luxury accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side away from the banquet hall. Another non-room tip: watch your odometer when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K.lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Despite all the red alert warnings, my husband and i booked into this hotel for 4 nights based on the photo of the view to the river from the terrace of the junior suite. We're fairly independent travellers who don't need much hand holding and we tend to do our own research ahead of arrival. All the cooments about the place being soulless and in the middle of no where is true.
But what we found annoying was the arrogance of one member of staff in particular, Stephane. We arrived late in the afternoon after going round and round looking for the hotel. The website gives scant directions and an address without a number. Try telling that to a gps device. When we arrived, said staff said to us with a wave of hand that we should never follow blanquefort, instead we should contrive to arrive via the lac. I couldn' t fathom how we could have if the website ddn't say anything to that effect.
We took the package which included a bottle of wine on arrival and breakfast. The wine is a totally unknown label and i wouldn't arrive in bordeaux to drink rubbish. Breakfast was adequate, but not much more and certainly not worth the price. You're better off buying a bottle of milk to drink with the coffee in the room and then catching a pastry outside.
The room, in our case the jr suite with a terrace was a total disappointment. You couln't find a chair to sit on in which you didn't slude off in 2 minutes. The tv was place at ceiling level so you would get an instant crick in the neck. And you couln't admire any view from your terrace because its completely obliterated by the overgrown trees.
You would think that if you're paying €350 per night they would at least spring for a tube of body cream or a shower cap, dream on. Bring your own. I did, but housekeeping threw it out and didn't even replace it, so why they threw out my perfectly good shower cap, i have no idea.
So after 2nights, we decided to up an go and were forced to pay €160 as forfeit for the followin 2 nights. I imagine different establishments have different rules on this but i've never encountered this in my many stays in europe. Understandably, no shows are charged, but the hotel was barely full. We were offered some lame excuse or other, but we got the feeling that guests cancelling their stsys happened often enough for them to have to impose a charge.
In conclusion, i would say to avoid this establishment if you can find someplace else. Rooms are tolerable but have no warmth or charm, service is non existent, surly at best. You've been warned.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in Sept of this year on the first leg a two week stay in France. We travelled by car from Ireland and following a 7 hour drive were full of hope and expectation of enjoying a nice quiet drink in the bar, some food to get us on our way on the holiday but how let down we were. The sat nav took us off the main thoroughfare and into what can be best described as an industrial estate yet telling us that we were only 3.5 miles from the chateau - surely not, I thought, the sat nav has got it wrong for the first time. Alas, no, it was right. We were directed off the road not far from the pylons which serve said industrial estate, through a corn field and up to the chateau. It is a stunning building, but it is one of those places that suffers from being too far from the city than to be helpful and too close to the run down outskirts of a city that it's not far enough away.

When we arrived, we quickly realised that there was no bar, no restaurant in fact, no anything. Just a guy on the desk in the basement and our room. What a let down. We did order room service but it was limited and at best average. A bottle of local red was deployed and a good night's sleep.

We stayed 5 nights and as the week progressed realised that we were staying at a business centre with bedrooms. It was clear as the outside caterers appeared and dissapeared each day that the business patrons who visited for their conferences each day were the priority in this place.

'Breakfast' is €16 per head and not much to write home about which brings me to my last point. Upon checking out, my wife went to the desk to settle our bill as I packed the car. When I returned to the reception area I found my 6 month pregnant wife in tears in the reception area as the hotel manager/owner had given her a bit of a dress down over a query we had on a breakfast that we were being charged for but had not received during the week, insisting that we pay. Unfortunately my wife did pay, but never before have I met such an arrogant individual that would leave a pregnant woman in tears over a bill query which he insisted we paid.

Please do me and all those who want to feel like they are a guest and not in the way at a 'hotel' do not stay here. You have been warned. It is a jumped up 2 star B&B with an arrogant owner who does not deserve to benefit from your hard earned cash. Do yourself a favour and stay in St Emilion (which is a beautiful village) or further out the D2 in the real chateau amongst the vines.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We enjoyed our two-night stay at Chateau Grattequina very much. The only difficulty was finding it from the direction north of the Chateau (i.e. from the Medoc area). When we called for directions the person on duty said she was not from there and could not tell us how to get there. However, once we arrived (after much trial and error) she was very nice and helpful with other matters.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
641 helpful votes 641 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Chateau is just far enough away from Bordeaux to be absolutely quiet. Our room was large with a nice view of the Garonne River. The bathroom was the best! I loved the large rainfall shower and the towel heater.

I agree with other reviews- there was a meeting going on in the downstairs and a reception setting up adjacent to the Chateau. It feels odd being a guest here with so few amenities. The pool is nice, but there's no fitness center or business area. I think four stars is one star rating too high.The few people we dealt with at the desk were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was good, but nothing special and overpriced at 18 euros. We only ate there once.

I would not want to stay in downtown Bordeaux, but I wished I had booked a family type B&B actually. I just expected a little more her, I suppose.

  • Liked — Comfort, quiet
  • Disliked — Few amenities
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The hotel is very good. The room was spacious (we had a suite on floor 2 of the main hotel building--there was another building with more rooms nearby), the bath was modern and spacious, and the quietness made it comfortable for sleeping. However, the hotel is located quite a way from the city and you must have a car to enjoy it fully. The lack of a restaurant for lunch and dinner was a drawback, but breakfast was available if you desired. Rooms had no wireless internet available, but there was a laptop available in the lobby free. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It seems that the property is set up primarily for hosting large receptions such as weddings. As it happened, we were only one of 4 couples staying at the hotel so we almost never saw any other guests.

If you want peace and quite with a nice room, this is the place. If you want the amenities of a typical full scale hotel near transportation and restaurants, this is not the place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Grattequina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Grattequina

Address: Avenue de Labarde, 33290 Blanquefort, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Blanquefort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blanquefort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Grattequina 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Grattequina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Grattequina Blanquefort, France - Bordeaux
Chateau Grattequina Hotel Blanquefort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Grattequina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.