We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab scenery, fab weather.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorges de l'Ardeche

Gorges de l'Ardeche
Gorges de l'Ardeche, Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, France
07944951576
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fab scenery, fab weather.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fantastic place to explore the great outdoors and take in a bit of canoeing in a hot sunny climate...love it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    96
    14
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places in France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I spent the summer working at the gorges and it really is a perfect European holiday atmosphere. My favourite was the guys at 'Aigue Vive' who do the kayak descent of the gorges. Always warm, markets. cant wait to go back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montelimar, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Don't miss the wild 40 km long canyon, now a reservation, from Vallon pont d'arc natural arch to the medieval village of Aiguèze, near the Rhône valley.
A paradise for canoers and bathers.We enjoyed visiting one of the numerous caves to cool us down.
The 30 000 years old paintings of the Grotte chauvet ,probably the oldest in the world, will soon get a the replica . Can't wait for it.
The scenic route makes it possible for non sporty like me to enjoy the stunning scenery.Recommand the Belvedère de la Madeleine a bit off the road.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“stunning gorge, replica cave, priceless Aubusson tapestries — all in a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a wonderful car trip to make if you are not up to climbing and kayaking. It is a great reminder of how superb the world's natural wonders can be — in this case, steep, beautifully- coloured rocky sides to the gorge, plenty of vegetation, and a sparkling river below. The well-sited and carefully-maintained parking places along the road enable even people in wheelchairs or mobility scooters (as my partner is) to enjoy the extraordinary views.

There must be deer on the surrounding land because I spotted deer droppings and delicate hoof prints when we got out for a stroll near to the replica that is being constructed to the Chauvet cave. This will open in a few months' time and we will certainly be back to see it, as our reading shows that this cave is among the most important and gorgeous in the cave art world (paintings made at least 35,000 years ago, maybe more), and the replica constructed at Lascaux has shown how well the French can manage such a difficult undertaking.

If you have time, pause in the little town at the head of the gorge, Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, and visit the Mairie to see the fabulous Aubusson tapestries (closed over lunch hours). These are in extraordinarily good condition, and you can really experience them up close because they hang in an intimate room where modern marriage ceremonies are conducted — a nice touch since they were originally commissioned 250+ years ago by a young husband-to-be for his and his then-fiancée's new home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Verdon Circuit. 10th Aug. Start day 517 Total end of day 590 – distance today 73 miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Starting from Castelane did the longer, higher, more undulating south side first and we did not reach Aiguines, at the far end near the lake until 3.30 pm, where we had a late dinner, looking towards Mt Ventoux, in Provence out to the West.

We had thought about doing Mt Ventoux this holiday, but it is a good day‟s ride over there, a day up and down the 1,912 metre, 6,273 foot peak, with the climb starting not much above sea level and then a day‟s ride back – so would have need a longer holiday to do this. Plus the must see Arderche and Pont Du Gard are not too far from Mt Ventoux, we would have needed another week to do them all. After dinner we rode down to the Lax de Sainte Croix for a swim.

We left the lake about 6 pm with tail wind back along, well up and down, the gorges. It was a long climb to the first pass, then we dropped a bit between each of the two following cols – but only one of these Cols was signed on the road.

Near the Castellane end of the gorge, we stopped off at Point Sublime for half an hour or so and took a few photos. The views are given three stars in the French Alps Michelin Green Guide, then a long, fast downhill, with few sharp bends, back to the river, followed by 12 miles of slight uphill, with tail wind, averaging 18 MPH to Castellane. We had a beer at the tents, then at 9.30 ish we went to campsite pizza place, but they had stopped serving food, just beer on offer and we that at the tent, so instead we cycled into town, had a „menu‟ for a change; lasagne, salad, mousse & a beer, all for 14 Euros, then back to have a sleep as tired after a hard day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorges de l'Ardeche also viewed

 
Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, Ardeche
Lablachere, Ardeche
 

Been to Gorges de l'Ardeche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorges de l'Ardeche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.