We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to many BAD experience's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Argyle St. Grill

The Argyle St. Grill
345 Argyle Street South, Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Argyle St. Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 37 restaurants in Caledonia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Haddington
Caledonia, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One to many BAD experience's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We live in the small town and have ate out here often, 10x
Good food 75% of the time
Service absolutely terrible, 95% of the time
Seems every time we come here theres all new wait staff, looks like they have a very high turnover rate, never the same faces, even the managers
Would not recommend bringing small children as this restaurant is unwilling to accommodate for them,
We will not be coming back here anymore,,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    37
    21
    3
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagersville, ON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

It's place has been a fabulous spot for our family to eat since it changed ownership. There are so many delicious choices on the menu and I've not been disappointed yet. I do recommend reservations for Friday or Saturday nights or you'll be waiting awhile to get seated. Glad that we've moved to town and the restaurant is now walking distance from our house!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The decor is gorgeous, the food is amazing and everytime we go we are never disappointed.
I love the patio seating. The introduction of the tapas menu was wonderful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good menu and great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

In the past have not been crazy about this place. Love the Location and the Atmosphere so I keep trying it. But now it has new owners ....again!
I always try it a couple of times when they have new owners to get a good idea if I like it and have been disappointed in the past with the food. NOT THIS TIME! These new owners have a good chef and are doing things right. They are buying locally if possible and only the best. The food tastes very good and that brings me back. A little pricey for lunch so only go occasionally.
Thursday night they have a complimentry Mussel Bar, I only went to this once. The mussels were tasty but they only gave you a tiny bowl to fit about 3 mussels in it, so you had to keep lining up if you wanted more. Then, when you seen the size of the mussels inside the shell we laugh. They were the size of my baby fingernail. So wasnt worth the repeated line ups. I guess the mussels brought in the customers because it made it so crowded and busy it took away from the usual atmosphere. Also this night was the first time I didnt enjoy the food as much. The cooks may have been overworked or something because the quality and quantity of food seemed to drop. I will never go on a Thursday again for supper, but well worth the drive any other day.
I Had The philly Beef the other day for lunch. Very tasty but they scimped on the beef and filling. My friend had a rueben before and if was good and full of meat.
Watch if you sit outside too! We had to move once because too many Birds in the trees above the tables. One table had an accident on it, so we moved inside. FOOD TASTES GREAT THOUGH!
Glad these owners took over the space.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better Now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We haven't been here since it's changed again and I have to say the changes were good this time. Last time the service and food was sub par but this time the service was friendly and capable and the food was delicious. Our only complaint was it was a little slow, even though for most of the time we were the only patrons in the restaurant, but the food was good and plentiful when it did arrive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Argyle St. Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Argyle St. Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Argyle St. Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.