We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salines Garden Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salines Garden Cottages
Save
You added Salines Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Salines 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Carmagnola, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

...twenty days of a peaceful holiday in a cottage very nice...the hotel is in a garden wich describes completely the caribbean colours and the beauty of the island.
The owner of the Salines Garden Cottages is also a perfect guide of the island and he can help you to choose a different restaurant ( everyone very good!!!) or a cafè where you can have a good drink or a coffee...my suggestion is...TRY THIS!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    26
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
117
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Everything about this trip starts off with the approach to the island in a small, off-white, feather-light plane. As it lands, it hits the brakes abruptly, at short intervals, to avoid further advance into the picturesque turquoise Caribbean Sea.

A Jeep is there waiting in the meadow, accompanied by its chauffeur who is no other than Jean Philippe, the boss and owner of Salines Garden Cottage. A warm welcome from this relaxed gentleman keeps us at ease and loosens us up as he explains the island with humor and derision. Laughter escapes the SUV as it strolls along the coast.                                           

We stop at a large red electric gate that widens our eyes in shock. The gate opens to a paradise of luxurious vegetation, placed at the feet of a superb, monumental rock peak, sculpted over the years by nature’s elements. The carefree spirit and silence of this place overcomes us. The multicolored birds and butterflies seem to dance a ballet as we are accompanied to our tropical bungalow overseeing the pool.
Every bungalow, numbered from one to ten, are more like mini suites with individual kitchens, patios and each decorated differently to evoke various countries. We almost wanted to share all the bungalows to travel more at ease in this paradise comfort. The local construction has charm and respect, everyone has their own independent space without being shut off or isolated from everything. An inviting noise joins all the hotel guests by the pool bar. It displays a huge conviviality and complicity reigns amongst all the international guests, which quickly becomes a cordial relationship. We hear English, French, Spanish..etc...just to say,  very multilingual.
                                                                                                                     All of this, managed and animated by Jean Philippe and his spouse, Laurence.
Where will we dine tonight?
Finally, for this first night we opt for grilled fish and lobster at l’Esprit Saline,  which is the regular and favorite ‘hot-spot’ of the stars and cosmopolitan showbiz people. Not to forget, Jean Phillipe had already made our reservation!!
This recuperating night and the company of the light ocean breeze were a perfect combination.                                  
Surprise- all the clients are at a huge table for a fulfilling breakfast and anecdotes of activities from the previous evening swarm in. A nonstop dance from the black and yellow sugar birds travel and coexists with us.     
                                                                                            
Later, choosing the daily choice of activities is difficult; the beach, shopping, sport, promenade by boat, or even fishing...ancient TaiKuando master, Surf...Jean Philippe and Laurence always advise wisely and know exactly what the whole island has to offer. They only have to pick up the phone and dial.
Salines Garden Cottage, this superb and incredible location of residence among paradise will always stay with us and be the source of souvenirs from a millionaire-like vacation, as well as souvenirs of a second family.                 
Thank you Jean Philippe & Laurence !!              
04/19/10
Maxim & Elyan Miami Fl

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

we're just coming back from St barth where we spent 4 days at Saline Cottage garden.
we had read many reviews before choosing this cottage, and we were not disappointed!
It's a small place (5 cottages) around a nice pool and bar surrounded by a tropical vegetation which makes it a very charming and quiet place to be. One afternoon it was so hot that we prefered laying next to the pool under the shadow of the vegetation.
nothing to say regarding the cottage and the bathroom which were well furnished and decorated. the owner, jean-philippe, came to pick us up at the airport, he is full of good advice and knows everything on St Barth (from gossips to politics..). it really worth it spending some time at breakfast talking with him to really feel St Barth's life. we hope to come back soon

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut-USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Salines Garden, a tropical sanctuary...wasn't sure what to expect but so happy we took a chance and stayed here. This centrally located mini-resort has it all except ocean front views...but on tiny St Barts this element really doesn't matter. Within a 10/15 minute walk are two of the best beaches on ST Barts. The cottages are spacious, most with high ceilings and a 4 poster bed...bathrooms are halogen-lit, modern, and spectacularly updated. The space also provides a common bar and another sitting area with wide screen TV. We hope to get back here often.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Salines Gardens is simply a wonderful experience. If you're looking for 5 star amenities like spa, large pool, private beach, room service, business facilities, this is not your hotel. But if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax in tastefully decorated simple rooms, you simply cannot do better. Much closer in feel to having your own small villa than being in a regular hotel. Perfectly located in the centre of the island, it's a short drive to anywhere you would want to go to. Superb bang-on advice from the owner on restaurants. If you want to get off the beaten track on the island and not feel managed by a "hotel experience", this is your place. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

I stayed here with my g/f, we are both in our early 30's and cosmopolitan with an eye for detail and service. This place was a good place to stay in St Barth, and among the less expensive hotels on the island, after alot of research. After an motorized entry gate, there are basically a few buildings grouped around a small plunge pool. The room we stayed in (Essaouria) was small but cozy, and had everything we needed. We felt secluded from the bustle of Gustavia, but only 10 min drive away. Saline beach, after Colombier beach, was our favorite on the island, and it's just a few hundred meters down the road from this hotel. The owner was an older French guy who was very friendly and had a bit of wine for happy hour for everyone at his little bar when we returned from the beach. There was wifi which was nice. I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Salines Garden--located down the road from Saline beach--a vast and superb beach, calm at one end and at the other end gentle surf--offers a small group of handsome, well-maintained and clean accommodations (with and without kitchenette) artfully and discreetly arranged around a small pool amidst lush tropical vegetation. There are comfortable outdoor options for sun or shade and we were especially grateful for the quiet we shared with the other the other guests. You will see a lot of your host Jean-Philippe, who, while arranging your continental breakfast (with local newspaper) offers news of local and world events accompanied by engaging commentary. In addition, he has a charming way of acquainting new arrivals with those already there that makes for a pleasant social atmosphere. Prior to our arrival we expressed an interest in having an oven or microwave in the kitchenette, and when we checked in we were pleased to find a microwave had been supplied. Although cases of Dengue fever have recently been reported on St. Barths, the owner has the property sprayed regularly against mosquitoes. We hope to return to Salines Garden.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Address: Salines 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salines Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.