We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salines Garden Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salines Garden Cottages
Save
You added Salines Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Salines 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from our 2nd visit to Salines Garden in St. Barthelemy. We did not think it would be possible to have a better experience the 2nd time, but we sure were wrong!! Jean-Phillippe gave us a great place to stay, good advice about things to do on the island, and peace and quiet. He is a very nice man and really cares about his guests!! We will be coming back for many years to come!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    26
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
117
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We just returned from a lovely 12 days at Saline Garden Cottages. I first traveled to St. Bart many years ago and have returned a number of times over the years. My wife had never been to St. Bart, and this was our first stay at Saline Garden. Our room was even more beautiful than the pictures. Very comfortable bed and linens with immaculate daily made service.The landscaping and plantings surrounding the intimate and romantic pool-bar area, are spectacular. Each morning, the jovial creator and owner, Jean-Phillipe provides a wonderful light French breakfast, trustworthy suggestions about where to dine, swim or surf. And if you're lucky, he may have an wonderful island story or two to share with you. Saline Garden is a quiet, down to earth oasis in the midst of bustling, racy St. Bart, yet the town of Gustavia is just over the hill, a mere 5 minutes away. The crystal clear waters of Saline Beach, one of the world's most beautiful, untouched, undeveloped beaches is nearby, as are some of the best restaurants on the island (Le Esprit and M&P). Saline Garden Cottages is a tremendous value at twice the price! We'll be returning next year!

Room Tip: We LOVED our stay in the cottage named Pavones ! But truly, all the cottages are adorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Me and my wife were there 2 days ago, everything was great.
The infrastructure, the location and the care that everything is done by the owner (Jean-philippe) and his team is surprising.
The best deal (include costs) in the island.
Ask Jean-philippe about restaurants, places and others, and you will could double-check after, you will see that him
We went to "Do Brazil" for have lunch (because we are Brazilians) and was a big mistake (not educated waiters and just looking for rich people to get good tips).
In the end of the same day I met Jean-philippe on the pool deck and told him the experience.
He immediately apologized for whats happened and booked for us another restaurant for dinner and made it in his own name (because it was already crowded).
An experience not only polite, but shows some of the spirit of the island .... a place to come every year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Although sad from leaving paradise to return to the real world, we’re anxious & excited to share our review of this gem of a place.

Salines Garden Cottages is a charming, quaint and romantic respite from everyday life. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & blessed with a tropical/local variety of bird species, butterflies & even turtles. Our chic & thoughtfully appointed room – Pavones, brought all the conveniences of a home with everything necessary to secure a comfortable stay. A communal breakfast which is included in your stay is served on a room to the side of the pool which we though was adequate enough to get the day started. It’s perfectly situated within walking or driving distance to one of the most beautiful beaches (in our opinion) – Salines Beach. And it’s also a short drive to other spectacular ones: Gouverneur, St. Jean & Shell. In addition, it’s close to Gustavia if you’re in the mood for a little shopping & near many good dining spots. During our stay, we had the pleasure of meeting Jean-philippe, the owner. He’s a very personable, knowledgeable & accommodating host. He has many good recommendations & this afforded us the opportunity to make the most of your time during our 3-night stay at St. Barts. We will most definitely return and are already setting some time in our calendars for our visit next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was our second time on St. Barths, the first being only a day trip. Now we decided to stay there for several days. The Saline Garden Cottages are an ideal place, as they beautifully situated in an area with many trees. The Cottages are arranged around a central pool with a nearby bar. Our room had a nice kitchen outside and showed a good taste for esthetics, as did the whole Hotel. Already by arriving you feel at home and come into contact with a lot of interesting people. Jean-Philippe, the owner, is very helpful and because of his long-year experience knows many interesting stories. We appreciated very much that was very silent, and indeed we never slept better during our stay in the Caribbean. You could just sit down watching the birds and lizards. Another advantage is the short distance to Anse de Salines, one of the most beautiful beaches not only of the Caribbean where we used to swim and snorkel every day. Thus we highly recommend Saline Gardens and we already plan our next stay in one year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was our first trip to St Barths and Salines Garden was the perfect place to stay. Fantastic value with everything you need and hospitable host Jean-Phillippe. Jean-Phillippe picked us up from the ferry port, organised a car rental for us, made us a delicious breakfast every morning and gaves us helpful hints on beaches, restaurants. It really is a beautiful island and we met some lovely people at the Salines Garden. Would highly recommend staying here and hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

One of the main secrets to step the harsh path to happiness is to be lucky. And we have been. After many weeks we surfed hundreds of pages in internet sites on St Barths, after we compared locations, prices, pictures, after we read guides, suggestions, opinions, mostly on Tripadvisor, eventually we chose Salines Garden, attracted by the location, the different styles of the rooms and the whole environment. When Jean-Philippe, the owner, manager and more of this unique lodging, picked up us at Gustavia harbour with his mint condition Jeep Wrangler and drove us to the property, Silvia and me realized we have been lucky three times: first to have found this address, second to have met Jean-Philippe, and third, probably the most important, to have found place! In fact Jean-Philippe revealed us that we were there only by chance, because another American couple gave up. Usually Salines Garden is fully booked with great advance. So if you like to spend a relaxing, cuddling period in this secluded, idyllic hideaway, please think of it just in time. It will be worth doing, because the quality, the discretion, the quietness of a stay at Salines Garden will be incomparable. Jean-Philippe is a kind of an international Parisian who lived in many countries around the world and gave to each cottage a different shade, inspired to different cultures and countries, mixing the art of life of a citizen of the most charming town in the world with the experience of worldwide roamer. We slept in a Moroccan cottage. You can choose between just a room and a cottage with kitchenette, so you can cook by yourself if you like. All of them are equipped with ceiling fan and a/c if you need chill. The great skill of Jean-Philippe was to protect the intimacy and the confidentiality of each guest in organizing the location of each cottage and the shape of the garden. Nobody can see anybody, nor been seen. But the other sensitive idea was to organize four basic common spaces to let socialising and networking his guests: the living room, the bar, the pool and the breakfast table, where every morning all the guests gather to share a typical French “petit déjeuner”, to listen to Jean-Philippe’s stories about the fancy life in St. Barths, and to collect his wise suggestions on how to better spend the day, on which beach better tan, in which restaurant fulfil your “gourmet” desire. Last but not least, Jean-Philippe is so discretely careful that in the early morning, before 7 am, a coffee maker is ready for the black drink addicted. We are Italians…

Room Tip: Book with large advance. All the rooms and cottages are shaded, with efficient separation and privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Address: Salines 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salines Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.