We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salines Garden Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salines Garden Cottages
Save Saved
You added Salines Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Salines 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
falmouth ma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I travel quite a bit and we always use TripAdvisor to get feedback before we go. This our first time in St Barth and at Salines Gardens. I dare say it will not be our last for both! We were on St Barth for a week. Saline Cottages are a group of cottages just off the main road to Salines Beach. The driveway is part dirt, but this is to keep us US from speeding up the drive. Do not let this worry you; you come to a beautiful read gate and you are now a guest of Jean-Philippe! The rooms are not huge but big enough; clean & well organized. Beds were fine. Bathrooms are those interesting French European layouts! No shower curtain! You have a nice porch sitting area when the inevitable morning or afternoon rain shower (5 min) came by. You are one of five cottages and you meet everyone at breakfast of a baguette and jams. . We were with two brothers from Brazil, a couple from the Ukraine and another from Italy. Jean-Philippe is the maestro. He introduces everyone and starts the conversation and makes suggestions about what beach you should visit or what restaurant to consider for lunch or dinner. Jean-Philippe will make your lunch or dinner reservations for you and he never makes a bad recommendation, but then again I don’t think you can find a bad meal on the island.
Many go St Barth for just a day or so, I think you need four or five days to get into full St Barth RELAXATION mode. Jean-Philippe (and maybe all in French West Indies) honest and direct and hard working. When you are his guest … you are his guest! He watches over you! He will meet you at the plane; walk you over to get a rental car; lead you to his resort and get you settled in. You CAN do this all on your own. But it will NOT be less expensive and if you let Jean-Philippe there will be no stress! You are more than a guest to Jean-Philippe. Some reviewers thought Jean-Philippe was rude…. I believe those reviewers did not stay long enough or do not like his direct nature. He will answer your questions and it will sometimes seem like he is barking at you. Just like Paris! My opinion is you may not like what he says ..but on St Barth …go with what he recommends!
Rent a car. Taxis are too much and it is too far to walk. Do spend the money on a beach front. Be polite and order somthi9ng and you get a chaise lounge anyway! Rooms with a kitchen were nice, but more for the person that will eat in a few of the beautiful St Barth nights.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from the road. Some have kitchens. Nice if you may eat in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    24
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
114
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I love this simple but well-designed gem near to our favorite beach in St. Bart's. John-Phillippe and Laurence are wonderful hosts and the communal breakfasts with people from (this year) Italy, Brazil and France are filled with lively conversations. J-P has the scoop on which restaurants are good each year and what's going on with the island politics. The six cottages are arranged around a small pool which is beautifully lit at night. We just left and are already pining to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After falling in love with St. Barths 3 years ago, my husband and I have made Salines Garden our hidden escape while on island. Salines Gardens is comprised of cozy, beach-inspired yet well appointed villas set in a peaceful and tranquil lush garden setting all surrounding a well-kept plunge pool perfect for a post beach dip after a long, hot beach day. Equally desirable its location, Salines Garden is ideally located within minutes from the best beaches on the island and a quick hop into Gustavia and of course St. Jean for the islands best shopping and dining. We have become close with the villas owner and "concierge" Jean-Phillipe, who caters to a host of international guests which makes evening communal cocktails quite interesting and another draw to Salines Garden. Jean Phillipe, whom we consider the mayor of St. Barths, will enhance your stay with his local insight on all aspects of your trip and most importantly, the restaurants which seem to vary seasonally. Enjoy St Barths and it's hidden gem , Salines Garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saunderstown, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

it had been a few years since we last visited st. barts [high cost of lodging] but when we found the info on salines garden we immediately made a reservation. everything was perfect , from the ambience [many couples from france to practice our limited french with] to the helpful tips from jean philippe on where to eat . the cottages ,some of which have kitchenettes [ours did] , offer the opportunity to shop for lunch at the "rotisserie" for a wonderful lunch " to go "..of course the beaches are magnificent [we did not have a favorite] but it is great to people watch at st. jean and watch the planes land and take off {especially when they come in on the water side..all in all a wonderful place to use as a base for a totally relaxing vacation !!!!! joe and donna r.i.

Room Tip: we would recommend our room " wakiki"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Salines Garden is a wonderful place. If you want to have a quiet, beautiful place to base yourself on this fantastic island then stay here. Jean-Philippe is a gracious host who will help you with everything you need. However, if you want privacy and solitude, this is also possible. The choice is yours. There were times when we didn't see or hear anyone apart from ourselves for several days. Perfect! It is not a bustling 5 star resort with room service, it is a chill, tranquil, beautiful place. All the fun and chaos is only a few minutes away in a cab.
St. Barth's has a saying, "Tell only your best friends." With Salines Garden we say, "Don't tell anyone else, but make sure you go!" Matt & Charity

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Salines Garden is a hidden treasure where one will find peace & tranquility. The location is hard to beat, being just enough inside the land that it is very quiet and you will never hear a car go by. Yet close to one of St Barth's most beautiful beaches. The rooms are decorated with great taste, the bed was very large and comfortable and the service impeccable. Our host was very available and knowledgeable, he took care of our rental car as well as our restaurant reservations and made sure everything was going smoothly at all times. Also, the place counts only 5 cottages which makes it very peaceful and quiet and makes you feel at home. This is really an excellent value and we will definitely return to Salines Garden on our next trip to St Barth !

Room Tip: We had the Pavones room which was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Salines Garden is a true gem - excellent value coupled with the perfect location, minutes away from the best beach at St. Bart's. Our host, Jean-Philippe made this trip truly memorable for us - from arranging our car rental with a great, reasonable domestic provider, meeting us at the airport, to sharing local spots, and entertaining us with his animated stories. We've already recommended Salines Garden to our friends and family...but we just couldn’t keep this amazing find to ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Address: Salines 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salines Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.