We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming accommodations,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salines Garden Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salines Garden Cottages
Save
You added Salines Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Salines 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming accommodations,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were picked up from the ferry by Jean Phillpe and brought to the room. The room was lovely, nice decor and a great shower.. Jean Phillpe was informative and available. We rented a car and explored all the beaches on the island and to our happy surprise the most beautiful beach was SALINES... I would definitely go back..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    31
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Salines Garden is fantastic place to stay at St Barths. We spent there 10-day period during our trip to Carribbean in June 2012.
The property itself is several cottages with and without kitchenette. My husband and I were extremely happy to take one with kitchenette as it’s convenient and, moreover, the island is not cheap place to eat.
The breakfast is always extremely fresh (even baget was warm when we came) and it’s enough to start the day.
The cottage is cleaned every day and on our arrival we were provided with shampoo and shower gel from Ligne St Barth (amazing natural cosmetics locally produced on the island).
According to the Jean Philippe (the owner) advice (during all our stay we got very valuable advice from him and also because of them we enjoyed spending our time in Salines Garden) we rented a car as it’s real “must” on the island.
Also the owner showed us local shop (U Marche) to buy some food and seafood stall (we bought lobsters for 20 euros per kilo). Both places provide good quality and reasonable price food.
The property itself is not far from Salines beach (15 mins by foot or 5 by car), whish is good and also suitable for those who like to spend time at beach “ au naturel”. We visited all the beaches around the island, however Salines is in top of our ranking. Also we liked the Governeur Beach which is neighbor to Salines.
We absolutely love our staying in Salines Garden. Jean Philippe, in case you read it, thank you very much!

Room Tip: Book a cottage with kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second trip to St. Barths and the second trip to Salines Garden Cottages. We enjoy it very much every time, and will certainly return. The cottages are very quaint, quiet and have a perfect contemporary yet traditional Caribbean style. The price is very reasonable, and the true French spirit is included for free :). Jean Philippe is a perfect host and picked us up and brought us back to the harbor. Can't wait to be back to enjoy the relaxed yet refined lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Salines Garden Cottages is truly a hidden jewel on the island. My husband and I found it while looking for a different experience away from the constant activity on the beach.

I am a yoga instructor and I love the Zen feeling created by the owners. I love the privacy provided by the landscape of lush palms and Azaleas around each cottage, which is important to me for my yoga routine in the morning. The cottages are situated on the edge of the property surrounding a small pool and a communal breakfast eating area where we have made wonderful friends, and a communal room with Satellite TV and many books to read.

I also thoroughly enjoy the owners, Laurence and Jean-philippe. Jean-philippe is always present in the morning while serving his guests great coffee, baguettes, croissants, jam and butter :) We are always entertained by his countless stories about the Island, where to go for dinner, and which restaurants are "in" or "out" depending on changes from year to year in various restaurants.

Four of our favorite restaurants this year were The Wall House, La Gloriette, DoBrazil, and M&P

Room Tip: All the rooms at Salines Garden Cottages are equally quiet and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

St-Barth is one of the places one should put in the top of her/his bucket list, and an affordable and yet charming option is Salines Garden Cottages. As in all the other parts of the Island, one will not find high rises, and this is what makes St Barth unique. Salines Garden has a handful of rooms with well decorated interior, and Jean Philippe himself provides tips of restaurants and the Island.

The swiming pool is small, but we did not feel the need of using it with the amazing beaches around the island - Salines is around 15 minutes away by car and small walking. The continental breakfast is the usual European continental with coffee, orange juice, bread and croissant, do not expect a full buffet. With all into account, we really recommend the place, and when we go back to St-Barth will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just back from St. Barth. What a wonderful experience. What made it that much more great...Saline Garden Cottages. My partner and I can without question and hesitation, recommend this locale. We had the great luck of finding this gem in a sea of MUCH more expensive options (villas...hotels...b&b's etc). This true find is a rarity on this island. It is well positioned for 'easy in and out' but not RIGHT ON THE ROAD that you get with a lot of other options. We booked this cottage after looking at ALL of the reviews and looking at other options. Honestly I don't know where any of the negatives came from other than "they didn't get it". If you're looking to be babysat and handheld and are used to picking up the phone and dialing room service...this honestly isn't your place. If you're looking for a GREAT experience and meeting wonderful people as we did, and enjoying yourself and at the end of the day either relaxing by the pool with new found friends or by yourself...it is THE option as far as we could see. This isn't a full service hotel...there isn't a restaurant...there isn't a tennis court...there isn't a spa. What it does have is everything else your tropical experience SHOULD have. delightfully friendly clientele, a very gracious host, immaculate rooms with AC and all the amenities, and a quiet, relaxed location very close to the beach! Jean Philipe is a wonderful person who has been on StB for 26 years and knows all nuances of the island. He was always accommodating while not being intrusive. He picked us up at the boat...took us to get our car (personally I would ONLY take the boat...but that's just me... it was so relaxing), and showed us to the grocery.

Breakfast at the cottage is a wonderful experience of the day. You get to meet wonderful and new people around a communal table where fresh croissants and baguettes are served (this is not a marriott and those expecting individual table side service should just avoid it...because it's going to disappoint you! What this is is what breakfast SHOULD be...a time to relax...have the coffee...a croissant...and interact. Should you choose to...simply take it to the cottage and be private. We however had a great time meeting new people!

In the afternoon you rarely see JP and staff and we rather liked that. If you needed something (an umbrella or a chair for the beach etc) simply ask for it in the am and before you knew it it was there. They are VERY accommodating. But in the evening, you're pretty much left to your own which we personally liked. We especially enjoyed the plunge pool. it is NOT a lap pool. If you're expecting that, just know it. what it is, is a wonderful way to relax upon coming home after a day at the beach and just sit it some nice cool water and go 'ahhhhhhhhhhhh' We LOVED it!

We thought all of the pics on TA are accurate. Our room was wicked clean and serviced everyday except sunday which was no prob. regarding comments about smelly towels??? I don't get that AT ALL. If you throw a towel on the floor...expect it to smell like the floor. All of our towels were clean, and refreshed EVERY day except sunday. AC worked great in the rooms and without question...this is the BEST value on the island without sacrificing any of the amenities of a hotel. I 'get' the type of person that had a bad experience here. If you're the loud, obnoxious, "do you know who I am" type of person...move on! Saves this little gem for the rest of us! The people that we met there (by the way) have been coming there for 6 an 8 years EVERY year now...I want to be part of THAT crowd! It's NOT uptight...It's VERY clean, and it is VERY VERY nice. Note...I 'probably wouldn't recommend it for kids. As part of a couple, I couldn't see this locale working with a group with kids and all that brings...just my insight. It was gay friendly and I liked that a tremendous amount. The people there were a great and a diverse crowd who were wonderful to get to know. Without question...a must stay when in StB

Room Tip: quiet, not near night life (i liked), near beach (again..I liked), great customers, better kid optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My partner and I just returned from 8 days at Salines Garden Cottages. On an island where superlatives rule; the Best, the Biggest, the most Expensive, SGC takes the prize of most welcoming and best value. The beauty of this tropical haven created by Jean-Philipe and his wife is that it is intimate and interactive. The five named cottages, each with their own personality, become your "home away from home". As the attentive host, Jean-Philipe makes you feel a part of his micro-community. From the introductions made at the communal breakfast table or the conversations over an evening cocktail, we were engaged with other interesting guests from around the globe. Whether they be American, Argentinian or Italian, friendships were made while enjoying the essence of St Barth without breaking the bank.

By many standards, Salines Garden Cottage may not be considered fancy. For us, however, the serene natural beauty, intimate size and overall friendliness, were added benefits that go beyond the criteria of a typical 5-star rating for a vacation in a place that is truly paradise.

We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salines Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salines Garden Cottages

Address: Salines 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Salines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to St-Barths' finest beach, nested in a blooming tropical garden, five cottages surround a tranquil pool. A thoughtfully refined atmosphere for a relaxed and restorative vacation .A unique place, simply to discover.A delightful exception in St-Barths . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salines Garden Cottages Hotel
Salines Garden Hotel
Salines Garden Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salines Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.