We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Piment

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Piment
Route de Saline, Salines, St Barthelemy
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Salines
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
South Wales, NY USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've eaten dinner here, or stopped for a drink and snacks many times, and are always . The vibe here is a casual beachside "pub" in St. Jean fequented by locals and travelers alike. The dining area is covered and open air adjacent to the bar area and tables are close to each other.

We're always pleasantly surprised by their daily "chalkboard" entree listing.The dinner "specials" approach gourmet level, at the same time the menu offers great cheeseburgers if you want one. Excellent appetizers, and deserts as well.

Has always been a good choice for casual dining and people watching on St. Barts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not fancy but lots of charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a favorite among the locals. We like to go especially for lunch because it is a good value and the food is good. I tend to go with the fish tartar on the menu. My husband likes their burgers (as do I). We did go once for dinner but found that the menu is the same as lunch, so we will continue to use it more as a lunch destination. Our other favorite lunch place is Isle de France which is on the other side of the spectrum. That review will be next.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Food ok, but attitude .......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We got there around 8pm and were told we had to sit at the high table while other low table were still open we were told they were reserved, they were not and kept for the locals.......we have lived there for 15 years fluent in French but r older. After a lot of hassle we were moved ........not worth it, we will go elsewhere, we also saw a American family 8 people just walking out.the food quality was not bad at all !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Double Check Your Bill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have eaten at Le Piment before, and found it reasonably priced and with decent food. However went back this weekend and had a terrible experience. When my credit card receipt was brought to sign, I had been charged 1300 EUR for a 130 EUR bill.

While it was most likely a mistake, the staff was totally nonplussed and unconcerned that they had just done this. Expressed no concern at all They also had no way to rectify it. Only after significant discussion on my part did they call the manager who "cancelled" the transaction. As of now, it still sits on my bank account. Totally unacceptable and I will never go back.

If you go, make sure you check your bill!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pub Food, in French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived on St. Barths late on a Friday evening and checked into our hotel. We asked the proprietor where we could get something light to eat and he sent us to Le Piment. What a great place to unwind after a day of air travel. It seems like a resort bar and is well frequented by the locals. But the menu is anything but pub food. They really have a three level menu: tapas, burgers, and dinners. We ordered some beers and drinks and decided to have tapas as appetizers and some dinners. I happen to love frogs legs and that was featured that night on the tapas menu. They came sauteed in a bowl and were perfectly cooked and well seasoned. I got home thinking wouldn't it be lovely to have frogs legs at our local pub. If you find yourself in St. Jean on St. Barths, don't hesitate to have a snack or a dinner at this little gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Piment also viewed

Salines, St Barthelemy
Grande Saline, St Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
St. Jean, St Barthelemy
 

Been to Le Piment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Piment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.