We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher St Barth

Save Saved
You added Christopher St Barth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christopher St Barth
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Milou, Anse de Lorient 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Anse de Lorient
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a junior ocean balcony suite, room 222, overlooking the ocean beneath, it was fabulous. Staff was very curteous and friendly. Made renting a car a breeze. Food is great. Overall very very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien M, General Manager at Christopher St Barth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your fantastic TripAdvisor review.
It was a pleasure to have you visit and I am delighted to read you had a fantastic stay at the Christopher hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you deeply appreciated your room, the sfaff and the food in our restaurants.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Christopher in the near future.
Warm regards,
Sébastien Maingourd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    46
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
199
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We just returned from an incredible week at the Christopher. This is one of the best managed properties we've ever visited. Every single member of the staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was perfect. The meals we had were some of the best we had on the island. The chef adds a Brazilian flair to a few dishes that were just exceptional.
As a HR Executive, I was so intrigued with the quality and consistency of the staff that I just had to inquire about their recruiting process. Sebastian (the manager of the property) explained that they are very selective in their recruiting process and the investment clearly separates this gem of a property from any other. The staff go out of their way to know each guest by name and have a way of remembering your preference for setaing, how you take your coffee, etc, The Dining Room manager - Matthew, Vincent at the bar and William the waiter all deserve special mention for making this a memorable week.
The pool and spa facilities are what you would expect from a five star property. The location, views and landscape are just perfect. The rooms are spacious and immaculate and the housekeeping staff very attentive. With only 40 rooms, you get the feel of a charming, serene and private waterfront resort.
We look forward to a return visit next Fall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien M, General Manager at Christopher St Barth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

The entire team of the Christopher is delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you immensely for your gracious comments about our hotel.

It is always a great pleasure to read through notes such as yours, for they serve as an inspiration to help us in our continued commitment to improve the standards you have experienced.
Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel staff, spa facilities and the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Sébastien Maingourd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Everything about this hotel was amazing. It was very nice and had a classic French feel. From the moment we landed, they waited with us for our bags and when they didn't come in, he took us to the hotel so that we could check in and went back to the airport to fetch our luggage. We arrived to a welcome champagne and nice note as it was our honeymoon. They gave us great recommendations on exploring the island and even have rental cars on location. The food at Taino was great and overlooks the water. The staff is so incredibly nice, especially Olivier, who made sure that our stay was just perfect! We will definitely be back!!!

Tip -

-They have a small cooler that you can take at the front desk to keep your drinks and lunch cold while exploring the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien M, General Manager at Christopher St Barth, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
The entire team of the Christopher is delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you immensely for your gracious comments about our hotel.
We constantly strive to achieve only the highest levels of quality service and hospitality and it is a great reward to read that from you.

Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel staff,
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sébastien Maingourd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

...... at the Christopher made every possible effort to make us enjoy our stay. The pool was wonderful, all the meals taken with a great view, a spacious room, great cocktails (try the Campary Spritz!!), and above all a constant and pampering attention of the staff, made our stay a great experience. The private porch with a big bed was something new, and a late afternoon siesta before getting out to partying or dinner, with a quiet breeze, great vegetation and calming waves breaking on the shore under the pool, was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: Since there is no beach at the hotel, try to get a room close to the pool, looks like the discretion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien M, General Manager at Christopher St Barth, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your fantastic TripAdvisor review. It was a pleasure to have you visit and I am delighted to read you had a fantastic stay at the Christopher hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you deeply appreciated the property, the meals and our staff.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to Christopher in the very near future.
Sébastien Maingourd,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from 8 nights in St. Barth as it slowly began to awaken for the winter ahead. Though not all island businesses were open for the season, certainly the Hotel Christopher was ready and able. Its serene setting is a beautiful garden of palm trees and flowering shrubs surrounding an extremely large infinity swimming pool nestled on the bay Anse de L'Orient, enhanced everywhere by the sound of waves breaking against the rocky shoreline. Two restaurants, one open but indoors and slightly more formal, and a second which lays on sand with a bar specializing in fresh fruit drinks, serve those lucky enough to stay and the few who are smart enough to come for the majestic setting and delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Our room was up some stairs hidden amongst the shrubs, fronted by a private porch overlooking pink sunsets setting behind the mountains across the bay. The furniture and funky bathroom was French chic modern, the soaps from L’Occitaine, a Pioneer music machine for my Ipod. Everything in our room was kept spotless with two services daily. The international staff from all over the world were kind and gracious throughout our stay, always aiming to accommodate with an “as you like” philosophy. My wife enjoyed the Sisley Spa almost daily, managed by a lovely Parisian lady over from France. After a morning spent lounging at the pool, we recommend renting a car from the hotel’s agency, then using Christopher’s beach chairs and burnt orange towels to visit the many wonderful parts of this volcanic Island, especially our favorite beaches such as Gouverneur and Colombier, both a short drive away . At night, have the hotel concierge team book any of the romantic restaurants dotting the shoreline or in Gustavia, like L’Isola, L’Esprit, or for a really special occasion, Le Gaiac. We happened to be in St Barths for Halloween, and by luck went to Le Ti’s party that night, a wild club and grill restaurant located less than half a mile away on the road just above the hotel. Not to be missed if you have a sense of humor and like to dance!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien M, General Manager at Christopher St Barth, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for this great review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much, also thank you for the great comments about the room, the spa, the restaurants and the friendliness of our staff. They always try to meet our guests' expectation and your comment is a real reward for all of them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon at the Christopher hotel.
Sébastien Maingourd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Christopher St Barth last April for 8 days. Our fabulous experience began when we were picked up by hotel staff at the airport, who helped us with our luggage and offered us a cold bottle of water. The hotel is about a 15 minute ride from the airport in the Pt Milou area and sits on the rocky shore (one downfall is there is no beach-very rocky). Our check in was quick and easy and everyone seemed to want to help. Oh! And we were offered a wonderful cocktail while checking in. Raphael is wonderful! We were shown to our room, which was a Jr Suite that had been renovated. The room wasn't huge by any means, but had a very comfy bed, couch and sitting area and terrace with beautiful ocean views. the bathroom was nicely decorated, but small. We had 1 sink and only a shower. There was plenty of storage space for our luggage, etc...Our room was near the Spa/gym, which made it convenient to get to our morning workout sessions. Working out in the small gym (only 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals and a few weights) was a pleasure, as big picture windows opened up to the gorgeous ocean views. We did have a massage in the small spa that was heavenly-very quiet and relaxing. The pool area is large (I think it's the biggest hotel pool on the island). We spent most afternoons lounging by the pool and being waited on by the attentive wait staff. Our last day was my husband's birthday and he received a wonderful cocktail in honor of his special day. We ate breakfast every morning in Taino, the hotel restaurant-so relaxing to drink a cup of coffee and gaze out over the beautiful ocean. There was a cocktail reception one of the nights where the hotel staff served champagne cocktails and guests mingled with each other and executive staff. It was very nice. The hotel has a care rental service, which we utilized-the car even had GPS with tourist spots and restaurants pre-loaded. I don't have any complaints about anything at Hotel Christopher-everything and everyone was great and made our stay a memorable one. We're headed back to St Barth in a couple of weeks, but opted to rent a villa instead of a hotel stay. I would stay at Hotel Christopher again in a heartbeat though! All around great experience!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are not renovated-ask for a renovated one. We loved our ocean view jr terrace suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien M, General Manager at Christopher St Barth, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your fantastic TripAdvisor review. It was a pleasure to have you visit and I am delighted to read you had a fantastic experience at the Christopher hotel. Thank you also for sharing your wonderful pictures!
We really look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Christopher in the very near future.
Sébastien Maingourd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been to spas in the US, in Hawaii, Thailand, France, Italy and Canada today I had thee most amazing facial and pool day at Christopher Spa Sisley We stayed here two years ago but this trip opted to stay in a different district St Jean. We came for a drive to see the Christopher hotel one day and the manager suggested we come for a spa day lunch and pool day - we did and were so pleased!!! Even though it rained a little today- my spa treatment was by far one of thee most amazing treatments I have ever had. The ambiance is the key - you have a private room which opens up right onto the ocean with an outdoor shower and the most wonderful French products - SISLEY my skin looked beautiful when I left - I'm coming back next week! We enjoyed lunch by the pool and spent the afternoon in paradise - GO HERE!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien M, General Manager at Christopher St Barth, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment regarding your day at the Christopher hotel! We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time among us!
Also thank you for the great comments about the quality of our Sisley Spa.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Christopher.
Sébastien Maingourd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Christopher St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher St Barth

Address: Pointe Milou, Anse de Lorient 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse de Lorient
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Anse de Lorient
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Christopher St Barth 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel christopher, a true lifestyle hotel nestled at the secluded pointe milou on st. Barths, has now been fully renovated with the addition of an exclusive Spa Sisley. A favorite resort destination for travelers in the northeast, hotel christopher combines designer decor, high-quality amenities, stellar service and superior attention to detail. The mix of quality and elegant yet casual services, position the hotel as one of the best values on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Christopher St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher St Barth Hotel
Hotel Le Christopher
Le Christopher St Barthélemy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher St Barth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.