We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normandie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Normandie Hotel to your Saves list
Normandie Hotel
Route de Saline, Anse de Lorient 97133, St Barthelemy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at the Normandie for one night only until our friends arrived and we went over to our shared vacation home rental. Although we arrived late in the day on Sunday and the staff was gone for the day, it was easy to find our welcome envelope and key and let ourselves in. The room was very clean and we loved the brand new bathroom. The next morning, the staff was very friendly and welcoming and served a delicious breakfast to us poolside. We would definitely stay there again and hope to do so!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
68
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Normandie Hotel was exactly what we were looking for in a St. Barths hotel. The price was great, the hotel is very clean, the location is convenient to about everything (including a little grocery store). The owner/operator knows the island well and gave us great recommendations on what to see, where to go, where to eat, which beaches to visit, and so much more. We went to St. Barths to see the island - bars, beaches, restaurants, people, night life, the sites - so most of our days were spent 'out and about' instead of at the hotel. So if you're looking for a resort/hotel to just sit and read then this probably isn't what you're looking for. But if you want a great place to stay that is affordable, nice, and clean with a very pleasant staff, look no further. For us, it's not a question of if we would go back, but when.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We just spent a week at the Normandie and it was PERFECT. As wonderful as the inn itself is, Eula and Melane made it even better. I felt like we were great friends by the time we left - so easy to talk to, friendly, funny, helpful, great recommendations on what to do and where to eat on the island. They really provided us with an insider's guide.
The inn is beautiful - tastefully decorated with a simple nautical contemporay tone. The pool area is wonderful - the perfect place to have breakfast every day and just be lazy. The location is right in the middle of the island making it very easy to get to any of the beaches within minutes. It is also a quick walk to L'Orient beach, Jo Jo's, and some grocery stores.
I would definitely stay here the next time we are in St. Barth's. There is absolutely no reason to stay anywhere else - tthe Normandie is an amazing value for this 'ritzy' island.
Thank you to Eula and Melane for making our stay so wonderful!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to St. Barth's and the Hotel Normandie. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about both the hotel and the island as a whole.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Eula the hotel director. She was very nice and welcoming after our day of travel from Chicago. She showed us to our rooms, which were small (average NYC hotel size) but very clean. The decor was nautical themed with a double bed, desk, and a good-sized closet. The bathroom has a Villeroy and Boch sink and new fixtures, including a shower which was very nice. It had a stone backsplash and a shower head from the ceiling, which was nice and got a lot of water pressure. The bathroom was filled with containers for storage (makeup, brushes, shaving products, etc.) as well as a great hair dryer (strong - which I need), shampoo and conditioner and soap. They also had adaptors for US Plugs, which was great to charge my iPhone and iPad. The free Wi-Fi was also very nice as it is a good, strong signal and easy to access the internet. 



In the morning, we were greeted by Melane (Pronounced May-Lon) who was wonderful and friendly as well. She greeted us each with coffee or tea (**She even went home and got us Decaf Tea from her house) and UNBELIEVABLE bread and croissants, jam, butter and Orange Juice. We sat poolside at the small, but lavish pool where we ate our breakfast under a sunny blue sky and 70 degree weather with absolutely no humidity.

 We then got ready and headed to Lorient Beach, which was 1 block away and very nice. We watched the local surfers for hours, while taking time between snorkeling and sunbathing. **Note: Lorient had some topless bathers.

Around lunchtime, we headed to the bakery which is another block (toward Gustavia) by foot to order our lunch, which was extremely inexpensive. We bought $5 sandwiches (Crab, Ham and Cheese, Cheese, Quiches) and bottled water and spent the afternoon relxing by the beach. We stayed until 4 or so before heading back to the Normandie Hotel and took showers to get ready for dinner.



We headed back to the pool around 5pm and Melane greeted us with complimentary wine. We sat in perfect weather, sipping our wine before heading to one of the fabulous restaurants of St. Barth's. We ate at several restaurants including: Eden Rock, Le Toiny, Bonito, Pipere Palace, Maya's, The Wall House, The Wok.

 All of the above restaurants were excellent, with the exception of Maya's. We went to Maya's and were disappointed with the food - but it definitely is a "seen and be seen" place and we heard that it's Steve Martin's favorite...so might be worth a visit to say you've been.

Each day we did a similar routine, but also hit the many wonderful beaches by car (you have to get a rental car on St. Barth's - taxis aren't plentiful) including: Colombier, Governeurs, Grande Cul de Sac, Saline, Lorient, Petite Cul de Sac. We LOVED all of the beaches, and LOVED the advice Eula gave about Colombier. Make sure you take the "easier" 25 minute hike from Flamand Beach and NOT the hike over the hill as it's terribly difficult.



Overall, the hotel was very nice and very Europeon feel. The service was exceptional and the advice we got every day from Eula and Melane was great. The complimentary wine and breakfast (and the cheap bakery lunch) made a place like St. Barth's more affordable - which was nice.

 I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife & I booked with the Normandie for just a week in February, everything was perfect. We were about 150 meters from a great beach with hardly anyone there. There was a little c-store even closer, along with a great French bakery. The rooms were adequate sized, but very nicely done. Eula (Mgr) and Melane were extremely friendly and helpful in restaurant selection & reservations. We met some very nice (and interesting) folks at the hotel. Our stay was as close to perfect as we could have imagined. It was a good value for a great vacation.
They have a very relaxing pool & deck area, and are just far enough from the "busy" areas to make you think that you are on a remote island.

Room Tip: Stay away from Gustavia Harbor area to avoid congestion, the rest of the island is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked with Normandie, for my 30th birthday and were lucky enough to find that although the hotel was fully booked, they were willing to rent us a bedroom in their private villa. We also asked them to arrange a rental car for us. When we arrived off the ferry we were greeted by a friendly guy who was holding our name on a sign. He took us in a mini van on a quick drive by tour of the island enroute to the hotel normandie, where we picked up our car did the paperwork and collected the keys and a welcome pack from Eula behind the desk. Although we did not have use of the kitchen and lounge area of the villa (no biggy) they gave us plates a kettle and other comforts in order for us to have a beautiful breakfast and apero by the infinity pool everyday. ( breakfast was included if we drove the 5 mins to normandie but we were happy to nip to the bakery every morning)
I felt the whole set up of how they run the business was fantastic, unlike many caribbean islands it was efficient organized and super friendly. We would love to return one day, and would recommend this hotel to anyone! What a great way to spend my 30th birthday!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We recently had a nice respite at the Normandie Hotel. And while the Hotel is modest by St. Barths standards, the service is tremendous. Eula and Melane went above and beyond to assure us and all the guests of a pleasant holiday. They served breakfast, greeted arriving guests and managed the office phones while also being concierge for securing lunch and dinner reservations!
Most special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: Route de Saline, Anse de Lorient 97133, St Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Barthelemy > Anse de Lorient
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Anse de Lorient
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the island's oldest hotels is reborn as a charming stylish inn. The Normandie is a two minute walk from St. Bart's beautiful Lorient Beach, one of the most popular surfing venues and a beach widely used by families of the island. Centrally located to dining, distinctive island shopping, and water sports, the Normandie offers conviviality and relaxation. The hotel's bedrooms and bar/salon area have been totally renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.