We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les jardins de Sophie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Les jardins de Sophie to your Saves list
Les jardins de Sophie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine de la Moineaudiere - Route du Valtin, 88400 Xonrupt-Longemer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We celebrated my Mum's birthday here and it was excellent. A fairytale setting in the woods with an warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff were very attentive and Rudy took special care to make sure we were at home. The menu was excellent and if you have never tried pigeon then you do not know what you are missing!
We also stayed here for our silver wedding and had a wonderful evening in a beautiful room.

Room Tip: We had the special room for our Anniversary Number 219. it was beautiful. Our family have used ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    82
    55
    17
    5
See reviews for
55
196
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

very nice and cozy: great breakfast shower too small , you better not be a tall person as you will bump your head at the ceiling and only be able to shower the lower body part; service was good; location is amazing for people who love the outdoors.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a big shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spend one night in the hotel.
The hotel is very nicely situated, particularly so when in snowy conditions (which was the case during our stay). The hotel is situated some 3 km from a main road - but is easily accessible.
It is a pretty big place but due to the way everything is set up you do not have the impression it is a very big place.
Reception area is nice and reception staff was very professional. An important part of the hotel is in wood, also the interior is mostly in wood which gives it a particular, cosy atmosphere.
The bar is lovely as is the restaurant. The room, also with an entirely wooden interior was perfectly in order and it was nice to have full fletched window shutters - good to keep the cold and light out at night. Bathroom was absolutely adequate and was very clean.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food quality and service were absolutely up to standard.
This is a very nice and particular place in the forrest. I hope they'll keep it like that for the years to come.
We'll for sure be back.
When in the area, do visit the Col de la Schlucht (1100 m) which is some 10 km away from the hotel. The drive is awesome and on the top of the mountain all facilities are there to ski, snowboard, etc.. and there multiple places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Room 4 - nicely situated - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

visted this hotel for one night in September 2011 on a driving holiday touring Europe. In a very peaceful location it was a well appointed hotel with excellent restaurant

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I decided to spend the week-end in Les Vosges with his parents. We chose this hotel in the heart of the forest after we read very good reviews on Tripadvisor. Our stay was better than expected: service was excellent, the hotel very nice and cosy, the rooms very charming ... It was perfect to spend a relaxing week-end in this lovely part of the Lorraine. We would definitely recommend it to couples and also families with children.

  • Liked — The place, the service, the overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — Had to pay extra for breakfast, and to use Hammam and Sauna
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and 3 children for a weekend in February. I was pleasantly surprised to see a seperate bed for each of the 3 children, I couldn't believe it! It is very unusual to have a room that fits 5 and this one was really lovely, a little compact but a lot of charm. There was a stairs (more like a ladder) to a mezzanine level to the children's bedroom. The hotel is very cosy with a wooden interior and lovely design touches all over. The restaurant is very pleasant and the bar area sofas were draped with fur like throws and cushions and had a lovely log fire. The food wasn't exceptional but we had the menu of the day. Perhaps if we had ordered a la carte it would have been better. The pool was a walk away from the hotel which means you have to get dressed to go there but that's only a problem in the winter. There are lovely things to do around the hotel, lots of walks, skiing, etc. This is really a nice hotel in the middle of the forest, worth a visit for a relaxing weekend.

  • Liked — Cosy
  • Disliked — A little bit small
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les jardins de Sophie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les jardins de Sophie

Address: Domaine de la Moineaudiere - Route du Valtin, 88400 Xonrupt-Longemer, France
Location: France > Lorraine > Vosges > Xonrupt-Longemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Xonrupt-Longemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les jardins de Sophie 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Les jardins de Sophie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De Sophie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les jardins de Sophie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.