We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more from a chambre d'hôte!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Lacoste

Maison Lacoste
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Lacoste
Save
You added Maison Lacoste to your Saves list
St Roch, 65710 Campan, France   |  
Ranked #3 of 5 Campan B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more from a chambre d'hôte!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This chambre d'hôte nestled at the bottom of the Pyrénées is delightful. Chris' hospitality really is second to none. The accommodation itself is clean, airy, bright and comfy. What is particularly special about this house is all the pieces of unique antique furniture - every room has been furnished uniquely. The garden & balcony offer lovely places to sit in the sun after a busy day and Chris even has a swinging chair & hammock she will lend you which are very comfy! I have to mention Chris' cooking skills - AMAZING! We stayed half board and Chris cooked us (& other guests most nights) a fantastic 3 course meal every night for the time we wanted. The food was healthy, tasty & used regional products - everything was scrumptious! The breakfasts were too! The house is equipped with books and information about the area and Chris is very knowledgable too. We stayed here for the Tour de France & it was a fantastic location for the Pyrénéen stages plus the ski resorts. Chris went out of her way to make sure our every need was catered for and we really are thankful for you having such a wonderful place to stay during our holiday. Thank you!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Chris Sheppard's newly-renovated Bigorrdian farmhouse is ideally located for the ski, or summer walking and cycling scene, for Campan, Payolle and Tourmalet, and very close to the town of Bagneres de Bigorre. (special rates have been negotiated for guests wanting to hire ski equipment at the nearby rental place). This itself would be recommendation enough but it's a cosy and peaceful oasis of comfort and good living; Chris' own long experience in the hotel and catering trade have made their mark on the quality of accommodation and catering on offer. Whilst close to the road, there is no intrusive traffic noise. Apart from all the services a big town like Bagneres can offer close at hand there are the villages of Campan and Baudean withing short walking distances. Ask Chris for a freshly caught trout from the Lesponne river, local brebis cheese or the local jambon sec and you will not want to leave !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Thanks to Chris for making us all feel so comfortable and looked after. We had a long weekend ski trip booked for La Mongie, a nice 20 minute drive up the hill. Chris has worked wonders with Lacoste and deserves every success. She was kind and considerate, to the extent that on the morning my hire car failed me she let me take her jeep up to the resort so we could make our ski lessons.

She's a great cook too and we thoroughly enjoyed the food she created for us. La Mongie is part of a great ski area and whilst the resort isn't pretty, the Campan Valley is, and Lacoste is perfectly positioned in the heart of it with lovely views.

Winter or summer I'm sure Chris will continue to provide a home from home for guests and if we can go back we will.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed twice this year at Chris's Maison Lacoste. After our 1st stay in March for the ski season we just had to go back for the Tour de France. The house is in such beautiful surroundings with breathtaking views. Who could ask for more than 15mins from the ski resort? A substantial breakfast was served in a really friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Chris also provides delicious evening meals and is an excellent host - as well as being a top class cook. The log fire provided a cosy atmosphere on the cold winter nights. In summer we were able to take advantage of the garden and sit in the evening sunshine enjoying aperatifs. The house is extremely comfortable and homely. We are looking forward to booking again for skiing in 2012.

Room Tip: Front of the house for the better views and access to balcony for morning coffee in the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Lacoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Lacoste

Address: St Roch, 65710 Campan, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Campan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Campan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Lacoste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.