We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda La Comacina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Locanda La Comacina to your Saves list
Locanda La Comacina
Via E. Fogli, 17 / 19, 44022 Comacchio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Comacchio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

After a VERY disappointing first dinner on arrival, it was like night and day - every other dinner in this family- run hotel was extraordinary. High quality ingredients, expertly prepared, great staff who were very attentive to our requests. Room was comfortable, although it was so nice to walk around the town that we really spent very little time In the room. Breakfasts were pretty pedestrian.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small - since the hotel has limited rooms, it might not be possible to switch to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    42
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
75
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor, mi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

part of the charm of this delightful hotel is the family that runs it......they couldn't have been more perfect.........the rooms are very clean and charming, air conditioning worked fine, the food was pretty good.......and i have no complaints! i would definitely recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: try to get a front room.......they are larger and have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at La Comacina as part of a bicycle tour of the region. The location of this lovely family run hotel is stunning. It is set on the edge of a canal with a floating restaurant boat adjacent to the hotel entrance. To dine by candle light on the boat and enjoy the fabulous food from La Comacina's kitchen was truly memorable. Massimo the owner , exemplified graciousnesss and assistence. He organised an evening boat trip on the Comacchio delta for us which gave the opportunity to see flocks of flamingos and rare birds. One of our party required medical assistance and Massimo drove him personally to the hospital and went out of his way to assist as much as possible. Just along from La Comacina is the Roman Ship Museum. Although the ship is currently not able to be viewed , the museum well displays 2 floors of artifacts and finds from the ship . All in all, Comacchio is a gem and we can't wait to go back and enjoy the hospitality of La Comacina.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I dont usually write rambling reviews, so this is the first time. My husband had a bad cycling accident in Ravenna, and so we were pleased finally to be in Comacchio. He still needed some treatment and Massimo took us to the hospital and later to a doctor's surgery in his car and spent ages trying to make sure my husband had the treatment he needed. Later in the day we had arranged to go with friends on a boat trip around the lagoon ( well worth doing by the way). Our friends cycled, but Massimo took us again in his car. I think that this represents astounding service, and I note that other people have said the same.
The whole hotel is spotless , as is the kitchen. Meals can be taken on the boat in the terrace by the canal and are very romantic. The food is delicious and locally sourced. Don't be afraid of the eels - they don't bite! The house white is a prosecco and goes down very nicely indeed. Even the bill for copious quantities of it was surprisingly pleasing.
Our bedroom was beautifully set out with antiques, and pictures , and a couple having a romantic break would be very comfortable there
Its all very nice, but the crucial thing is the care that the whole family take of their guests. You dont get this in the Sheraton!

Room Tip: we liked our junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just returned from a cycling trip to Emilia Romagna and this hotel was the best of four we stayed at during the trip. From the very warm welcome to the superb location in the town to the delicious food and exceptional service from all members of staff. I could go on and on with my praises. I do not eat wheat and the hotel were advised at the time of booking. I was touched that they had bought in special products for me. I have stayed in many hotels for business and leisure and it does not get any better than this hotel for looking after you as a guest on every level. My husband and I ordered a packed lunch for our departure and a long cycling ride. We had big smiles on our faces as we ate the lunch and reminisced of our stay at this wonderful place. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We arrived in the middle of a big International Birdwatching Fair so the roads were really crowded. We hadn't realized that we wouldn't be able to take the car directly to the hotel (my fault for lack of prior research) but we did get a place to park in the public lot near the main road.

We were received warmly by Massimo and his family -- this hard-working family goes out of its way to extend hospitality, good service, and great food in their trattoria. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting them and enjoyed our stay (only one night unfortunately) in their place.

As Comacchio is known for its eel fishing, we had to try that fish -- it was prepared beautifully in their kitchen, as was the seafood pasta dish we also ordered. We had to get up early the next morning for a bird-watching expedition, and the staff were gracious enough to provide us breakfast before the dining room officially opened. Couldn't have been nicer!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Situate by one of the canals in Comacchio this lovely little hotel is an excellent base for touring the mediaeval cities not too far away e.g. Ravenna, Ferrara, Padova and many more inc Venice though best to arrive there by train. Hotel itself is well managed with friendly and efficient staff, is clean and comfortable and has a really good restaurant with a competant wine list and all reasonably priced.
Comacchio is an atmospheric little old village at the water's edge and is worth a stroll round in its own right. There is a good number of restaurants in walking distance though it hardly seems necessary to venture far with such a good restaurant in house.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda La Comacina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Comacina

Address: Via E. Fogli, 17 / 19, 44022 Comacchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Comacchio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Comacchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel with its facade a little retro-reflected on the channel Maggiore, a short walk from the Clock Tower in the heart of the historic center of Comacchio, Locanda La Comacina is unmistakable. Fourteen air-conditioned rooms (doubles, singles and junior suites for families) with bathroom, LCD TV, Internet connection, overlooking the Channel Maggiore. In an environment of understated elegance: this is the real strength of Locanda La Comacina, which also offers the possibility of parking a short distance, or, for guests who wish to take advantage of a shuttle service (by boat, on a small traditional boat) from the parking lot of Trepponti of Comacchio. All interior spaces are strictly accessible, and the lift and the absence of architectural barriers. The gastronomy Comacchiese is really an integral part of the offer, the highlight of the Carli family that has been handed down from generation to generation the ancient ricette.Per guests who desire it, and who book early, managers can organize the weekend with dinner , breakfast and boat tours to the Valli di Comacchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda La Comacina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda La Comacina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.