We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Vasa Resort to your Saves list
Le Vasa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHTS AT LE VASA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Dural, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stunning and Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We left the Le Vasa at 4:00am this morning after staying for 3 nights. We purposely chose not to stay at the nearby upmarket hotel for one simple reason (price was not an issue), the Le Vasa has individual Fales on the waterfront. The balconies are literally 2 metres from the Lagoon edge and surrounded by beautiful and well maintained gardens. The Fales are well maintained and clean. The staff are all very friendly - even the security guys I met last night whose job also includes keeping the escapee pigs from the local village out of the gardens at night! Another guy that took us to the airport at 4:00am this morning even had a happy smile on his face. The bar and restaurant staff couldn't be more helpful. The food is very well prepared, rich and tasty, although the menu selection is a little limited. Some simpler dishes would cater for the simpler tastes like mine. However, I note from other reviewers that they asked for and received more appropriate dishes to their tastes. I should have just asked!! Then there's Susan whose role is a little unclear to me. Susan is a bit a of a character who is everywhere all the time organizing everything and everybody. If you want something done, talk to Susan. She is fabulous part of the resort atmosphere. All in all we had a wonderful stay in a spectacular place with very good accommodation, great staff and excellent food. Just remember it is a tropical location, not the Hilton in the centre of a major city like Sydney. Highly recommended for a tropical getaway as is Samoa in it's entirety .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for the Stunning review! We are pleased you had a relaxing time here and that you chose us over the nearby resort. Le Vasa has individual Fales on the waterfront which are private and romantic, surrounded by beautiful and well maintained gardens. Most bungalows literally on the Lagoon's edge some are just set back. Thank you for acknowledging our house keepers saying that the fales are well maintained and clean.
The staff will be pleased to hear you thought they are all very friendly - even the security guys you met had a happy smile on their face at 4:00am in the morning . Thank you for saying our food is very well prepared, rich and tasty.
If their is ever anything that a guest wants food, beverage or whatever all they have to do is ask if it's possible we are more than happy to do it!
Thank you for saying Susan is fabulous part of the resort atmosphere, she is the resort coordinator and looks after most all departments, she's an amazing woman we wouldn't know what we would do without her! We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay at our spectacular place with very good accommodation, great staff and excellent food. Thank you for pointing out we are not the Hilton in the centre of a major city like Sydney. Thank you for highly recommending Le Vasa Resort for a tropical getaway as is Samoa in it's entirety .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    62
    26
    13
    20
See reviews for
70
116
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked out the entire resort for our wedding and it was amazing. Staff were friendly, food was brilliant, rooms were awesome and our special day was perfect. We stayed 5 nights and are planning to return. Its over an hour to the city so if you are looking for a place to relax and block out the world, this is it. Food was good however if you want traditional Samoan food such as palusami and taro, sapasui you wont find it here unless they have a fia fia night. Which they normally do on Friday or Saturday nights. They were very accommodating and the facilities were very good. The pool, the use of the kayaks, the basketball hoop, the billiards room and the staff all made for an amazing holiday which catered to everyone in our party. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for giving us a fantastic review the staff will be so pleased that you took the time to acknowledge us in saying that they all made your holiday amazing and catered to everyone in your party. Thank you for saying the Staff were friendly, food was brilliant, and our rooms were awesome! We are so happy that your special day was perfect. Le Vasa is definitely a place to relax and block out the world.
Often we have traditional Samoan food such as palusami and taro on the specials board and we are happy to make meals outside the menu if guests would like to have more Samoan foods,
The best time to have Traditional Samoan food is on the fia fia night as we have a large variety and a fantastic Samoan Show. Thank you for saying we were very accommodating and the facilities were very good. We do have a variety of things for our guests to use the pool, kayaks, basketball and the billiards room. We are happy you Highly recommend staying here. We look forward to your return to Le Vasa Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our room was lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean. There are no TV's in your room ( which we loved) and no internet (which we hated )- the Lava Hotspot you pay for was hopeless and for $10 for an hour i managed to get 2 emails to come up as it kept loosing the connection and that was when i was sat in the day room which is where the strongest connection was...

The resort grounds and pool are lovely and well maintained and the staff are very willing to help... especially Susan who is a credit to the resort. However sometimes the staff's enthusiasm to help did not translate into actual help -

We found the food to be a bit pedestrian, not a great choice and expensive for what it was, approx 49 tala for spaghetti...however, without a car you have no choice....this is probably the resort's weak point.

We hired a car and that made a world of difference - not only could you explore - it only took us 2 days to drive around the whole island but also meant we could drive into Apia for dinner ( took just over an hour) where we ate, for example, at the Yacht Club for 45 tala for 2 of us including an alcoholic drink each....and we had choices of food type...

Overall a nice place and would stay again but definitely would hire a car..

Room Tip: Hire a car and explore the island and eat out too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you thought our rooms were lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean. We are happy that you enjoyed the pool and resort grounds. Susan does a great job at helping the guests and thank you for acknowledging her efforts. Sometimes guests do not remember that English is a second language here in Samoa and occasionally the translation is not always accurate, you can always ask one of the manager if there is ever any issue and we are glad to help. Thank you for saying we have helpful staff. We do have Wifi and Lava Spot is widely used throughout the country remember Samoa is a developing country and we as a country have just recently upgraded to wireless broadband, the price is more expensive for internet that most countries and that is out of our control we offer what is available. I believe the price point for the pasta is actually $39 SAT and you received a fresh garden salad and garlic bread along with the meal. The price for this meal is around $15USD which is very well priced. We do not serve items out of a tin can; nearly everything we use has fresh ingredients, good quality food costs a little more we care about what our guests eat. We have a variety of food and price points on the menu and on the specials board to suit all budgets. We are not a café and don't compete with the many restaurants to choose from in the city, often they discount their meals and quality because there is so much competition. Our location is a personal preference most guests are happy that we are close to airport and wharf because they have easy access, not all resorts can be in town, Thank you for saying we have a nice place and that you would stay again. Fa’afetai Lava from Le Vasa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Le Vasa and really enjoyed our stay. The grounds are beautiful and the Oceanfront Fale was just lovely. To sit on the deck and enjoy the view over the water was very special. The staff were very courteous and obliging, there is a bit of a language barrier but they were all genuinely interested in making our stay enjoyable. The chef made some beautiful dishes and when we ordered meals that weren't on the menu he made these for us. The resort is quite a way out of Apia but we were there to enjoy a rest and lounging by the beautiful pool. We hired the resort boat for fishing for an afternoon which turned out to be a bit of a waste of money. Samoa is a simple but beautiful place, don't go to Le Vasa expecting a 5 star resort as it just doesn't fit with Samoa. The facilities we were after were there, the people were lovely and after 5 nights we were refreshed and ready to return to real life again. Any longer than 5 nights would've been too long. Thank you to all the staff. Especially for making a real effort on our sons 18th birthday.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you saying that you really enjoyed your stay, we are really pleased we made your holiday. We think the oceanfront fales are really amazing to be able to sit right above the water and we are pleased you thought they were so special. thank you for saying that the staff were very obliging and courteous and thank you for your patience as Samoan is their second language. Andre' is a great chef and we are so pleased that he was able to make whatever you wanted to eat:) We are really happy you pointed out Samoa is not 5 star as it is a simple and beautiful place with all the amenities that make your stay more comfortable. Fishing well that's why they call it fishing not its; not guaranteed maybe you'll have to try again for the big one :) We love birthday celebrations and happy you all enjoyed the celebration. We hope to see you back in Samoa and Le Vasa resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Le Vasa is on the far west side of Upolu—past Faleolo airport and past Aggie Gray’s. It is a solid hour drive to Apia but only about 15 minutes from Faleolo Airport. Le Vasa consists of all ‘fales’ or Samoan type cabins. Ours was just at the water edge with terrific views and a very nice porch. The central buildings house the office and restaurant-bar. The restaurant offers gourmet meals, all freshly prepared, and a wide range of items. The bar has everything. The staff are super-friendly and very knowledgeable about Samoa. There are several ladies who run the place, and they are very efficient, friendly, and accommodating of anything. There is a big pool and resort type facilities (kayaks and many other things). They have a fia fia night once a week – very worthwhile to witness the Samoan fire dancing. The ladies who run the bar and restaurant are also exceptional – especially Ciara who knows the island well. The entire place is in a Samoan garden that is magnificently maintained. If you are looking for a real feel of Samoa, and luxury, and good food and friendly people, Le Vasa is a logical choice. You should consider a rental car because the island is large and taxi rides would probably be more expensive and much less convenient than rental cars. If there is any disadvantage of Le Vasa, it is the distance from Apia. But – Apia has become a hectic city and staying at an authentic Samoan place far from the city is a good idea.

Room Tip: You should book a fale at the water's edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for saying Le Vasa Resort had everything you wanted. We take pride in offering gourmet meals and wonderful drinks. Our staff love to make the place look gorgeous, we are happy you appreciate their effort and commented. We really want all guests to experience what you have and we are so please that you think Le Vasa Resort is a logical choice. Fia fia night is awesome my favorite is the fire dancer. We look forward to your return one day, Lots of alofa from Samoa and Le Vasa:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, null, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great stay at Le Vasa resort. Teh place was friendly, lean and the unit we had was perfect. The swimming pool was good adn access to kayaks. The beach was not eally swimable as stated in other reviews but for relzxing place to stay very good

Room Tip: Our unit was perfect for a couple and two friends stayign together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make comments about Le Vasa Resort, we are pleased you thought your room was clean, the place was friendly and the Villa you stayed in was perfect. We hope to see you again one day in Samoa and at Le Vasa Resort:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! It's like a 1980's caravan park they have made into a so called 'resort'.
The son of the owner snots in the pool.
The air-con doesn't work properly (even when we asked it to be fixed).
You can't/don't swim in the water here - other say beautiful water... what the? It was muddy and cloudy.
There were termites in our room which we complained about and they fix it by just 'sweeping it up' everyday.
Breakfast is basic and is never ready on time. We waited half an hour one day coz they 'slept in'.
The mother of the owner is a booze and accosts you at the bar.
Everything is difficult for them. Try get them to organise a car? Too much stuffing about. We ended up going into Apia by bus and got one ourselves, easily enough.

Needless to say, we left early as it was just not a nice place. We were so disappointed and let down. You're better off paying more (and get better value for money!) at the nicer resorts on the south coast or go to Savaii and stay at La Legoto!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We do remember you and your partner, you were suppose to stay at Samoan Surf Resort and couldn't because it was destroyed by Cyclone Evan and you had no where to stay, you rang us the night before you were leaving Savaii and we gave you an awesome deal. You came to us right after a horrible time for the country while everyone was trying to make to best out of a terrible situation. Staff were cleaning the resort property around the clock as well as their own villages after the devastation. Many OTHER GUESTS who stayed here helped us at the resort as well as around the country. They understood the circumstances we were all under. Most of the country had no running water or electricity until January 2013. Fortunately we have a generator and water tanks that we paid to fill daily to accommodate our guests. Most business were not operating and most of the telecommunications in the country was down, we made the best effort to accommodate your every request. People were having a very difficult time in this country and unfortunately it was not in our capacity to fulfill what you wanted some things are just beyond your control. Termites do exist in this country and we could not rightly spray the fale while you were staying in it, we did offer to switch rooms, although you declined, so we swept any debris. We replaced 4 air conditioning units after the cyclone. We gave you a lovely room on the oceanfront and you paid half the price people would normally pay. Savaii is lovely and lucky they did not get hit like Upolu island did. I am just surprised that you would take the time 8 months later to write a negative review when you wanted to leave two nights earlier I asked you why you wanted to leave and you did not say anything negative then you mentioned you would email me, because I wanted to know so we could better ourselves if there had been an issues, you never emailed me anything. Graciously we returned your money for the rooms nights that you didn't stay and wished you well. There are times when we have to put aside our expectations, be human and understand what is happening around us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Address: Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features thirteen private oceanfront fales and villas, 3 garden rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Vasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vasa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.